We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd recommend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Papaya Female Hostel
Ranked #233 of 1,131 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the Papaya hostel for a week and found it to be clean, safe and comfortable.
It was a great way to meet other travellers, chill after a hard days sightseeing and it has everything you need to make the holiday a great one.
Staff at the Il Papavero who administer the hostel were fantastic and nothing was a problem for them, lovely people!
It has 4 rooms , 4 people in each and 3 shower/toilets so there's never a scramble for the shower.
2 desktop computers and also free wi fi ,s o nobody gets cut off from friends or relatives.
I would happily go back as it's so central for all the transport and sights.

Room Tip: The room 4 to the back will be quieter as it looks on to the communal yard
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HubbleBubbleTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Papaya Female Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Initially a bit difficult to find on Via Castelfidardo. You check in at the hotel across the road. However I couldn't recommend this place enough. The bathroom was clean and modern, the hostel was very competitively priced (free wi-fi and lockers) and it was a 10-15 min walk from the train station where you can get the train or bus to/from the airport. The walk into the city centre is very straightforward, and there's a large supermarket nearby for you to buy food to prepare in the shared kitchen area. Also plenty of reasonably priced restaurants to eat in the area, which itself feels very safe. Definitely staying here when I return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMitford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've stayed at one other hostel in Rome (which was very nice as well), but I have heard some true horror stories. Do not worry about that at Papaya! I stayed there for four days on my first ever international trip-alone. The rooms were clean. It wasn't hot outside so I can't account for air conditioning, but the place was super comfortable. The bathrooms and hostel were well kept. If I remember correctly, internet was free! Also they gave out little "coupons" for breakfast at a place on the corner-it was a small breakfast consisting of orange juice/coffee and a pastry, but it was enough to start the day. Nice quiet street with easy access to the tourist sights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy2211_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Place was clean, 2 sets of bunkbeds and nice locker in room to keep your belongings safe. 3 bathrooms with showers for the whole place, kitchen area, free wi-fi and had 2 desktop comps for use. Only downside no staff at site and you check in at the hotel accross the street. Only 10-15min walk from main train station. Safe at night I did a lot of walking around at night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breanna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Good wi-fi, clean bus basic rooms with big lockers. In a safe area close to Termini and a Conad City supermarket. There is no air-conditioning and you have to make do with one fan per room. The room was noisy when the windows were open making it hard to sleep. The kitchen was good but could have been cleaner and have bigger fridges, more room, more cutlery etc. Having the two computers was excellent as some things are easier done by computer than phone. The bathrooms would have been nicer if the shower drained properly and people removed their hair. You have to go across the road to check-in after a certain time but the staff were so lovely and helpful that it wasn't a problem. There are many good things about the hostel and most of the problems were nitpicky things like the aforementioned hair in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as they only look over a courtyard and are quieter
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genevrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a decent hostel in a really good location. Walking distance from the city center! Really safe at night and 10 minute walk from the termini! The hostel itself was really really clean. Pretty basic, but you get what you're paying for! Nice bathrooms and big lockers! The wifi works perfectly and there is two computers! If you're traveling on a budget - this hostel has a kitchen! So you can go to the supermarket down the street and cook your own meal! The staff is okay, they do what's expected of them and not anything more! The atmosphere is a bit boring if you're young and looking to have a good time! But if you just want a good place to come back to after a long day of sight seeing this will be perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank li53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hostel is a short walk from Termini station (about 15 minutes) and although the area looks a bit sketchy, the hostel itself was clean, neat and bright. We had to check in at the hotel across the street where the staff gave us a map as well as gave us some helpful advice on what to see and do (it was our first time in Rome) and also gave us advice on navigating the transit system and how to get to where we wanted to go. It was a bit of a walk to get anywhere in Rome from the hostel, but it was such a great price that we didn't mind, and there were plenty of metro and bus stops nearby (unfortunately we had to walk since there was a transit strike).

The rooms were very clean and nice, as was the rest of the hostel. I read some other reviews mentioning issues like bedbugs and cracked, moldy showers, but they seem to have renovated or something since then as all of the bathrooms were in great condition and there were no issues with the bedding.

The kitchen/common area was nice with a toaster and microwave to use, as well as a couple of computers with internet access if you don't have your own.

Altogether I had no complaints about my stay at Papaya hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#365 of 1,267 in Rome
421 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,225 of 3,711 in Rome
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,802 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#443 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papaya Female Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papaya Female Hostel

Address: Via Castelfidardo 31, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 1,131 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing