We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #613 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife, daughter, and I stayed at the Columbus Hotel from 6/29-7/3 2014. The location of this hotel is AWESOME. Just a couple of buildings down from St. Peter's Square, very close to ATM's, and major bus routes. This was our second stay in Rome, the first trip we stayed too far away from the city center, and this location definitely got us close to everything!

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and did everything they could do to make our stay here enjoyable. We booked 4 nights that included breakfast. The breakfast was pretty typical fare for Europe, and was the same each day. It was very convenient to at least have a full stomach before walking miles and miles through the city of Rome!

One downfall was the quality of the rooms. We are not snobs by any stretch of the imagination, but we were disappointed in our room based on the many pictures their website had advertised. The room was spacious, and had a basic vinyl tile floor, a small TV that barely worked. The worst was the A/C. It was a wall mounted unit above the bed that struggled to keep the temperature below 80 degrees...which was extremely uncomfortable for us after walking around in the 85+ degree heat all day.

Overall a nice hotel for a short stay, the location is perfect, I would just suggest that they continue to upgrade the rooms with 21st century fixtures (such as the A/C units) to make the stay much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 837 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was my third time in Rome and I was excited to be staying so close to St. Peter's. The room I received was fair and breakfast was good and ample. The staff is another matter all together.
This is a hotel where you leave your key with the front desk if you are going out. I dropped off my key and went out to dinner with our group.
When we got back, they could not find my key. What could have been handled nicely, became an embarrassing situation for me.
The woman behind the front desk accused me of having taken the key with me and losing it insisting that all keys are controlled by her and that a missing key is not possible. She then had me wait in the lobby while she sent a bellman up to my room to make sure that I was not lying and that my room was locked. Of course, this was all done in front of other hotel guests and my group of students.
The bellman returned to let her know that the room was indeed locked. She then made me wait in the lobby while they checked to make sure that the key was not floating somewhere behind the desk. I'm still not sure why this was not done first. They found nothing.
She came to our group in the lobby and made a big production about giving me an extra key and how I was not to lose it. At this point, I had had enough. I told her "Let's be clear; I gave you that key." She backed down a bit but not by much. I went up to my room very angry.
Our tour leader stayed down in the lobby to use the internet. At this point a woman came down from the restaurant complaining that her key did no work. Come to find out, they had given her my key. The woman behind the front desk apologized for the confusion; however, she did not apologize to me. When I found out the true story the next day, I was even more angry. Not one apology did I get, nothing. Had we not been leaving that morning I would have had a talk with the manager.
Next, I get back home and realized that I may have left two small items behind. I emailed them and, a week later, have yet to hear anything.
Our tour company uses this hotel and I am going to ask that they stop using them in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Beware. Unless your needs are backpacker level, look further. I consider this place to be shelter only. My room was dark and nasty with no view, WW2 television, no air and no breeze, that was in May. Threadbare linens, filthy carpet. However, I did see other rooms with tile floors, decent bathrooms, good towels and air conditioning. Not sure how you win the room lottery here. WIFI in rooms was pretty much non-existent. Breakfast was very good. Location awesome.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was the second time in Rome for us, and both times we stayed here. We would absolutely do it again. For us, the proximity to St. Peter's (and the view up via della Conciliazione to the majestic dome) goes a long way. We looked at a couple other nearby options before booking this time, but we love the history of this place. The staff is accommodating and friendly. Both times we have booked family rooms, which have two separate bedrooms sharing a bath. Even for a small family of three, it was worth it.

The breakfast, in a gorgeously frescoed dining hall, is only average. Some people had legitimate problems with their AC, and one night it did seem as though they had cut it off, because the room got warm. But we had no other problems with the AC, and this was during a hot stretch of June.

For the charm of the history and the location, we would absolutely return to Hotel Columbus.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Drays7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel was originally built as a cloister and we can feel its glimpse everywhere in the hotel. The staffs at the front desk were all very nice and offered good help. We can have breakfast in a restaurant whose ceiing was painted by frascos. We can walk to the piazza Saint-Pietro in few minutes and to the Vatican Museums in 5 minutes. We can hear the chime of bells from the cathedral in our hotel rooms. The only thing we annoied was we had to walk 10 minutes to go to the metro station.

Room Tip: On the 4th floor and on the Vatican side, you can see the roof of St. Pietro Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ガメラ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is gorgeous, different rooms with frescos a good example is the restaurant. Gorgeous. However I was not pleased by the hotel rooms. The carpet was old and stained the room was very small. Also the furniture was not in good shape. The bigger problem was the bathroom which was very old. There was no shower just a tub with no shower curtains. Personally they are all things that need to be fixed because from a 4 star hotel I expected more. At least to have a shower. More like a 3 star hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Samuele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June for the second time, this time I was with my dad who did enjoy the old look of this hotel. I still feel this hotel is too expensive, but I have to say it is still a great option because of its proximity to the Basilica and Vatican Museum. When we arrived we were told we will be staying at the next door hotel for one night because of a pipe problem in our room, which make me nervous because of a previews review I read here about this same issue, but let me tell you that even if this was an inconvenience because you can't unpack, we were treated very well by both hotel Staff, and actually the hotel next door is really nice. On the next day we were given a bigger room than what we had booked, which was ok but i would have preferred to received the 15% discount they promised for my senior dad, which was never mentioned or offered of course, Unfortunately we had an annoying couple staying above us who was yelling out of their window to their family member who was in the garden area. Anyways our stay in this hotel was good. My only complaint is that in the Garden restaurant we weren't let to eat in the inside, just outside which was an inconvenience because it was windy and felt like the dust was going to get over our food. We decided to go somewhere else. Breakfast is just Ham, salami, cheese, bread and fruit. Don't expect nothing more, very basic.
Another thing I have to mention is that the staff helped me find last minute tickets to the Vatican, with skipping line, which was really nice.
This is not Hotel related but beginning of June is very crowded in Rome, Vatican was a nightmare, I went to Rome in the beginning of September and was more much relaxed than this.

Safe travels

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LOBV11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#365 of 1,271 in Rome
423 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#120 of 1,271 in Rome
491 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#195 of 1,271 in Rome
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#56 of 1,271 in Rome
739 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#42 of 1,271 in Rome
786 reviews
Starhotels Michelangelo
#167 of 1,271 in Rome
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Address: Via della Conciliazione 33, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#290 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $86 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rome, in an elegant medieval building, Hotel Columbus overlooking on Via della Conciliazione just few steps from St. Peter's Square, can certainly claim a place among the most evocative of the capital, which enables its guests to walk to major sites of historical and artistic interest such as the Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Navona , the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, the Gianicolo. The hotel offers 90 rooms of different types equipped with every comfort and coated the magical atmosphere of an old palace place to spend your stay in the heart of the city, in an oasis of tranquility. Inside, the restaurant "La Veranda" serves unique tastes of traditional Italian and international cuisine, to taste both in and outside majestic frescoed room in the quiet of a flower garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Rome
Hotel Columbus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing