We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, but hard to find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Osteria di Monteverde

L'Osteria di Monteverde
Ranked #634 of 12,043 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Monteverde
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful, but hard to find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Food was absolutely stunning, fantastic and appreciable on every level. I had a rabbit dish, while my girlfriend had a vegetarian which she loved.
Recommended by a friend at FAO, was the best part of our short trip to Rome! And one more reason to come back.
Thank you!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephencgannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    262
    74
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, very different from the usual tourist fare.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had the degustazione tonight and it wa superb. Great food, nice friendly service. For two people including the 17 Euro wine, it was 89 Euro, well worth it.

Would definitely recommend to anyone.

I wanted to give 5 stars, but my partner thought the octopus was a bit mushy, I thought everything was spot on

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of our best in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a lovely dinner at Monteverde. The dishes were excellent, different from the typical tourist menu, and the service attentive. The location is out of the traditional tourist area and has a much different sensibility than a restaurant that only serves tourists. The menu is not large but the dishes are creative and well executed. Tram 8 is within easy walking distance and this osteria is well worth the trip. Reservations are highly recommended as it was packed mid-week.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“if you really want to taste italian magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

You will read a lot of "best place in Rome" etc etc.. Well my father's a chief in France and i know what Im talking about when it comes to food. the Osteria di Monteverde is one of the best restaurant i went to in my life, and I live in Paris, going to the restaurant almost every week end. Here its just good. Sophisticated and tasty. and not too small in your plate. The waiters are very nice and you will find a typicall roman atmosphere since its not in a touristic area. prices are more than correct, you could say its super cheap compare to what you get in your mouth.. Tasting menu is only 36 euros. and it comes with everything coffee included..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice food - friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Within walking distance from Tram 8 line which is a real plus if you don't want to take the car.
I loved the mussels and clams sauté served with cicoria.
Amatriciana and the aubergine ravioli where excellent.
Although well presented, the zucchini parmigina (Parmigiana di Zucchina Romanesca e Pecorino Tartufato) was a bit bland for my taste and the portion rather small. Next time I will try the other dishes on the menu...just looking at them made my mouth water.
The menu has some traditional Roman dishes (mainly pasta) all others are a modern twist on classic Italian ingredients.
Will definitely visit again next time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doralexploratrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria di Monteverde also viewed

 

Been to L'Osteria di Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing