We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was ok..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel American Palace EUR
Ranked #1,036 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms were nice but very small. Location is a bit far away from Rome's attractions but we didn't have a problem as we had a car. The outdoor garden was very beautiful. Staff were ok. The worst experience in this hotel was the breakfast!! The hotel was more of 3 stars than a 4 stars. But was a great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anjad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Considering the price we paid ( 33 eur / double room (2 persons) / night, breakfast included ), it`s a very good choice.

The metro it`s 5 minutes walking and it takes you to Colosseo station in 20 minutes.
The breakfast is fine, the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean.

The rooms are very small and NOT soundproof at all :(
The WiFi works but it`s poor...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tr4vel_Agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel American Palace EUR, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Tr4vel_Agent
First of all I would like to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.
I regret to be informed that your stay did not come up to your expectations.
As we really want our guests to feel at home and to be able to move around independently, we normally provide at check in full information about how to get to the historical centre using public transportation . As you can imagine the internet service is provided by an external company and if their lines have a fault for us it is practically impossible to find alternatives. We are aware of the fact that internet is important to our guests, that is why we offer it with no extra charges. When there is a fault on the internet lines we get in contact with our provider requiring a quick resolution.
Our goal is to be able to offer the best quality of efficiency in our service, so that our guests could enjoy very pleasant stay with us. This is the reason why we hope to have the chance to have you back in our hotels and come up to your expectations.
Kind regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is a 4 star hotel for trimming and courtesy while a 2 star hotel for rooms and services. Rooms are small, bare but clean enough. Windows and furniture are at least 25 years old. The
bathroom has basic elements, nothing peculiar. Lifts are old style, very small.
This hotel offers a very good value for money but it is not as it looks on the web-site.
Breakfast was served in an elegant dining room but it was poor too: some tin-pot brioches, orange juice and a restricted choise of cheese and salami for international clients. Parking is quite expensive too: 15.00 €/day. It is pretty close to Subway, though.
Lastly, during cleaning service in the moring, corridor stank of smoke.
Recommended for "a practical stay" connected with EUR Area only. For a pleisure stay, please look for something else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiko78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel American Palace EUR, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Mr "Reikov",

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!
We are sorry to read your disappointment and experience about some issues during your stay with us.
First: our breakfast that judging by the feedback of other guests during last weeks and glowing reviews on Tripadvisor is actually judged as rich and various .

We regret for the problems encountered with the room and the corridors. We have discussed the points you have raised with our Housekeeping and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future.

We very much hope that we can yet encourage you to stay with us again so we can put your above concerns to rest.
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is located on the last metro station Laurentina and it is easy to get to the center. ,
The breakfast is very good with excellent choice. Close to the hotel there is a supermarket Carrefour.
Rooms are clean, the staff very friendly, nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmirCaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel American Palace EUR, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Mr "Amircaus",
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your lovely feedback following your recent stay.
We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our services, breakfast, quality of food and Staff.
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the American Palace Eur.
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The room was of average size for 2 people. One step up into the bathroom, handrail by bath. Clean. Towels and toiletries provided. Nice garden. Good choice of "all you can eat" breakfast: fruit, yoghurts, juice, tea, coffee etc. Croissants, cakes, biscuits, cheese, ham, tomatoes. Scrambled eggs, toast. Friendly multi-lingual staff. Metro 5 mins walk. Nearby free parking. Free WIFI for 24 hours. TV in room with English BBC news. Nice restaurant reasonably priced. Approx 9 Euro for pasta. 9 Euro for half litre of Chianti/Valpolicella. Approx 40 mins from Fiumicino Airport (if you don't get lost!). I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Some road noise. Double bed has 2 mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jr27Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel American Palace EUR, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the American Palace Hotel .We greatly appreciate you dedicating the time to share your experience with us.
We do always our best to offer a good stay to you all and all our staff is completely orientated to our guests' satisfaction.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in Roma in the next future.
Best Regards
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not bad at all, but I was expecting little bit more quality.
The hotel is is too far from centrum, but it's located near to the Laurentina's metro station, so it's easy to go to centrum. Last metro from centrum to Laurentina departs at 2am, so if you don't catch it, you have to pay 25€ to 30€ for the cab.
Breakfast was not at the level of 4 star hotel.
If you leave the hotel to fiumicino airport, try to ask hotel reception to arrange you a ride. It will be cheaper than a normal taxi. After all we had nice and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Techolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel American Palace EUR, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay with us.
We take all your guests' feedback very seriously and we will take all the needed actions to improve our service.Our goal is to be able to offer the best quality of efficiency in our service, so that our guests could enjoy always a pleasant stay with us.
We do hope to have the chance to have you back in our hotels and offer a much better service, close to your expectations.I remain at disposal,
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

It's a bit far out from the heart of town but it's close (7 min. walk) to the Laurentina Metro Station (Line B) and it takes about 20 minutes to get from there to Termini (Central) or Colosseo (Colleseum). So it's not too bad. If the public transport has closed, then you almost always need to use a taxi and that's 20-25 EUR from city centre to the hotel.
I paid only $35 per night including breakfast so it was good value for money and the breakfast was fine. The hotel does have adequate facilities: good wi-fi connection (free but you'll need to get a coupon everyday), housekeeping daily, good water supply (even heating), restaurant (but I don't recommend it at all), bar, lounge, terrace with seating etc.
The room I stayed in was cramped but that's what one should expect at the price of $35 per night - probably isn't the best they can offer. Considering hostels don't cost much less, this is a great deal.

Room Tip: Maybe pay a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freyr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel American Palace EUR, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback on what appears to have been not a pleasant experience. Please accept our sincere apology for the list of service failures you had during your stay. Did you hav any trouble with our restaurant for example? We take all feedback very seriously and truly regret that we didn't meet completely your expectations. We will follow up your comments assuring to prevent similar circumstances in the future and to assure all the time a superb stay towards our guests.
We had the pleasure to host you, and looking forward welcoming you again
Sincerely ,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
#487 of 1,269 in Rome
1,603 reviews
ARS Hotel
#427 of 1,269 in Rome
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Costanza
#552 of 1,269 in Rome
804 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#343 of 1,269 in Rome
857 reviews
Grand Hotel Fleming
#458 of 1,269 in Rome
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Palace EUR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Palace EUR

Address: Via Laurentina 554, 00143 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#350 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $60 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Palace EUR 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace", a 4 stars hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel American Palace EUR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rome
Rome Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing