We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location For Exploring Rome”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Location For Exploring Rome”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I were on a three week trip celebrating our 25th anniversay to Paris, Milan, Como, Venice, Florence and lastly, Rome. We were looking for a centrally located hotel that was somewhat luxurious, but not over the top fancy so we would feel too formal. The Artemide Hotel was perfect for us. We arrived early from Florence and the concierge recommending going up to the rooftop bar on the 7th floor for refreshments while we waited for our room to be ready. He estimated it would be ready in an hour so it was not a long wait. The rooftop bar/restaurant is worth visiting. Sitting outside, enjoying the sun on tastefully decorated chairs, was a great way to review the map of Rome and plan our next four days.

We got our room within the hour as promised and were pleasantly surprised by the decor. A nice sized room, that included a mini-bar where you can help yourself to 3 bottles of water per day, 2 Italian beers, and juice. I believed this to be "free," although one reviewer insists it's in the room charge. Either way, I felt as if it were free and was very happy to drink my 3 bottles of water per day not worrying about being charged 20 Euros, or whatever they do in Europe. Alas, I do not drink beer, so that sat there day after day. Maybe I should have snuck it home for my daughter, ha....There were also little cookies and crackers set out on top of the mini bar, in addition to coffee and tea. There was a kettle that you could put water in and heat up. I loved having a cup of tea in the room after exploring the streets of Rome for hours.

We are always eager to have good Wi-Fi and we both brought an iPhone, in addition to both having our own iPads. We were given a Wi-Fi code and surprisingly, all four devices worked great. This was not always the case at the other hotels in Italy. At some of them, only two devices worked well. Always try a hotel's wi-fi code on the most important devices first, the ones you can't live without. No problem at this hotel though--everything was working very well.

The bathroom was quite nice with marble and all the fancy soaps and shampoos you can expect these days. Our only complaint, as usual, with hotels in Italy, is it's hard not to get water on the floor when you shower. There was only a partial glass door and for whatever reason, the water ends up outside on the floor. Felt bad having to mop it up a bit with a thirsty towel and then leave the wet towel on the floor, but what can you do. I think a better designed door would prevent this. That is just a minor complaint, though, and I felt bad for the hotel cleaning staff, not myself.

I would highly recommend eating at the rooftop restaurant. We ended up there our last two nights we liked it so much. They give you a huge glass of wine if you order by the glass and the food was delicious. I would suggest making a reservation, though, as by 8:00 it starts to fill up. We had to get used to eating later while in Europe as is their custom. Many restaurants do not start to serve until after 7:30. I believe we came one night at 7:00 p.m. and were served so it may be different at a hotel restaurant. My husband had a swordfish appetizer that was amazing!

This hotel is located very centrally to all the places you will want to see. We had a walking tour the first day with a guide and from then on were able to find our way around. Get a map at the front desk. It is very useful and they will circle the attractions most people want to see. Rome is a big city so be prepared to do a lot of walking, even with the hotel being in a good location. We ended up walking 5-10 miles a day, but that also has to do with the fact that we love walking. There is the metro nearby that many people take to get about.

Each morning you can have breakfast in the breakfast room and this is included in your room price. The staff is super friendly and will whisk about clearing plates from your table when you're done with them and bringing you fresh coffee or tea. Each morning a server came around with a huge bundt type formation of freshly made ricotta cheese. I don't eat much dairy, but had to have a sample and was glad I did, it was delicious! The food at the buffet was the typical European spread of cucumbers, tomatoes, salad, eggs, bacon, cereals, breads, cakes, juices, yogurt, fruit, Nutella (what is with the European obsession over Nutella??), and cold-cuts and cheese. Everything was well supplied and who could not find plenty to eat! We looked forward to eating in this charming room every morning and would linger over our second pot of tea!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return some day in the future! We were there the last part of April and were grateful they had turned on the air conditioning since it was getting in the mid-70's during our visit. Some of the other hotels we stayed at previously in April had the heat blasting with no way to regulate it and this meant we had to keep our windows open at all times or be way too hot. The air conditioning worked great at Hotel Artemide!

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper and had a room on the courtyard which was very quiet. I did not hear a thing wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna224488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,462
    1,095
    140
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,583
3,866
145
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the beginning of April. Location is ideal if you are arriving by train (Termini station). If you have only one piece of luggage I recommend you to walk from the station to the hotel. Hotel is also close to “Repubblica” subway station (please notice that subway system in Rome is not as large as other cities in Europe, but it’s enough to take you to most touristic places).

Staff at check in was really efficient and proud of their job. The hotel is old and somewhat outdated but service is great. Rooms have enough space and bathrooms are large for European standards. If you are looking for a base to explore Rome, look no more.

Free beverages in the mini bar are a nice touch. Also breakfast is great in terms of service and food quality. Hotel has a private car service to FCO Airport, which is at the same price as a taxi cab and more reliable than a regular taxi (FCO airport is a 45 minute ride at 6 am).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Artemide in late April and it was a wonderful hotel in a great location. The room was very nice and clean, and the bathroom was spacious (we booked a triple room). The rooftop bar and restaurant was amazing, with great views of the city and wonderful food. The free breakfast was amazing -- very good spread with great, fresh food and wonderful coffee.

The strongest asset of this hotel is its staff. Wonderfully attentive, very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. On the final night of our stay, I stopped by the front desk to ask if someone would be there at 4am, which is when we had to check out in order to make our early flight. Of course, the front desk is staffed 24/7, but that's not the only part. When we checked out of the hotel, they had a boxed breakfast for us to take in the cab. We were overwhelmed by the amazing hospitality. Would recommend the Artemide without hesitation.

Room Tip: In general, hotel rooms in Europe are smaller than American hotels, so we booked a triple room even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneINTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I ended our two week honeymoon in Rome for 3 nights, 5/1-5/4. I used TripAdvisor to plan out and book most of our honeymoon, including all the hotels we stayed in, and this one lived up to its reviews.

I booked a Double Superior room, the room was a good size with a large, comfortable king sized bed. We were greeted by a lovely note from the hotel wishing us well on our honeymoon with a complimentary bottle of wine, and the mini bar with complimentary drinks and snacks was a welcome perk after long days of walking around Rome.

The bathroom was spacious with a lot of counter space, and the tub had jets, which I used each night because I ended up with a pretty crazy sunburn/heat rash from walking around on our first day there. I will say the tub was on the smaller side, and one of the jets kept popping out, but it was nice to soak in. The rain shower was excellent, with great water pressure.

The breakfast was very good, my husband especially enjoyed it for the fresh meats and cheeses, and they had all the standard stuff - pastry, cereal, hard boiled eggs, different stylers of coffee readily offered and replenished, etc. I didn't think the fruit was that great, but coming off of the amazing fruit in Positano, I think we were spoiled. The rooftop upstairs is very nice, we went up on our last night to get our welcome drinks, and ended up staying for dinner, which was very tasty. We especially liked the local cheese plate we got as an antipasti with the honey.

One negative thing we noticed was how incredibly loud it was every night, which made it hard to sleep. We were on the 3rd floor, but it was almost as if the windows weren't shut, even though they were. I'm not sure if that's because we were facing the street below, and if other rooms in the hotel are quieter?

Overall, we had a nice stay here, but ultimately would probably not return to Rome in the future since we enjoyed some of the other locations during our honeymoon much more, specifically Florence and Positano. If we did for some reason return to Rome, we would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband booked this hotel - and Rome - as a surprise trip for my birthday and our anniversary! He booked it via Imp Travel in Lincoln, and from start to finish it was superb, we travelled with Ryanair, whom we hadnt travelled with previously and basically 'it does what it says on the tin' - no complaints, set off on time and arrived on time, and it was easy to get through the airport. We bought tickets onboard for Bus Shuttle, in hindsight, maybe we wouldnt do that again as buses didnt arrive on time, and we ended up setting off into Rome 2 hours after we arrived! The buses are all the same prices, and Terravision seemed to have a lot of buses running.

The weather was perfect for our stay, apart from a little rain on the first evening. The hotel was very welcoming and was perfect for our needs, we received a voucher for a free glass of prosecco on arrival in the Roof Top Bar and Restaurant ( well worth going to!) There were little freebies all the way during our stay, which were a lovely surprise, and very thoughtful! Our Anniversary was even acknowledged, which was so appreciated! The Mini Bar is FREE comprising of water, juices and beers ...and even glasses too..cooled in the fridge! There are peanuts, and little snacks provided in the room, and the 'turn down' on our first night ...and the little chocolate on our first and last night, was a nice touch. The hotel provides free beverages in the lobby area, and it was nice to relax there.

If you are visiting Rome for the first time, make sure you have good feet and shoes, and a head for crowds!! Be prepared to stand in crowds on the buses, it wasnt a problem to us. We think it was busier than normal due to the arrival of the new pope. It was great that we saw the Pope when we visited St Peters Square on our anniversary, a highlight of our trip. It was very busy, but delightful to see, we managed to find a shaded area, and had plenty of water with us! We visited the Basillica later on in the week, be prepared to queue for about an hour, but its worth it, and dont buy the tickets to jump the queue, its a rip off, as it is FREE to get into the Basillica. We also enjoyed Vatican Museum and to see the Sistine Chapel was very memorable, it costs 16 euros each to go into and you need at least 2 hours, we heard that people going in the morning queued for 2 hours, we didnt and arrived about 2pm and got straight in.

We loved Trevi fountain, The Pantheon and Spanish Steps! We ate well and can recommend the Carbonara, and the Italian Icecreams - absolutely delicious!! Close by the hotel is St Paul in the Walls church and we saw a wonderful Four Seasons concert there, worth going to concerts there but perhaps purchase your tickets on the door, as the ticket sellers want to charge tax. Watch out for the taxes and service charges!!

The only bug bear and something we werent aware of is that you have to pay 3 euro's per person per night for your accommodation extra, this is charged when you leave the hotel, apparently it is a government tax and it hadnt been pointed out at the travel agent.

All in all, a wonderful experience in beautiful romantic Rome!!

Room Tip: We were Room 521 which was at the side of the hotel, and although we didnt have a view as such, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Artemide. It was in a good location.easily walkable to lots of sights and restaurants.We stayed in a deluxe room which was a good size and nicely furnished. All staff were warm and friendly, and the roof-top terrace bar was beautiful with views over the City.

The mini-bar was included and kept well-stocked, we received a bottle of Chianti to celebrate my husband's birthday which was nice and the breakfast was excellent quailty - and great cappucinos!

We would definitely return,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,181 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,923 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing