We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“less than 5 mins walk to Vatican from this historic 15th century hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #592 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“less than 5 mins walk to Vatican from this historic 15th century hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are looking for a genuine historic hotel building with European charm and a very short walk to the Vatican this is the place for you. By European standards this is a four star hotel. By North American standards it may be a bit less. The elevator holds 2 maybe 3 people at most and is slow but remember its not possible to build a large elevator in a building that was built in the 15th century. There are no gleaming floors with highly polished mirrors and bright lights but it is an historic building with links to the Vatican with painted ceilings, soft lighting , lots of old masters on the walls in the public areas and for us, the best thing about it was the shaded patio restaurant and bar on the first floor , where you can sit under the trees near the garden fountain have a drink under the trees and umbrellas, a lovely reprise from the afternoon heat and the miles of walking you will be doing whilst in Rome.

Our package inculded breakfast which we ate on the patio in the mornings. The breakfast consisted of cold cut meats, cheese, boiled eggs, cereals, orange juice , tea and coffee and breads, cakes, fresh fruit , yougurts etc. so something for everyone. I took my bags of instant oatmeal which I poured the hot milk over from the self serve breakfast tables and then helped myself to sliced bread and a boiled egg. You can have as much or as little as you want. On the morning we went on a tour of Assisi the front desk had a pre packaged breakfast ready for us to take as we left before 7am which is when the restaurant opens for breakfast. Just let them know if you need a pre packaged breakfast the night before and it will be ready for you.

We ate at the restuarant at lunch time on a few occasions also. The food was very good, nicely presented but expensive. Part of the patio has large wicker padded chairbeds to lounge on which is complimented in the evening with nice soft lighting. We often went out for dinner locally and came back to the restaurant bar for an evening drink when the weather had cooled down slightly.

Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the back of the hotel but it was quiet at night with the occasional blast of sirens from the ambulances or police cars.

Their is a hospital not far from the hotel , the Santo Spirito hospital. Santo Spirito Church is just at the back of the hotel and can be seen from the patio when the large doors are open. Take a look inside this beautiful church, its one of so many .

Our room was a very basic double bed room. The bed was large and quite comfortable. We had a bedside table each and a lamp on each table and an electric clock [no radio]. A large wooden closet with creakey doors which housed the safe which was easy to use and extra pillows. A small desk with a small mini bar fridge and an old small t.v which only has Italian channels on it with bad reception. Even so, my husband managed to watch a few European cup soccer games on it. We had air conditioning in the room but its not as forceful as you can expect in North America . See the photo I posted of the control as its sort of backwards to what we would think would make it work. Anyway, like most things in Europe where hydro is at a premium it only comes on for a few hours at time but I understand you can ask the front desk for a fan if you need one. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I took a small travel electric kettle with me as we like our cups of tea. Also took the tea bags with me of course. I asked the restaurant for cups and they obliged although I dont think they encourage people to make their own hot drinks.

The bathroom was very small but we had a shower , a sink a toilet and a bidet. The rooms are cleaned daily and I would give the cleaning lady a 4 out of 5 but it was clean, she just forgot on a few days to empty the garbage in the room so I left it in the middle of the room to remind her. They also provide small bottles of shower gel, shampoo and shower cap and soap but noticed they dont replace them daily.

The front desk were always helpful. You can use one of the two computers in the lobby for 3 euros for an hour. When the time came to check times on our flight home and book in on line I did so with the front desk printing out my boarding pass for me at no extra cost.

The Vatican is literally less than 5 mins walk up the street. Sunday morning you can hear all the church bells ringing and at noon the Pope comes out on the balcony of his private apartments [building to the right of St Peters Basilica] at noon to give a blessing to the crowds. People from all over the world gather to see him, and it was a great experience. Castel Saint Angelo is another 5 min walk in the opposite direction than the Vatican from the front door of the hotel and in the evening they have lots of vendors selling everything from food to handbags, clothing, rosaries etc . Its great to stroll along listening to the street performers and stop for a gelato.

The hop on and off buses that tour all the sites stop on the street right opposite the hotel entrance and if you cross the street from the hotel and take one of the small side streets you come upon lots of little trattoria's for lunch or dinner. Ask for the Turistico menu which is usually 10 euros each and consists of a glass of beer/soft drink and either pasta like lasagna or pizza. The pizza is usally large thin crust with cheese or ask for another topping for a little extra. The pasta's are generally home made and delicious. If you ask for a meat dish like Lamb, thats what you get, pieces of lamb [boney] on a plate with nothing else. You have to order separately any veggies and it can be expensive.

All in all this hotel is in a fabulous location near to a lot of sights within walking distance and lots of places to eat. Oh and for shopping where the locals shop, cross the street from the hotel, go down Via Erba [a small street and walk straight for about 15 mins [ the name of the street changes although you are walking in a straight line, becomes Via Orfeo,Via Ombrellari, then Via Properzio] then you are on one of the main shopping streets for locals called Via Cola Di Rienzo. Here you will find lots of stores including a department store. There were also street vendors selling clothing, shoes, souveniers etc. I fond one stall selling discounted tops for 3 euros and some brand name sports shirts for 10 euros. Its a very long street which leads to Ponte Margherita [bridge over the Tiber river] that takes you into Piazza del Popolo.

Despite the searing heat, 98 degrees plus every day [the hottest June in over 100years] we had a great time in Rome and still didnt see everything in the week we were there.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and want to be able to sleep well at night ask for a room at the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prevfromPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    257
    161
    104
    66
See reviews for
195
241
37
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked this place based on the price, the location, and the fact that it had A/C. Like the last review, we got to the room (on the 4th floor) and turned on the A/C immediately. Rome weather in the summer isn't exactly pleasant, which is why we made sure we picked a place with A/C. We left and walked around Rome and were pleasantly surprised when we stumbled upon a lot of the stuff we wanted to see not far from the hotel. We were having a great night until we got back to the hotel and found that it was still pretty dang warm in our room. We thought it would get cooler, so we went to sleep. Or tried. Neither of us slept very well. We tried one more night before we said anything to the front desk. When we told them we had been running the A/C all day and night and it wasn't getting any cooler, the lady at the front desk said, "well, you have to understand it's on a timer. It only runs from 7PM-1AM." We asked her where we could buy a fan then, and she said there was no need to...that someone would bring one up. It took them a while to get up to our room, but they finally did and we were finally able to sleep. It still was not pleasant. So, if you're going to Rome during the summer, I would avoid this hotel. I'm sure it's great during the cooler months, but definitely not during the summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend in June. We did not get a transfer from the hotel but with the shuttle bus from the airport we easily found the hotel. The hotel was very unique and was right next to the vatican. the view from our bedroom window was the vatican itself. The room was slightly strange with a double bed and 2 single beds in it for just 2 of us, but that didnt bother us. The weather was very hot but the aircondition in the room made it perfect sleeping temperature. We didnt eat at the restaurant as we walked around the local area each night and found lots of lovely traditional restaurants to eat at. The hotel is on the main road so there is quite alot of traffic noise but this didnt bother us. It also claims free wi-fi in your rooms however we could only access if from the lobby however we didnt go to use wi-fi so wasnt an issue. Tour buses start right outside the the hotel so very easy access to all the major attractions. very good hotel for what we wanted.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room not facing the main road if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Vatican and other sites we wanted to take in. The location is so convenient. I saw a review about the rooms needing a face lift. I couldn't agree more, but that isn't the source of my negative experience. We got to our room and it was stifling hot. We turned on our AC and couldn't wait to get out of there to let it cool down. After several hours, it was barely noticeable but we decided to give it more time. That night we could hardly sleep we were so hot. I talked to the front desk and they promised to send a guy to look at it. After our day out and about, I came back and they said it should be working better. Well, another night of hardly any sleep. It was blowing room temperature. I went to the front desk and said we wanted another room to which they said they would try and accomodate but of course we would have to pack our things which is hard to do when you have tours starting in the morning lasting all day. The next morning I asked about the status of the room and the woman was "shocked" because she gave the night person instructions to move us when we came back through the lobby. We then started noticing a pattern. The hotel employees were losing track of who they gave which excuses to. Their MO is that they "send someone to look at it", followed by sending up a fan, followed by moving you to another room which may or may not be better. We saw it with multiple guests and others in our party.

The only other thing that I will say in fairness to the hotel was that some of the six rooms in our group had no AC issues. Two rooms cooled like you would expect, two were bearable, and two were horrible. I also noticed that when guests would really push the issue, the staff would start talking Italian like they didn't understand. Really??? We were also woken up one morning by a guy wanting to see if we had used anything from the minibar.

I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't put up with poorly functioning AC. Demand to move rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is superbly located being a couple of minutes from St Peters, the Vatican & the Castell St Angelo. The hotel is also about 15-20 minutes walk from the major sights such as the Piazza Navona and Trevi fountain. The hotel is about 5-10 minutes from the metro stations Cipro and Ottaviano (both on Line A).

The bars, restaurant and public rooms are all great and have a lovely feel of history about them – you can have breakfast in a lovely garden courtyard with a fountain. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and was from 7-10. The restaurant menu looked very good but was very expensive as was the bar – 20 euros for 2 Bacardi & cokes.

The bedrooms are quite dated though and our bathroom was quite dingy with only a shower and very little space to put anything so our toilet bags had to be left on the floor. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were rather hard. The room was quite dark with no main room light and only a bedside lamp on one side. The TV also had no English stations. The room also had no tea/coffee making facilities although it had a mini bar which was expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing onto Via Della Conciliazione so that you can look out the window at St Peters
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_The_Miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

this place is dirty, run down, with the worst service of any hotel I've ever stayed in anywhere on the planet.
it is not really air conditioned. they charge extra for everything. carpets are ragged, the woodwork is scratched tarnished public spaces are cheaply furnished. and it's not really that cheap.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very nice but very old hotel one block from St Peter's Basillica. Very clean rooms but some of the rooms are very small. Helpful friendly staff. If a wash cloth is important to you, bring your own, none provided pretty much every where in Europe. Bars of soap are very small. It might be helpful to bring a few small bars of soap. I'm not sure if there are any rooms that would be good for someone with a disability. Extremely small elevator. A few steps down required to reach it. Many rooms but not all require a few steps up or down once you reach your floor. So check it out before booking. The price at €110/night was very fair comapred to most in the area. Breakfast was extra at €15. We did not think it was worth it for a cold breakfast. We walked about a block from the hotel and had a very nice breakfast. Be sure to ask the price of the meal before sitting down. They seem to have two different prices. One for tourists and one for locals. If you ask for the price they will give you the special local price. Expect to pay about €10 for nice hot breakfast. About €15 for a nice dinner. Rome has different prices for meals, especially for dinner, depending on where you sit. Outside is always the most expensive. I really thought the prices were fair considering that we were in the heart of Rome. The Hop On Hop off busses stop right across the street from Hotel Columbus for a great touring experience. We chose "Roma Open" because online reviews said they had the most frequent busses and it seemed to be true, but there are several different companies to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#300 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#104 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#58 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#178 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#107 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Prati
Hotel Arcangelo
Hotel Arcangelo
#486 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: Via della Conciliazione 33, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#279 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric 4-story Hotel with historic ambience, converted from 15th-century Villa, 2 blocks from Vatican. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Rome
Hotel Columbus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing