We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, not a great value.”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #7 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After spending many nights in excellent but basic hotels near Venice, Tuscany, and Florence we decided a nicer hotel in Rome would be in order. At $333 US dollars a night (we expected to pay more in Rome of course) this hotel just wasn't up to snuff for the dollars paid for our 3 night stay. Yes, the hotel staff was attentive, the rooftop couch area was cozy, and the breakfast fine....but that's about it. Our room and bath were no better than other hotels we had been paying about $130 a night for elsewhere. Our room was small, with no room for luggage other than a temporary luggage stand and closet. You could hear our neighbor talking through the wall of our room. The workout area was fine but the weight machine was broken and not fixed during our stay. The location was OK, and walkable to the train station should you need such service but there were really no notable features of the city scape nearby the hotel. Our first night request for a decent priced restaurant for a light dinner sent us to a recommended restaurant that wouldn't stay open for a week at home. The food and wine were terrible, along with the service. The next two nights we went with recommendations from locals (Jewish Ghetto and near French Embassy) and ate like kings at the same price or less. We had a light meal on the rooftop our last night. Our service was good but the portions very undersized for the price (about 20% higher than comparable Rome sites, $15 euro for 3 ravioli?). The view from the rooftop is romantic only if you like looking at 200 satellite dishes and antennae on other rooftops although you do get a glimpse of St. Peter's through one corner of the roof. Really nothing bad to say but for the $$ I'm certain we could have done better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazz1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Sir,

We are sorry to learn that your stay with us was full of drawbacks. It is always with the outmost interest and concern that we read the reviews that we receive. We always strive to make our Guests’ stay the most enjoyable one and learning that something went wrong really makes us grieve. However, we would like to stress certain points which you have reported.

As we understood from your profile you have been touring Italy staying in basic or in Best Western chain hotels; instead, when in Rome, you decided to treat yourselves to something different increasing your normal budget per night remarkably. From you tours we have grasped that this might be your first time in Italy and, as such, your idea that small cities like Venice and Florence could compare in rates and hotels to Rome could be misguided. Not only Venice and Florence are considerably smaller than Rome, but also the hotels offered are quite different in style and location. Most interesting features of these two cities – monuments, museum, etc. – all concentrated in the centre and not far from each other; therefore it is easy to pick a Hotel which will allow you to be extremely close by the most famous sightseeing spots. Rome is a bit different in these regards. First of all Rome is renowned to be built on seven hills, and although the hills are not easily recognizable nowadays, you may definitely tell by the up and down streets that these are still there. As such, we can say that Rome has various city centres; for example the Trastevere Area, the Colloseum Area and the Repubblica Area, where we are located. More precisely via Nazionale has been recognized to be constructed on top of the original Vicus Longus on the Viminale Hill, already part of Rome’s borders in 500 b.C. Nowadays each area has its own characteristics and hotels vary greatly in price range. We are inclined to say that for our area, a rate of Euro 278.00 per night for a double room with breakfast is more than fair, especially for May. However, it would be very difficult to find such good rate in a street closer to the Colosseum, unless of course you decided to stay in a 3 star instead of a 4 star. You also mention the fact that there are no “notable features” near our Hotel. It is true that most foreigners know only the Colosseum and the Trevi Fountain, however via Nazionale is filled with important sightseeing spots. From the top of the street to the bottom, via Nazionale is covered with historical buildings. Starting from the Diocletian Baths at the top of the hill, to the 19th century Anglican church next door, to the underground Domus Romana only 5 minutes walk away, there are plenty of historical spots to discover only in this 1 mile street. Of course, if your intention was to be able to see the Collosseum from our doorstep, we are afraid that this is not possible. And no were on our website we say so, but we clearly state that every common sightseeing spot is only a short downhill walk away.

As per your booking we assigned a double room. Although we have stressed this various times, we once more would like to inform our future customers that all our rooms are fully described on the selling websites and here it is clearly stated that the double room offers a width of 15 m² and a king size bed (180x195 cm); bathrooms may come with shower or bathtub. Having travelled around Italy in the previous week you probably had many pieces of luggage therefore required a larger room for all your belongings. We fully understand that our Guests travel for different reasons and although our website is already clear about the room size and feature, we are always available for any further question and happy to suggest the best accommodation for your needs. Probably in your case we would have suggested a Double Superior Room which offers an 18 m² room with more storage space. Alternatively, when Guests require more storage, we offer to keep the unneeded luggage in the storage facility held by our Bellman. Coming to the noises which you heard from the neighbours’ room, we are sorry that you had this experience. All our rooms are soundproofed so to offer the highest privacy and night comfort. It is of course also responsibility of our Guest to be “good neighbours” and respect other Guests by keep the television volume to a minimum and refrain from talking loudly at unreasonable times.

You also referred to the malfunctioning weight machine. For this we apologize. Our priority is always to give the best possible service. We always do our best to keep all the equipment functioning and in order by making a regular check of all the gym equipment and sauna area. Furthermore, our Guests’ collaboration in signaling any unnoticed issue is highly appreciated and immediately attended to. No Guest, including you, reported about any problem with the gym machines; having known about it we would have sorted it out immediately for you to use it for the rest of your stay.

As for the restaurant suggestion, we are sorry that we misinterpreted your request and suggested the wrong venue for your dinner. Many Guests tend to be satisfied by our advice; however we understand that not all may have the same taste.
Addressing now your dining experience in our restaurant, we have to admit again our surprise to your response. Many Guests have seemed extremely content with their dining with us and especially in regards to the portion/price range. Although being a Hotel restaurant, Ambrosia has a variety of dishes with prices that are not dissimilar to those which can be found in external restaurants in the surrounding area. Spending Euro 35.00 per person for a full meal, as you have, is quite an average price for a restaurant in the city centre. Since we opened we received many positive reviews especially due to our care in choosing fresh ingredients and because all pasta dishes are freshly home made by our chef. All is fully described on the menu and our waiters are always ready to help you chose the best combination of dishes and wine so to make you have a full sensorial experience. As for the view from the rooftop we are sorry that you felt it was not what it should have been. Rome is a city, and as all cities in the world it is quite common to have satellite dishes on all roofs. However, we would like to underline the fact that although at a distance, St. Peter’s Dome is very well visible, as it is the Vittorio Emanuele Monument, both typical features of Rome’s skyline.

Considering all this, we are sorry that you did not manage to enjoy your stay in Rome, maybe next time you will be able to find an accommodation more apt to your needs and closer to the renowned touristic spots.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,619 - 3,625 of 6,964 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

An inside room is quiet and dark enough to allow a great nights sleep. You'll need the spare pillow from the closet as the one on the bed is not enough. The free minibar is a great touch and restocked daily. The rooftop bar is not to be missed, great for an afternoon drink between touring and heading out again for dining. Staff are friendly and helpful. Once you have your bearings it's a good location for getting to all the major sights. All the central tourist spots are within 10-15 minutes walk. We even managed to walk to the Vatican from here in 40 minutes! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyrussell2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My Wife and myself had the pleasure to stay at this truly amazing Hotel in Rome for 4 Days before departing for our Mediterranian Cruise. Coming from the Airport we arrived at the hotel at 11am. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived. As we where early and the rooms where still been cleaned we received free welcoming drinks at the rooftop Bar and restaurant while we waited for the room.
The Rooftop Bar was the perfect place to wind down especially with such a friendly Waitress.
The Hotel is perfectly situated in the Heart of Rome with in walking distance to all the places we wanted to see. All the Staff was exceptionally friendly, the Room was nice and clean, The bath room was very spacious and modern, the bed was big and extremely comfortable,
For the free wifi i went downstairs to the hotels own business centre, perfect signal and fast.
The mini bar was free which was a nice touch. Breakfast was tops with a large variety of almost everything one wishes for. Every evening we found chocolates on the pillow as a sweet good night. I can highly recommend this Hotel as we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

this is a true european hotel with great staff, beautiful rooms, romantic roof top bar. great location. ask the hotel staff for restaurant recommnedations or explore on the smaller streets. would return in aheartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skifree57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with large and comfortable rooms and helpful and efficient staff and a great breakfast. You couldn't find a better place to stay. The discounts for longer stays are good value and the Internet connection is strong and fast.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tresdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a 10 day stay at this Hotel and it was Fabulous. The staff are exceptional, all smiles and extremely helpful, whether it is Reception, housekeeping or the Breakfast crew. Lacra will always stay in my heart and memories. The beds and the linen are exquisite, the rooms are soundproof with darkened drapes. No worries about sleeping in Rome. We did have slow service in the rooftop restaurant for an evening dinner. The bathroom could have used an exhaust fan to keep the humidity down and the towels are thin. I would love to stay at this hotel again if ever I am back in Rome. Grazie--Artemide!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

great and competent staff, excellent breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, quiet rooms, nice interior, situated close to all attractions, nice roof top bar with lounge, unfortunately very stiff mattresses (italian style?!)

Room Tip: ask for soft beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman_2342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,270 in Rome
3,676 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,270 in Rome
4,335 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,270 in Rome
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,270 in Rome
1,401 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,270 in Rome
759 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#8 of 1,270 in Rome
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#1 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $161 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing