We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed at the Artemide”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Everything we needed at the Artemide”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent recommendation from travel agent. Air conditioning that worked. Free minibar, delicious breakfast. Rooftop restaurant and bar, inside and outdoor seating - had a wonderful dinner there one night. Given coupons for 2 free drinks. Best of all - friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. The bellmen were great - one wrote down the "best" taxi service number for me when I was worried about transportation home from dinner one night. The breakfast manager persuaded my sister to try decaf cappuccino when she ordered decaf coffee. The night manager noticed me filling ice bags when my husband hurt his knee - he told me to call down overnight and he would send me a refill. Only problem for me was that the mattresses were a little too firm but it sounds like that is the preference in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,476
    1,095
    140
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,588
3,871
146
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Artemide is on one of the main streets dissecting Rome. It was a quick 10 minute walk from the train station - you can get here from the airport so easily. Just take the Leonardo express and in under an hour, you'll be there.

First impressions were great, the outside signage was clear and we were greeted warmly (we had walked in the rain and were thoroughly drenched). As we were two female friends travelling together we had requested twin rooms in advance, when we arrived in the room, assisted by one of the bellboys, there was only one bed. Not a problem he said, just ask the front desk to send up housekeeping. Our room was spacious enough for two, although there wasn't much in the way of wardrobe space it still worked well. The bathroom was huge and really well stocked with toiletries. We did have to keep asking for more towels though. The tea and coffee was refreshed daily and little biscuits and treats were left. The free mini bar was also well stocked with water and sodas.

Breakfast was superb. I've eaten in a lot of European hotels and this has to be up there with one of the best buffets. Lots of hot food, breads, cakes, fruits and cheeses. The staff here were very helpful and friendly too. The coffee lounge by the lobby was also great, tea and coffee on tap, with newspapers and comfy sofas and seating, good to chill out after a day trekking round the sights.

It took us 10-15 minutes to walk to all the major sights in Rome - this really is a massively central hotel. Our room was cleaned well, staff were courteous and overall the place felt well looked after and like they genuinely cared about their guests.

We also ate in the rooftop restaurant, again service was excellent and the food was superb. I would most definitely recommend eating here at least once during your stay.

Two small niggles - not enough towels and when we asked for more they were removed the following day and we were back to not enough. We also went to pay the restaurant bill the following night and the receptionist was really unhelpful, he told us it wouldn't be ready till the following day - even though it was the night prior. It felt like he couldn't be bothered.

Overall though we had an absolutely fantastic stay, helped by the lovely room, great facilities and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Rome was the last stop on our European vacation over the Summer, and we booked the Artemide Hotel for 4 nights, based largely on TripAdvisor reviews. Overall, the value and stay were very good. The location was very convenient to all tourist areas, and was removed enough from the insanity that it was a bit of a reprieve to walk back every afternoon / evening. The included breakfast was a great way to start the day, and the fresh ricotta was phenomenal. The free mini bar in every room was a great touch, and it was fantastic to have a couple bottles of cold water to take out into the heat every day. With all of that being said, the staff left a bit to be desired. They were definitely not rude, and were fairly attentive, but I think we may have missed all of the super friendly people that we read about. Not a deal breaker, but a little disappointing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The level of service, staff courtesy and cleanliness throughout the hotel was "second to none" during our recent stay. It's location is ideal for touring around Rome with tourist attractions within walking distance, as well as various forms of public transport on your doorstep if you wish to take a less energetic approach. The rooftop restaurant is excellent, offering high quality cuisine as does the Breakfast Room in mornings. Look no further for somewhere to stay when you're in Rome!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ev1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We wanted a one-night stay in Rome after our Mediterranean cruise and chose the Hotel Artemide based on Trip Advisor reviews. It was the perfect choice for us...our ship docked early in the morning, so we arrived at 9:30 am, but the hotel staff said they'd try to us into our room early. We left our bags and had a leisurely walk to the Spanish steps (deserted on a Sunday morning) and a cappuccino at a deli by the hotel. When we returned, our room was ready! (We could have relaxed in the comfortable business center or lobby if it hadn't been, though.) We had dinner in the upstairs restaurant and loved the breakfast buffet, which opened at 7:00 am so we had time to eat before leaving for the airport. We felt like we were still on the cruise! Definitely worth the splurge to relax in a comfortable big bed before our 11-hour flight home.

Room Tip: We had an inside room and didn't notice any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

From the extremely helpful and welcoming people at the front desk, to the clean and modern room, this hotel was a pleasure to call home for five days. The hotel location was convenient to buses and the subway and walking distance to many major sites. Highlights included a king bed that was firm but very comfortable (a huge plus on the road) and the best hotel breakfast we've ever experienced in Europe (don't be shy - ask for eggs made to order and they are happy to comply). Also, the restaurant in the hotel, Ambrosia, was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharterOneTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I cannot emphasize enough how this hotel has completely got it right! The staff is just incredible and the location is 10-20 minutes walking distance to all the sights. It was my father's 60th anniversary on returning to Canada and they were so kind to us all! The free drink on the patio was a perfect way to begin our stay. The breakfast is the best in Italy!! And I am not exaggerating. Pasquale, Sofia, Lagra, Maila, Mario, Oino, Allendro were over-the top hospitable! Do not pass on this hotel. I would go back in a heart beat!! Thank you Artemide. This hotel has the secret code in creating a fantastic experience for their guests!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarinabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,263 in Rome
4,185 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,263 in Rome
2,930 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,263 in Rome
3,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#32 of 1,263 in Rome
1,329 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,263 in Rome
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing