We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel w/ 5-star Staff.”
Review of Hotel delle Muse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel delle Muse
Ranked #173 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2008

I booked a 3-night Italy trip through European Destinations and picked this hotel by reading other reviews on Trip Advisor. Out of the 2 other hotels we stayed at in Italy (Mediterraneo in Florence and Corte Contarina in Venice) this was probably the best one of the three. While this was a great boutique hotel, I still gave it an average rating only because the bed was actually the worst of the 3 hotels and the shower was really quite small. I read other reviews, but still wasn't prepared. BUT, if you don't think it can get any smaller, it DOES! Our shower at the hotel in Venice was even smaller. And another reason why I gave it an average rating (even though this was my favorite of the 3 we stayed at in Orlando) - I've traveled enough and been to enough "average" hotels in the U.S...and this just didn't compare. So I think the scale that we use to measure is different here in America. So an average rating in Europe is actually VERY GOOD!!!

LIKES: This hotel was a little 'out of the way' from the center of Rome. But, I actually liked it. You got to see the outskirts of the city. Major *PLUSES* about this hotel: (1) great staff - extremely helpful when asking for advice on how to get to the different sites in Rome. (2) three computers in the lobby for your use - for free! [The hotel in Florence charged 5 Euro for a half hour! - which we did not pay.] (3) GREAT restaurant in the hotel. It is located outdoors, but is so quaint and romantic. I never got a picture of it, but it was just lovely.

Good to Know: The key that is given to you is also the key to the electricity in your room. The guy at check-in failed to mention that you take your key ring (which is just a plastic plate with your room # on it) is supposed to be slipped in this little slot just as you enter your room. This will give you lights, run the air conditioning, and turn on the TV.

Dislikes: (1) the bed (in 486 at least) was extremtely hard and uncomfortable. However, after walking around Rome, my husband and I were SO exhausted it really didn't matter. (2) small shower - but, I've read from other reviews that it's not UN-common in Europe. And again, after long and exhausting sightseeing days - the fact that HAVING a shower, we were very happy about.

HOW TO GET THERE: From the FCO airport, take the express train to the Roma Termini station. Once you arrive at the station, walk out the station and you will see a bus station ahead of you. Find the ticket office and buy a ticket. You'll want to take the 360 bus towards Delle Muse. Just as the hotel's website says, it's the last stop. Where do you find the 360 bus you ask, amongst ALL the other buses...as you came out of the station, it will be on your left, almost alongside the road. There are 2 360 buses now - one going one way on the route and the other one going towards Delle Muse. So look for the #360 bus sign that has the arrow pointing down towards MUSE and not ZAMA. Pictures are included.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Laynie724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 907 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2008

We recently stayed at Hotel delle Muse in the Parioli district of Rome. It was fantastic! The hotel itself was beautiful, very large and comfortable rooms, great restaurant and food, and most importantly a wonderful staff!
The employees were extremely friendly and helpful in everyway! From our first welcome, to information about the city, and even arranging tours for us-they were great!
Having the hotel in a suburban district is also nice to get away from the constant noise and traffic of the city. It was only about 10 euro for a taxi to the Spanish Steps, which is within walking distance from everything.
So far this was my favorite hotel in Italy! Highly recommeded!

1  Thank msjen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

My husband and I picked the hotel after reading the reviews on this site and found it was every bit as lovely as people described it.

Rome is expensive and at 110-140 Eur, these rooms are well worth it. For this amount, our other options were upscale hostels or not so great centre of town hotels. Now Rome itself seemed quite small to us having visited other large cities around the world. So though Delle Muse is not centre of town, it costs just 10 Eur to get you to the heart of the action(the Colosseo, Trevi, Spanish Steps etc.) and we found the time saved by taking the cab was worth it.

We got the most wonderful room that had its own little balcony with a few chairs and a table overlooking a tree and some greenery downstairs...we could sit out and have an evening drink or a morning coffee - a luxury by any standards! I think it was Room 138. Also rooms are air conditioned, something not all 3-4 star places offer in Italy in May! Most turn on their air conditioning only in July and August though it was already 33 deg C in May!

Breakfast was fair with bacon, scrambled eggs, cold meats, cheeses and the usual mix of cakes and cornettos(crossaints), tea, coffee and juices tht one sees in most Italian hotels.

Service and the staff were very friendly, helping us with directions, recommendations and calling us a taxi. We tried dinner at the hotel, the spumante they offered us complimentary was lovely and service was pleasant. The food is not something i would reccomend too highly, a litle bland and loaded with olive oil. I'd suggest bringing in takeaway and enjoying dinner on the darling balcony outside your room(if you manage to get one with a balcony)...more romantic too!

They have a lift which may be handy for older folks though it is about the size of my refrigerator at home :) For 20 somethings like us, the stairs are easy enough.

I would recommend this charming little place to my friends in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmchairGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I would not recommend the Delle Muse hotel in Rome. It wasn't horrible but considering it's not near a metro station it should have been a nicer hotel with better services and accommodations. It was generally dirty and the operators were not particularly helpful. They just didn't seem to care too much. The carpet was filthy and the draperies in the rooms hadn't been vaccumed in years. You had to catch a local bus (the bus stop was close) to get to a metro and some times we waited up to 50 minutes for the "20 minute" bus. Their trains don't run on time either. Much to much time was wasted screwing around with the bus. I would recommend that people find the best hotel deal they can within walking distance to a metro station. The metros are not as clean or user friendly as our stay in Athens but they go most places a tourist will want to see and it will save you valuable time each day. From any metro station you could virtually then walk to any location you would want. The Delle Muse is relatively quiet except the hotel had a group of soccer players staying there and Saturday night in the middle of the night they came in drunk and woke up the whole floor in the middle of the night. At breakfast, which was marginal...except their coffee which was excellent, the soccer players would swarm like locusts around the food tables. One night they even shaved their heads at the dinner table in the courtyard terrace cafe while others were dining and nobody in the hotel said anything to them....Yuck. One night in the middle of the night the door strip molding fell off our door and we didn't know what the ruckus was until the next morning when we saw it laying on the tile....nails up! They did have a driver who took us to the airport which was convinient when we departed. The hotel said the rate was 47 E and when he dropped us off he insisted on 60 E. He didn't speak any English so we were in the position of checking in to the international airport with all our luggage or arguing in different languages about 13 E at the airport drop off. I just paid him but that was consistent with our experiencess at the Delle Muse. There are no laundry's close by either so any personal laundry was taken care of in the bathroom sink. It appears that the hotel is used more by business people rather than tourists who are trying to figure out how to maneuver around a complicated city. Regardless of where you stay in Rome get the "Roma" pass for unlimited bus/metro transporation for 3 days and free access to 2 venues and discounts on others. It also eliminates some lines. We were there the 3rd week in June and it's hot and humid. I would never go there in July or August when the tourist swell to ridiculous numbers and the heat is oppressive. BUT, Rome was fabulous and an experience not to be missed! If you have time a day trip to Tivoli is wonderful especially if you're a history buff. The gardens and the estate at Villa d'Este is fabulous and Hadrians Villa is fun to explore if you're at all interested in ancient Roman history....why else go to Rome?
MT

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank akasapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

We are a family with 2 boys and stayed 4 nights in a family room in Delle Muse. We were disappointed about this hotel, esp. after having read many positive comments.
The room was small and very simple, but clean.
The interieur of the hotel was very simple overall and needs refurbishment. Also the breakfast was not nice - no fresh bread, awful coffee, fruit out of can. The pizza's and pasta's were okay.
And the personnel is friendly.
Overall I would not recommend this hotel - it is not good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travellerBrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Had three nights there (for 110 E per double incl breakfast / internet-booking) and experienced exactly what "vansanto" wrote about his stay in March 08: hotel in a quiet area, with helpful service, small but nice and functional rooms, wi-fi, rich buffet-breakfast, etc. The. 20-Min bus ride from Termini station to the hotel (Nr. 360 to final stop "Musee") wasn't a problem to us. Also got to St. Peters within 35 min by changing to tram 19 at Piazza Ungheria. Our 2nd floor room even had a terrace with table and two chairs shaded by big trees. Definitely enjoyed the stay and would return to this hotel at our next Rome-visit

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank germantouristcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We have just returned from our third visit to Rome, and as on previous visits we stayed at the Hotel Delle Muse, in the Parioli neighborhood in the northern part of the city. This time, we took our 14-year-old nephew Joshua and his father, Roger. Our plan was to share the beauty, excitement and history that is Rome with Joshua.

The Hotel Delle Muse is a family owned and operated business, headed by Giorgio Lazar. It is located on a quiet residential street that reminds me of New York's upper east side, but without the traffic. The standard rooms are small, as in most true European hotels, but we booked two larger rooms. Our room also featured a large whirlpool bath -- a big hit with my wife.

Breakfast is served from 7:00 to 10:00 AM daily. The scrambled eggs and bacon were good, but the cheeses, meats and pastries were exceptional. This wonderful breakfast is included in the price of the room. The restaurant also serves lunch and dinner. It was good -- after many long hours of travel -- to check in and then meet in the restaurant for a fine Italian dinner. The food is very good and priced well. We also made use of room service, which is prompt and courteous.

We also tried two restaurants recommended by Giorgio. We had two meals at Osteria Della Frezza -- both were excellent. Our last night in Rome, we all had the seven-course sampler menu at Antico Arco Ristorante. What a marvelous meal! Both places were thoughtful recommendations, traditional Roman restaurants, not tourist-oriented.

We also had lunch at Caffe Parnaso, two blocks up the hill from the hotel. Good food and a great view! If you attend an event at Parco della Musica, I would recommend an after-theater dinner at Ristorante Red, just a few steps from the concert halls. Both the service and the food are excellent.

Back to the hotel: I have to add that the staff at the front desk were very helpful. The desk is staffed 24 hours, and English is spoken as well as many other languages. There also are Internet stations available in the lobby. The hotel arranged for a car to and from the airport, which I would recommend.

The dollar being so weak against the Euro these days, our trip was more expensive than we had planned. The hotel helped, though, with several five percent discounts: for reserving via the Internet, for a seven-night stay, for being a returning guest (a "fidelity" discount), and -- if we had had enough Euros at the end of the stay -- for paying cash.

This was our third stay at the Hotel Delle Muse. We are already thinking about a fourth visit, and recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a wonderful Roman holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vansanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#229 of 1,269 in Rome
272 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#213 of 1,269 in Rome
655 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#205 of 1,269 in Rome
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#243 of 1,269 in Rome
598 reviews
Trieste
Hotel Panama Garden
Hotel Panama Garden
#151 of 1,269 in Rome
506 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#156 of 1,269 in Rome
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel delle Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel delle Muse

Address: Via Tommaso Salvini 18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#83 Family Hotel in Rome
#208 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $67 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel delle Muse 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three star Hotel delle Muse is located in a very quite and green residential area called Parioli which is traditionally considered the most elegant part of Rome.All our 57 rooms have: en suite WC with shower, hairdryer, Color LCD 21’satellite TV, direct dial telephone, air conditioning/heater, Internet ADSL Cable Connection (free of charge)Internet Wi.FI Connection (free of charge) ,Electronic Safe.On the premises are elevator, safe, bar and restaurant where genuine and varied food is served either in the dining rooms or in the large garden during the summer months.Free Luggage Room. L’Hotel Delle Muse*** è situato nel quartiere Parioli , una zona verde e tranquilla che è per tradizione la più elegante di Roma.Tutte le nostre camere offrono: Bagno in camera con doccia , Asciugacapelli , Telefono diretto, Televisore LCD 21’’ con canali satellitari e Sky, Connessione Internet ADSL via cavo gratuita , Connessione Internet Wi.Fi gratuita , Aria Condizionata/Riscaldamento , Cassaforte Elettronica.Inoltre l’Hotel è provvisto di ascensore , cassette di sicurezza, servizio Bar e di Ristorante nel quale è possibile gustare svariati piatti genuini sia nei saloni interni che nell’ampio giardino durante i mesi estivi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel delle Muse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delle Muse Hotel
Delle Muse Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing