We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a city break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giubileo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Giubileo
Ranked #1,519 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ideal for a city break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We booked the Giubileo Hotel in Rome via the internet based on its location / proximity to the major historical sites. Key points for us were:

Friendly helpful staff always there on hand (also had a good laugh / banter with a couple of them, a great sense of humour)
Clean functional room. It faced on to the main street but with the shutters / windows / blinds closed the noise was never an issue (there was a full sized fridge in the room that made more noise than the traffic and I struggled to hear that)
It was only four blocks away from the Termini (railway station) so getting their by the train was easy (there is also a bus from the airport that is cheaper but takes more time and is less frequent)
Location was good and even 'HM the Wife' commented on how safe she felt even at night
Be prepared for some longish walks, about 2.5km to the Vatican but Rome is a BIG place and we enjoyed every step
Where is lost out was breakfast. It seemed to get less each day and sometime the food was okay but a little past its best. That said I consider it was still good value, a coffee would cost you €3 so for that reason, three coffees and two orange juices it was worth it.

I would recommend it and I would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RV4Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    61
    59
    23
    9
See reviews for
34
72
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We did not book but spotted it when driving past. Stayed for two nights. Location perfect - 10 min walk to collosseum, jump on jump off bus stop 2 mins away. Hotel very clean, breakfast room a bit strange though, felt like it was built from rough wood and I was sitting in a shed. Breakfast food minimal. Can't knock it though for price, cleanliness and location. Even had free parking outside as redundant bus stop dosn't count for charging apparently. Reception staff extremely helpful and restaurant at corner of street sublime.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannifercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

i never bother doing any thing about a bad experence but this time i have to say be ware! the bedrooms are painted white but are black with dirt,my bed collapsed on first night the steel legs were broken,sheets were clean there were no lamps working,two bulbs were blown in the ceiling light so we had one working bulb!the bathroom where to start the shower head was broken water went everywhere there was damp on the walls the tiles were slimey and mouldy,the bidet leaked and there was a plastic cup catching the water!!!.breakfast!!!sour milk ,rolls and other foods stuff left out but covered on side table for the three days we were there it looked to us like it was the same food reused each day, while reception were quite friendly and helpful we found once bill was paid we didnt get a thank you and good bye the man at reception turned his back on us ,my mother is 74 and has travelled extensively this was as she said in her on words an experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Went to this hotel last week, stayed for four nights bed and breakfast.

We initially arrived earlier than the 14.00 check in time which was our fault but we was allowed to use a washroom to change etc and the staff stored our bags until later that day. The rooms themselves were spotlessly clean, beds changed everyday and the hotel is well maintained.

Yes, the breakfast is a bit simple and is a choice of either cornflakes or croissants but this is Europe!.

The staff were always very friendly and always happy to help if needed.

The location for this hotel is EXCELLENT. It is located a 2 minute walk from Termini station that you can take an airport transfer to for four euros. It is also right besides a metro station that will take you to all the sights of Rome yet at the same time it's in an area that's not overcrowded.

We were wrongly advised that the area this hotel is in was not for tourists and could be quite run down but it certainly wasn't. There was lots of tourists about and lots of nice bars and restaurants nearby.

Highly recommended! and if you do stay here go in the Santa Maria Maggiore church in the square nearby. Its free entry and one of the most amazing buildings in Rome that most people don't go to!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemancunian1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

I would recommend this accomodation mainly for the location. If like me you are not really fussy about minor details then this hotel is of good value. Rooms are of suitable size - tv & shower were fine. Decor is nothing spectacular but who cares - how much time do you really spend in the hotel?! Breakfast was pretty drab - cornflakes, bread rolls croissants and fruit juice - I honestly expected better but as I was only there for 2 nights it was bearable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was VERY quiet...barely saw any other guests! My only gripe was the lack of lift!!! As we were on the 5th floor, the last thing you want to do after a day of sightseeing is climb a pile of stairs! However, for the price your paying in that location, these things felt insignificant. Very central location, good transport links and easy walking distance to many sights. For a short 2 - 4 day trip, the hotel is definetely worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsmilez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

Read the reviews on this hotel before we travelled and there were only a couple of very minor negative comments.Having stayed there I have to wonder what these critics think they are entitled to.
The staff were absolutely brilliant, nothing too much trouble and very friendly. The rooms were not spacious but more than adequate. The breakfast was o.k. and the location fantastic- we could walk everywhere and if further travel were needed the rail station was close by.
If anyone had told me I would find a hotel of this quality in a central location for the price I paid in an expensive city like Rome I wouldn't have believed it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tetley98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

If you leave Rome's central train station at the south exit, you can already see the hotel sign at the far end of Via Carlo Cattaneo (call it 250 m). Via Carlo Alberto where the hotel is located is a relatively quiet street- this is good as sound insulation towards the street is virtually nonexistent. Try to get a room to the back.
My room (112) was a very small single that was only 160 cms wide. As the bed and the furniture were small too, it did not feel too claustrophobic though. There was a wall closet big & deep enough to hold also large suitcases - there were about 15 clotheshangers in that closet so you can stow away your stuff and keep what little room there is neat and tidy. A safe is also in the closet.

There was a little fridge (worked) and a tiny TV (did not work but I didn't care to mention it so let's assume staff would have changed it if I had bothered to complain).
The room had aircon which also had a heating function - this was a really good thing with outside temperatures below 10°C but if it gets any colder you'll have to keep it running round the clock to get warm.

The bathroom was also small (80 cm wide) but everything worked well. The shower had really warm water and I (195 cm) could stand upright. Unfortunately, standing upright is also what I had to do with the toilet as there wasn't enough legroom for me to sit...

Breakfast was excellent by Italian standards and still OK by my standards: There were croissants & regular bread rolls, jam (strawberry & peach), honey, processed cheese, cornflakes. Drinks were water (cold & hot for tea), orange juice, coffee, milk (hot & cold).
Staff was nice & fluent in english; I could check in early, no problems at all.
Something good that unfortunately isn't the norm elsewhere is that they don't just hand the key to anyone who throws a room number at them but ask your name before handing out the room key.

All in all, I was OK with the room size and very happy with the central location (250m to Rome Termini station, 100m to subway B, 100m to Santa Maria Maggiore, roughly 1 km to the Colosseum). Also happy that it was possible to block out all light from outside. Not happy at all with sound insulation that impeded sleeping. I had to use earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#592 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Rome Love
Hotel Rome Love
#676 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel RomAntica
Hotel RomAntica
#528 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
California Hotel
California Hotel
#324 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#714 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#185 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giubileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giubileo

Property: Hotel Giubileo
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 13/15, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,519 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Giubileo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giubileo is located in an important historical building of XVI century, in the heart of Eternal City and it is the best solution for Your trip in Rome. The position is perfect: on Esquilino hill, heart of ancient Rome, is on the way to Santa Maria Maggiore. In this area Orazio and Virgilio lived. This archaeological site has given to us the ruins of Nerone's Domus Aurea, Arch of Tito, Minerva Medica's Temple.The Hotel is few steps far from Colosseum and Fori Imperiali and in few minutes You can reach Piazza di Spagna and Via Sistina (not so far from the old Appia Way) : in this Hotel You are in the middle of Christianity triangle (Santa Maria Maggiore, San Giovanni in Laterano and Santa Croce in Gerusalemme) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Giubileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giubileo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing