We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, personalized experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, personalized experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Artemide in late April and it was a wonderful hotel in a great location. The room was very nice and clean, and the bathroom was spacious (we booked a triple room). The rooftop bar and restaurant was amazing, with great views of the city and wonderful food. The free breakfast was amazing -- very good spread with great, fresh food and wonderful coffee.

The strongest asset of this hotel is its staff. Wonderfully attentive, very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. On the final night of our stay, I stopped by the front desk to ask if someone would be there at 4am, which is when we had to check out in order to make our early flight. Of course, the front desk is staffed 24/7, but that's not the only part. When we checked out of the hotel, they had a boxed breakfast for us to take in the cab. We were overwhelmed by the amazing hospitality. Would recommend the Artemide without hesitation.

Room Tip: In general, hotel rooms in Europe are smaller than American hotels, so we booked a triple room even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneINTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,120
    1,062
    137
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,493
3,648
135
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I ended our two week honeymoon in Rome for 3 nights, 5/1-5/4. I used TripAdvisor to plan out and book most of our honeymoon, including all the hotels we stayed in, and this one lived up to its reviews.

I booked a Double Superior room, the room was a good size with a large, comfortable king sized bed. We were greeted by a lovely note from the hotel wishing us well on our honeymoon with a complimentary bottle of wine, and the mini bar with complimentary drinks and snacks was a welcome perk after long days of walking around Rome.

The bathroom was spacious with a lot of counter space, and the tub had jets, which I used each night because I ended up with a pretty crazy sunburn/heat rash from walking around on our first day there. I will say the tub was on the smaller side, and one of the jets kept popping out, but it was nice to soak in. The rain shower was excellent, with great water pressure.

The breakfast was very good, my husband especially enjoyed it for the fresh meats and cheeses, and they had all the standard stuff - pastry, cereal, hard boiled eggs, different stylers of coffee readily offered and replenished, etc. I didn't think the fruit was that great, but coming off of the amazing fruit in Positano, I think we were spoiled. The rooftop upstairs is very nice, we went up on our last night to get our welcome drinks, and ended up staying for dinner, which was very tasty. We especially liked the local cheese plate we got as an antipasti with the honey.

One negative thing we noticed was how incredibly loud it was every night, which made it hard to sleep. We were on the 3rd floor, but it was almost as if the windows weren't shut, even though they were. I'm not sure if that's because we were facing the street below, and if other rooms in the hotel are quieter?

Overall, we had a nice stay here, but ultimately would probably not return to Rome in the future since we enjoyed some of the other locations during our honeymoon much more, specifically Florence and Positano. If we did for some reason return to Rome, we would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband booked this hotel - and Rome - as a surprise trip for my birthday and our anniversary! He booked it via Imp Travel in Lincoln, and from start to finish it was superb, we travelled with Ryanair, whom we hadnt travelled with previously and basically 'it does what it says on the tin' - no complaints, set off on time and arrived on time, and it was easy to get through the airport. We bought tickets onboard for Bus Shuttle, in hindsight, maybe we wouldnt do that again as buses didnt arrive on time, and we ended up setting off into Rome 2 hours after we arrived! The buses are all the same prices, and Terravision seemed to have a lot of buses running.

The weather was perfect for our stay, apart from a little rain on the first evening. The hotel was very welcoming and was perfect for our needs, we received a voucher for a free glass of prosecco on arrival in the Roof Top Bar and Restaurant ( well worth going to!) There were little freebies all the way during our stay, which were a lovely surprise, and very thoughtful! Our Anniversary was even acknowledged, which was so appreciated! The Mini Bar is FREE comprising of water, juices and beers ...and even glasses too..cooled in the fridge! There are peanuts, and little snacks provided in the room, and the 'turn down' on our first night ...and the little chocolate on our first and last night, was a nice touch. The hotel provides free beverages in the lobby area, and it was nice to relax there.

If you are visiting Rome for the first time, make sure you have good feet and shoes, and a head for crowds!! Be prepared to stand in crowds on the buses, it wasnt a problem to us. We think it was busier than normal due to the arrival of the new pope. It was great that we saw the Pope when we visited St Peters Square on our anniversary, a highlight of our trip. It was very busy, but delightful to see, we managed to find a shaded area, and had plenty of water with us! We visited the Basillica later on in the week, be prepared to queue for about an hour, but its worth it, and dont buy the tickets to jump the queue, its a rip off, as it is FREE to get into the Basillica. We also enjoyed Vatican Museum and to see the Sistine Chapel was very memorable, it costs 16 euros each to go into and you need at least 2 hours, we heard that people going in the morning queued for 2 hours, we didnt and arrived about 2pm and got straight in.

We loved Trevi fountain, The Pantheon and Spanish Steps! We ate well and can recommend the Carbonara, and the Italian Icecreams - absolutely delicious!! Close by the hotel is St Paul in the Walls church and we saw a wonderful Four Seasons concert there, worth going to concerts there but perhaps purchase your tickets on the door, as the ticket sellers want to charge tax. Watch out for the taxes and service charges!!

The only bug bear and something we werent aware of is that you have to pay 3 euro's per person per night for your accommodation extra, this is charged when you leave the hotel, apparently it is a government tax and it hadnt been pointed out at the travel agent.

All in all, a wonderful experience in beautiful romantic Rome!!

Room Tip: We were Room 521 which was at the side of the hotel, and although we didnt have a view as such, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Artemide. It was in a good location.easily walkable to lots of sights and restaurants.We stayed in a deluxe room which was a good size and nicely furnished. All staff were warm and friendly, and the roof-top terrace bar was beautiful with views over the City.

The mini-bar was included and kept well-stocked, we received a bottle of Chianti to celebrate my husband's birthday which was nice and the breakfast was excellent quailty - and great cappucinos!

We would definitely return,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nothing really to complain about for my five day stay at the Artemide. Staff very efficient and reasonably friendly. Very well located and clean. Small room with no view, but quiet. Just to clarify previous reviews, the mini-bar and in room Wi-Fi are not free, but are included in the room price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

We’re happy that you couldn’t find anything to complain about while staying with us. However, our goal as a hotel is to rise beyond the average. It is very easy to be a hotel which service, staff and facilities are nothing “to complain about”. But we have set the bar high throughout the years and our guests expect from us more than just a decent place to stay.
Our guests arrive at the Artemide with big expectations, mainly because of what they read on Trip Advisor, from our presence in the social media or from word-of-mouth. They expect to find friendly and skilful personnel, who delivers an outstanding service in a warm and welcoming way, in a hotel that is centrally located and which facilities allow for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. We are proud to say that, as a team, we work really hard to accomplish exactly that and the vast majority of our guests use adjectives such as “fantastic”, “great place”, “welcoming” to describe us.
Obviously, we always try to add to our guests’ stay by giving them little extras that are sometimes unexpected, like the little chocolates the housekeeper leaves by the pillow every evening with the good night wishes or the courtesy welcome drink on arrival for every single guest, not to mention the free mini-bar, daily restocked, the free Wi-Fi access or the free gym and sauna. One might argue that nothing is free and is all included in the price, but as many other hotels we could simply choose not to give our guests any of these perks. But how would we be different from the rest and set ourselves apart from the other hotels, if we didn’t show our guests that we care for them?
Regarding your room, we couldn’t find out which room type you’ve chosen, but we want to clarify once more that the room sizes are well illustrated on our website and all websites we work with, therefore prospective guests can find the actual square meters for each room type and choose accordingly. We can also take from your words that you were assigned a room at the back of the hotel, which faces the internal courtyard. Many guests prefer staying in this more quiet setting than in a room facing bustling Via Nazionale. However, and availability permitting, we could always have tried to offer you a room swap, for a room with a more agreeable view.

We want to thank you again for sharing your opinions with the Trip Advisor community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were so pleased we chose to stay at the Artemide Hotel. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and we really appreciated the friendliness of the staff, the quality of the service and the comfort provided. Lovely well equipped room, huge bed, fantastic bathroom, free mini bar ( beer, fizzy drinks and juice stocked up daily ) tea and coffee, biscuits and nibbles plus free internet access WI-FI and ethernet connection available. We received a nice bottle of wine from the manager and also little treats left by the bedside ( lint chocolate ) on a couple of mornings. Immaculately clean, good room service. Superb breakfast buffet with fantastic selection of food including fruit, cereals, meat, cheese, eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, jams, pastries etc etc. All waiting staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. Very nice roof top restaurant and bar serving excellent food. Lovely lounge area with newspapers, TV and complimentary tea and coffee. We just could not fault the hotel. On top of all of this it's a great location within a ten minute walk of the Termini station and easy walking distance of most of the main sites. We walked to most places, even the Vatican. The Via Nazionale is a main shopping street so good shops on the door step. There is a pharmacy opposite if required and bus stops within two minutes of the front door in either direction ( it's 1.5 euros a ticket which lasts for 100 minutes and you can go as far as you want and get on and off as many times as you want. Buy tickets from the newsagent just round the corner ). We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing