We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Reasonably-Priced Hotel”
Review of Hotel delle Muse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel delle Muse
Ranked #173 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We were very pleased with the Hotel Delle Muse. It is a small, comfortable, spotlessly clean and well-run hotel with very reasonable prices. It is located in an attractive and quiet residential neighborhood away from the noise and traffic of central Rome. Our room was simple and of modest size, but the bathroom was surprisingly spacious. There is a single, very small elevator that has enough room for only one person and suitcase at a time.
The 360 bus between the hotel and the Termini station was very convenient. While the bus runs frequently and the ride to Termini station generally was a quick 20 minutes, be aware that there are often long delays in the buses and the ride back to the hotel from the station in the afternoon due to heavy Rome traffic.
The buffet breakfast was quite good, with plenty of variety from which to choose and the hotel restaurant serves a very nice fixed-price meal for 18 euros. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. The hotel arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport for a ride that cost 50 euros, almost the same as the cost of a taxi. After a long plane flight, it was great to have a driver meet you and take you to the hotel without having to worry about finding a taxi or other means of transportation.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again on our next visit to Rome.

Room Tip: ask for a terrace room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTN70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 914 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

We really liked Delle Muse and would stay again. We did take a taxi from Fuimicino but it isn't necessary. Take the the 360 bus towards Le Muse there are two stops within a short walk from the hotel. Valentina checked us in an she was sooo friendly and helpful. After a short nap and much needed shower, we decided to have a quick lunch at the hotel. It was lovely to sit in the quiet garden and eat food like my Italian grandmother would make. Italian comfort food. Rome is a big place with alot of wonderful restaurants so we only ate there once. The room was clean and large; we had a small single bed in addtion to the queen size bed. It would great for a small family. The bathroom small and shower was really small...but it is a city so I don't expect big facilities. Breakfast was tasty and lovely. Remember, no one does breakfast like Americans so don't expect it. But do have some cafe latte and a roll with cheese and meat. The free internet at the three computers in lobby are very convenient. The front desk staff was helpful and mostly friendly. We got horribly lost coming from the Aqua Acetosa train station and wandered the neighborhood in the dark for an hour. This illustrates two things; 1. stick with the bus and 2. it is a safe neighborhood. We walked to Piazza Ungheria for dinner. Try the very Italian and delish neighborhood cafe that is right there. They have sidewalk seating and interior seating. Ciao!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Hotel Delle Muse is located on the outskirts of central Rome, away from the main sights in a quiet neighbourhood. The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful - they all speak excellent English and are very willing to give advice on how to get about Rome.

The hotel is serviced by the 360 bus - there are two stops about 1 min away, and the hotel is slap bang in the middle of the two. We never had to wait more than a few minutes to catch the bus from there - but for some reason we kept getting caught at bad times on the way back from Termini and had to wait upwards of 40 minutes. Tickets cannot be purchased on the bus and should be bought from a nearby newsstand, or at any Metro station - you can buy "single" tickets which allow you take one Metro trip and to get the bus/tram too, within a 75 minute period (and these are only one Euro each) or you can get 3 day or 7 day passes with unlimited travel on bus, tram or Metro. If you are sight-seeing I recommend getting a pass as you never know where you will get on the bus and where nearby you can get tickets.

Back to the Hotel - the restaurant downstairs is very cute and quaint, with great food and very affordable. We ate there every night bar one while we were in town. They have a set menu each night which is a pasta course, a (small) meat course and dessert, all for 18 Euros - great value. Breakfast is a bit basic - continental with some hot food, not great quality but not terrible either and the coffee was really delicious.

The hotel is very close to Villa Borghese which is a really stunning, huge park which itself comprises many sights. The weather was so great while we were there that actually we walked through the park into the main part of Rome several times - if you go all the way through Villa Borghese, the Spanish Steps are on the other side and everything else is very walkable if you have a modicum of stamina.

All in all, our trip to Rome was fabulous and I wouldn't think twice about booking Hotel Delle Muse if we ever go again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

When we got off the bus we were very shocked to see the main street looking like a riot had happened the night before. Red tape was connecting every lamp post and whole Walls were covered in graffiti depicting racist writing and swastikas.
Entering the hotel didn't perk our spirits up much either. There we were greeted by a cold, non caring staff member. He didn't so much as smile and after reading all the wonderful reviews of amazingly friendly staff we were disappointed. The lift is hilariously tiny and it was good we didn't have large luggage with us. Our room was alright. It was clean and to average standards however I hated the shower. It's power is very weak and you can't remove it off the wall so your hair gets partially wet each time you shower.
The restaurant staff are friendly, better than reception. But one night after dinner we waited nearly 30 mins for our bill. This was because the waiter was chatting to other customers and ignored 3 tables who were all waiting for their bills too. In the end we had to ask if we could charge the meal to our room cause we got so tired waiting for him to finish his conversation.
The bus stop is very close to the hotel and buses are regular most of the time. However one day we did wait around 45mins. And when the bus did finally arrive the driver stood outside smoking for about 10mins while passengers waited in a hot sweaty environment.
The little town the hotel was located in left much to be Desired. There were not enough restaurants, shops or cafes to warrant staying there. And nearly every wall is riddled with swastikas. This made it a very intimidating place to walk around when the sun set so we were forced to stay in the hotel every evening.
At the moment there is some construction work being done. So the main street is very noisy and dirty.
Overall I wouldn't recommend staying at the hotel delle muse. It's too far away from the city attractions and the town hasnt got much to offer for entertainment.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luxstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The hotel is outside the center of Rome so it will take you to get to the center about 30min on the bust, however bus runs every 10-15min. The hotel is nice, clean, staff are friendly, breakfast is good and it has beautiful garden where you can eat. The rooms are a little to small but have needed accommodations, and its not so noisy like i would imagine center of Rome hotels are.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Please remember that all the following comments are in the context of a modestly priced 3-star hotel.
My room was clean, comfortable and reasonably spacious. Wardrobe space was more than adequate but there was almost no drawer space available. Meals, including breakfast, may be taken indoors or alternatively in an attractive, quiet 'garden' area at the rear of the hotel. Breakfasts are very good offering a wide range of hot and cold food. The dinner menu is also extensive and whilst it is certainly not haute cuisine it is exceptionally good value for money.
We selected the hotel because it is in a quiet suburb where you can sleep with the window open and not be disturbed. The 360 bus stop is 1 minute away from the hotel, runs every 15 minutes or so and takes 20 minutes to reach Termini where you can connect with the metro, trains and most trams and buses. Alternatively, judicious use of the 360 intermediate stops (and stops beyond Termini) can offer a suprisingly short walk to many worthwhile destinations.
All hotel staff are most helpful in a range of situations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed in this hotel only one night on our trip to Italy, since we were in Rome for one day. The hotel was easy to find, a little north of the central Rome, but close to bus stations, several nice restaurants and not much else really.

The staff was nice and pleasant and helpful, although it would have helped to know you cannot buy a bus ticket on the bus (paid a 100 Euro fine for the two of us).

The rooms were your average European rooms for hotels of 3 stars, not too big, but clean and containing everything that we needed. The breakfast was excellent and the staff serving it was very attentive and cheerful.

We felt this was a good value in Rome for sure, unless you want to pay to be downtown, which is also not a bad deal.

Room Tip: Make sure to buy the bus tickets at the bigleteria or a newsstand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mali_Urke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#198 of 1,271 in Rome
682 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#275 of 1,271 in Rome
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Hotel Poggioverde
#121 of 1,271 in Rome
364 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#268 of 1,271 in Rome
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel delle Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel delle Muse

Address: Via Tommaso Salvini 18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#83 Family Hotel in Rome
#208 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $55 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel delle Muse 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three star Hotel delle Muse is located in a very quite and green residential area called Parioli which is traditionally considered the most elegant part of Rome.All our 57 rooms have: en suite WC with shower, hairdryer, Color LCD 21’satellite TV, direct dial telephone, air conditioning/heater, Internet ADSL Cable Connection (free of charge)Internet Wi.FI Connection (free of charge) ,Electronic Safe.On the premises are elevator, safe, bar and restaurant where genuine and varied food is served either in the dining rooms or in the large garden during the summer months.Free Luggage Room. L’Hotel Delle Muse*** è situato nel quartiere Parioli , una zona verde e tranquilla che è per tradizione la più elegante di Roma.Tutte le nostre camere offrono: Bagno in camera con doccia , Asciugacapelli , Telefono diretto, Televisore LCD 21’’ con canali satellitari e Sky, Connessione Internet ADSL via cavo gratuita , Connessione Internet Wi.Fi gratuita , Aria Condizionata/Riscaldamento , Cassaforte Elettronica.Inoltre l’Hotel è provvisto di ascensore , cassette di sicurezza, servizio Bar e di Ristorante nel quale è possibile gustare svariati piatti genuini sia nei saloni interni che nell’ampio giardino durante i mesi estivi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel delle Muse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delle Muse Hotel
Delle Muse Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing