We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I spent four days here from the 13th - 16th of February with my girlfriend for valentines day. I can honestly say it was an amazing hotel from the minute I arrived the front desk staff were helpful and gave us many good recommendations all members of staff were wiling to help.

Our room was on the first floor it's was a very nice room with everything you could ask for including a free mini bar and bathroom essentials that was refilled everyday.

It was our first trip to Rome and found the hotel to be in the perfect location a 2 minute walk to the metro in walking distance to all the sites except for Vatican City I would highly recommend this hotel to all travellers going to Rome.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,471
    1,095
    140
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,587
3,868
145
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I visited the Artemide last week( June 8-11) for my 1 yr anniversary with my wife. Everything about this hotel is perfect. The rooms are a normal European size and very clean, and if you get the street side you have views of the main road. We had the third floor street side and noise was no issue. Before I left I emailed to see if it was possoble to do something special for my wife on our actual anniversary day. Valentina from the front desk was amazing and arranged for flowers to be delivered to my room and dinner on the Rooftop restaurant. The food was great and the views even better. Everything worked out perfectly and my wife couldnt have been happier. Now to the hotel. Its close to everything. We walked from the hotel to Colosseum, To the Roman Forum, Then to the Trevi fountain, and then to the Spanish Steps. All in about 4 hrs. It was a perfect loop. The second day we took a 10 euro taxi right to the Vatican. Very easy since the cab station is right around the corner. We then walked back from the Vatican Stopping at a few other places on the way. The Pantheon being one which was incredible, a must see. All in all this is the perfect hotel to see all the sites in Rome. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get the street side rooms on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobFNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Location
----------
~location is good for metro (inner city) and rail (outer city) transportation
~hotel metro station stop name is Repubblica (inner city transportation)
~walking distance to Repubblica station (approx 4 minutes)
~walking distance to Termini station (outer city transportation)
(approx 10 minutes)
(Termini is also a metro stop where you can transfer to catch rail trains
to airport terminals, ship ports, and other cities like Milan)
(akin to New York's Grand Central or Penn Station where one would
catch AmTrak, MetroNorth, and LIRR)


Hotel Quality and Services
-------------------------------
~hotel quality: comfortable (would stay here again)
~front desk staff: very pleasant and very helpful
~room service staff: lovely, pleasant, efficient
~breakfast (included): quite good
~rooftop dining: quite lovely; do enjoy the complimentary beverage of your choice


Transportation
-----------------
~you can take a shuttle taxi from Fuimicino Airport to hotel for €40
~you can also take the rail train from airport to Termini station and walk to hotel
~hotel is on Metro line A (metro station stop name = Repubblica)
~if you choose to take metro train to or from Termini station, it is one
stop between Termini station and Repubblica station (hotel station
stop)
~metros are a flat rate of €1.50 and go down after a certain time
in the evening
~you can metro from Repubblica Station (near hotel) to Via Ottaviano
(St. Peter's Basilica) (5 stops) (approx 15 mins)
~metro from Repubblica to Giovanni (4 stops) (approx 12 mins)
~train from Termini to Civitavecchia (ship port) = € 20,5 (first class)
~time: depart Rome (Termini Station) 12:10p
arrive Civitecchia 12:51p
arrive Milan 18:50 (6:50p) (I wonder how much ticket would cost)
~options for purchasing train tickets:
(1) purchase online -- allows you to purchase tickets with reserved seat
assignments (for 1st and 2nd class) (coach class -- no reserved
seating). Word of advice: book early. There were
issues with the server in Rome at the time we attempted to secure
tickets, and we could not reserve our tickets online. Fortunately, we
could walk to Termini station (which we did and purchased tickets).
When we arrived at Termini station on the day of departure,
the line for tickets was quite crowded. Give yourself enough time to
orient to the station and find your track. Trains to Civitivecchia
(ship port) usually leave from track 23 (according to station agent)
but can sometimes vary.

(2) purchase at Termini station: you can purchase ticket either at ticket
window or at ticket machine at the station. N.B.: purchasing at
ticket machine does NOT allow you to select and reserve a
particular seat.

N.B.: when you book online, if you are in first class, you reserve
your seats. However, expect that someone MAY be sitting in your
seat. Two couples were assigned the same seats. Fortunately,
there was room for one couple to take other seats.

N.B.: when boarding rail train from Termini to airport or ship port,
there will be individuals who will help with you lift your bag(s) onto
the train. They are not rail employees but hustlers who will lift your
bag and then ask you for a tip. Beware: if your tip is not deemed
sufficient, the individual will not be kind in requesting more money.
Lift your own bag(s), be prepared to pay handsomely, or proceed
expecting that your offer might be challenged.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariadne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights, and loved this hotel. The staff was helpful, especially Mario. We were treated with the utmost of respect and kindness. The rooms were small by US standards, but very clean, and contemporary decor. The location is excellent, we walked everywhere we went due to its central address. We highly recommend this hotel and know we will stay there again on our next visit to Roma!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmom723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

After reading the reviews and seeing the exceptional rating on Tripadvisor, I had high hopes for the Artemide - this hotel lived up to our expectations and beyond! From the time we arrived, staff made us feel like a priority. We spent 5 nights and 6 fabulous days in Rome and were so pleased to have this hotel as our home base for the week.
Our triple occupany hotel room was spacious, clean, quiet and had a well stocked FREE mini bar, that was replenished every day with snacks and drinks.
The delicious buffet breakfast was so large and offered so much fresh variety that one could stay a whole week and not have the same thing twice! If you don't mind paying a little more than at a local pasta place, eat at the hotel restaurant at least once during your stay - it was one of the best meals we had during our 16 days in Europe.
Something else that's great about the Artemide is that the hotel is a short walk to Termini train station (major bus and subway terminal there as well) and sits just a few blocks from the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. We walked almost everywhere from the hotel - Colosseum, Pantheon, Forum, etc. We hopped on a convenient bus to the Vatican (there's a bus stop half a block from the front door of the hotel that takes you right there!)
I cannot express how warm and friendly the staff are.They take pride in their jobs and it shows. I would not hesitate about recommending this fabulous hotel to anyone and would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KellyBradHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Artemide has a great location, close to Metro and walking distance to the Coliseum, Forum, and many great restaurants. More important, our room was clean and well appointed with a very comfortable king bed, although some might consider it small by American standards. I slept well every night. The minibar is complimentary with beer, soft drinks, and snacks replenished daily. The staff was friendly, helpful, and spoke excellent English. We used the business center several times during our stay. The breakfast was wonderful, with a daily special dish served to us. Take advantage of the private car for your trip back to FCO. It is only 2 Euro more than taking a taxi. I highly recommend Artimede for your next vacation in Rome!

Room Tip: 1) When reserving ask for a room away from the busy Via Nazionale. 2) Remember to get the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WVDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I loved this hotel. Actually we stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our trip to Italy and at the end of it. We can not say enough about the hospitality at the front desk. Each person( morning, noon or night shift) was friendly and professional. No request was too much. They helped you with everything from extra towels, getting a cab, booking a restaurant, recommending restaurants etc. We enjoyed trying to speak Italian to them-they spoke english extremely well. We had booked a junior suite, and it was wonderful-great firm bed.Bathroom spacious with jacuzzi tub that was greatly appreciated after walking all over Rome. It is located on a very busy thoroughfare-Via Nationale, but for us it was a great location as you could literally walk down to it from the train station.You can also hop one of the many bus' that take you anywhere for a reasonable cost. Just watch out for #64 bus-pickpockets. We had fun with one of them trying to pick my pocket. // Taxi's are always an option, though obviously more expensive. // As many have pointed out, the breakfast is the best-service again wonderful. You'd have to see it to believe it. Absolutely delicious- the best we had in our wanderings through Italy. Free mini-bar-whens the last time you've encountered that? Likewise a bottle of win awaited us when we arrived both times. You really do feel welcomed at this hotel. Our thanks to the many reviewers of this hotel, as that is how we made our decision to stay here. WE also would highly recommend it .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,184 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,924 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
1,326 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing