We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Clodio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Clodio
Ranked #474 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We returned from this hotel yesterday and had a lovely stay. The hotel is clean, nicely decorated and above all the staff are very friendly and will go ou of their way to help you with any querey. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms have an opulent feel to them, big marble sinks and lovely big baths. The hotel has a roof terrace, with a bar where you an order a beer or a cup of tea which is an ideal place to relax in the breeze after a hard days sight seeing! The hotel is a 15/20 minute walk to the Vatican and is a very simple direct route. Should you wish to go further into the centre of Rome you can catch a bus in the Piazza Clodio which is a two minute walk from the hotel. The buses are very regular and the trip will take about 10 minutes depending on traffic. Bus travel is very cheap in rome and you can buy a ticket from the machines at the bus stop for 1.5 euros for 100 minutes of travel!. Whatever you do DO NOT GET A TAXI to the centre, they are expensive and you will pay at least 15 euros a go. Bus travel is definately the way to go around the city as taxis will add a charge for any bag that you put in the boot and may arrive at the hotel with up to 6 euros already in the meter as this is how it works in Rome. To conclude, the hotel is slighlty out of the city but well worth the price as you would pay triple for this kind of hotel in the centre. Top Tips For Rome:1) Dont eat anywhere near the Vatican walls unless you like paying 60 euros for lunch. 2) Book tickets in advance to goaround the Vatican grdens, they look stunning and we were told it needed to be booked in advance (gutted!!) an also for the dungeons of the Colesseum. 3) dont be tempted to buy you ticket from the Colesseum from anyone outside the Colesseum. They will offer you a ticket and a tour, its a rip off, the tickets are only 12 euros (this will get you into the Colesseum, the Forum and the Palatino) You are best buying your ticket from the Palatino ad then walking down the road to the Colosseum so you dont have to queue. Tours inside only cost 5 euro and are well worth it. 4) The queues for most sights die down around about 1-2pm so aim for this time, especially for St Peters Basilica or you will que for hours in the hot sun!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah_B835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Clodio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 409 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Having just come back from Hotel Clodio I just cannot understand the comments of some reviewers! The staff at the hotel made us so welcome on arrival and continued with friendly and helpful service throughout our stay. We stayed in one of the superior rooms which was beautifully furnished and had a gorgeous terrace with sofa and table/chairs. Well worth the extra Euros as relaxing there after a day sightseeing was wonderful.

Although Hotel Clodio is a few km out of town there are lots of very good restaurants within walking distance. We particularly liked Tesone Giafelice, Via Dardanelli 5. Very friendly and great food at very reasonable price. We actually found the location - about 2 km out of the city - to be a bonus as buses were frequent and metro not too far away.

We will definitely go back to this great hotel next time we are in Rome,

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with a terrace.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindamoyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Staff were excellent, especially Carmine who spoke excellent English and waas very helpful indeed. Breakfast was good too, eggs and smoked salmon available every morning. Location is not too bad, about 5 mins to bus station and buses were quite frequent but it's quite a way from the main sights so expect alot of time on the buses.
The Hotel services lack distinction however. Our shower drain was partially blocked and filled with water while showering, they tried to fix it but didnt succeed. We had the most expensive suite with a hot tub on the balcony - totally not worth the extra. It was cool when we arrived, cold the next day and was only usable on the final day. They blamed us for pressing the wrong buttons yet there were no instructions and it still took them 2 days to get it going again. Hardly good service for top paying clients.
We ordered a bottle of chilled sparkling white on arrival and got a warm red. It took an hour to get it replaced.
The management were shodily absent and only offered 10 euros a day reduction - that's off the 300 euros a day cost!! Poor value for money.
And why do these hotels advertiuse their big 40" flat screen TV's that only have 9 rubbish channels, the only one in English being CNN News. You can only take so much flood news!!
So overall if you are wanting a quality break this isn't it. They want your money but don't give the goods.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the suite - it's NOT worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I will not council to anybody to go to this hotel... It's far from everything (25-30 min from the center by bus). And you will have to wait 30 min to have the good bus... Moreover the staff especially the staff during the night is not sympathetic at all. This hotel should be rated 2 stars max...

Room Tip: Even if you ask for a better room they will say that the hotel is full, and that's a complete li...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank obigsabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

fantastic stay at the hotel clodio a very warm and friendly hotel the staff were excellent, especially Carmine who give us some great tips. a good choice was on offer for breakfast lots of pastries and if you asked the waitress they would bring you a capachino ,I would recommend this hotel for anyone who likes to walk as it is a 20minutes from the vatican walls .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Good distance from the center, near to public transportation and walkable distance to center, even with baby buggy.. Personnel outstanding, definitions of cleanliness vary depending on who is on duty. I would definitely stay here again, we have the suite though, which is pretty newly remodeled.. Don't know about the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericlaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I was staying at the Hotel Clodio for a long weekend and after asking for a nice room at the reception, i was assigned to what i was told being a newly furnished room. The room was very spacious, and with some nice amenities like Nespresso coffee etc. The bathroom was very nice as well as the terrace. I was travelling with my partner and we enjoyed every moment of our stay. The breakfast was also totally satisfactory

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Delle Vittorie
#305 of 1,267 in Rome
700 reviews
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#206 of 1,267 in Rome
692 reviews
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#235 of 1,267 in Rome
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Maria Regina
#610 of 1,267 in Rome
336 reviews
Flaminio
Residence Sacconi
Residence Sacconi
#811 of 1,267 in Rome
62 reviews
Park Hotel dei Massimi
#375 of 1,267 in Rome
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clodio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clodio

Address: Via di Santa Lucia 10, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#247 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $90 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Clodio 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Clodio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clodio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing