We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“five start hotel at four star prices”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed in a superior room on the (American) second floor on the Via Nazionale for six nights over Easter. The room was large, comfortable and tastefully decorated with a luxurious bathroom. The minibar was stocked daily at no charge, the breakfasts were sumptuous, and the staff -- from the doormen to the desk clerks to the bartenders to the restaurant servers to the managers -- were friendly, cheerful, and knowledgeable. Service at all levels was impeccable. The hotel is located in the middle of the action, and is a pleasant walk to many of the "must see" attractions. This place is a gem!

Room Tip: I enjoyed my superior room on the second level on the Via Nazionale side, which was surprisingly qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimFromNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,637 - 3,643 of 6,851 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the Artemide for four nights over the Palm Sunday weekend. The outstanding thing about this hotel is the staff and the quality of service.

The location is excellent with many of the major sight-seeing highlights within walking distance. It is also but a few minutes walk away from the Repubblica Metro Station. I got the train from the airport to Termini and the hotel would be easily walkable from there for most travellers even carrying luggage (circa 10 minutes.)

The breakfast buffet was fairly typical continental fare with a few nods to a more English style for those that like such things.

My room was fairly standard for central Europe i.e. a bit on the small side but perfectly adequate. A nice touch is the complimentary mini-bar which had soft drinks, water and a couple of beers with biscuits and nuts to snack on; all replenished daily. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a safe.

Although the Hotel is on a main thoroughfare, I am not sure that there are any guest rooms looking out on to the Via Nazionale, if there are I suspect noise might be a problem as this is a very busy central main road. My room was at the back looking out onto an inner courtyard, so noise for the most part was not an issue.

The free wi-fi was always available and was high-speed.

The roof-top bar is a nice feature and I had lunch there on a couple of days and would thoroughly recommend it, for quality and quantity of food, although this would be extra to standard room tariffs.

My stay was not problem free. My electronic key failed twice but this was speedily rectified by the hotel staff. I also had a minor leak from the sink in the bathroom. This I reported on leaving the hotel one morning and this was fixed without fuss by the time I returned later in the day.

The one problem the Artemide might struggle with is temperature control. On entering my room, I was informed by the porter that the room had heating but no cooling. The air conditioning went no lower than 20 Celsius. I am more than happy to have open windows during the day and this regulated the temperature fine. However, on closing the windows at night the room got quite stuffy. Although March the temperature in Rome was touching 20 in the days and did not dip bellow 5 at night. On more than one night my sleep was disturbed by being too hot. If you stay at the hotel in Spring, Summer or Autumn I would guess that you would have to the windows open all of the time to get a satisfactory temperature. This is the only aspect of stay at the Artemide that I would mark down.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel, in a great location with Excellent staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank therealeastsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was one of the best hotels we stayed at during our honeymoon. The staff were fantastic, the room was lovely, bed comfortable, nice amentities.. the breakfast choices - yum!!
The location wasnt too bad... short walk up to ancient rome ruins.
Nothing really to fault about the place! Will return one day.

Room Tip: It looks like its close to Termini on the map, but its a bit of a hike, especially if you are luggin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mishface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is central and walking distance to most of the main sites of interest as well as the public transport facilities be that train, bus or underground. The staff were all fantastic and helpful, including at the front desk, cleaners (always cheerful in the morning) and restaurant staff (breakfast and evening meals). The only criticisms were a rock hard mattress, which was mitigated when a topper was provided by the staff. The evening meals were okay but not out of this world good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were in Rome just before Christmas and spent 4 days in this lovely city. The Hotel staff were extremely polite, friendly, and helpful. The standard of the Hotel is excellent, with everything very clean and tidy. The restaurant for breakfast had lots of choices, and the free mini bar in the room was a nice surprise. The location of the hotel is perfect. Within walking distance to the train/bus station, and to all the attractions this city has to offer including lots of restaurants and bars close by. We will definitely return to Rome, still so much to see and we would recommend Hotel Artemide to any traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Front desk people very friendly and always helped all indications that I requested. The room was very comfortable and no noise, very clean and very comfortable bathroom, free internet
the breakfast was very good, complete, This is a gem, central location, one block to the metro.
I'm very happy with my choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank westontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great location, friendly staff and affordable. We went to Rome for my husband's birthday and it was great! This hotel is very central and has a very good staff and service. Rosa is the best! The restaurant upstairs is very good too. The rooms are a bit small, but very very clean! Lovely and powerful shower and firm mattress! The only downside would be that the air conditioning was set up with a default temperature and despite it was March, it was pretty warm in the evening. We contacted the reception and they adivised us to open the window, which I thought would be a trouble with the possible noisy from the street, but it wasn't. Our room was very quiet. The free mini bar was a plus. The breakfast is good, but it is just worth it if you are used to have breakfast like I am ...for my hubby it wasn't a good deal, as he just has a cup of tea and a couple of toast for breakfast.
As it was my husband's birthday they kindly sent us a bottle of proseco!

Great hotel, perfect location and amazing service!

Well done, Artemide team!

Grazie!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elis_Manuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,268 in Rome
4,272 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,268 in Rome
1,372 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,268 in Rome
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,268 in Rome
3,621 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,268 in Rome
744 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,268 in Rome
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $189 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing