We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When In Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of My Rome Food Tour

My Rome Food Tour
Ranked #65 of 213 Food & Drink in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For real food lovers who want to get to know the real food of Rome - the products, the history, the traditions - and taste some of the best the Eternal City has to offer.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“When In Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

... eat in the little know neighborhoods, learn about the foods and have fun! My friends and I had a great start to our 2 week Italian vacation with this awesome tour. Hande woke us up with strong coffee (best cappuccino we ever had) and her nice ways - she definitely knows how to adapt herself to her guests. We had chocolate, brioche, some very roman sweets, different salami, hams, pizza with potatos (awesome), pizza rossa, porchetta, cheese, wine, more sweets, gelato... were about to explode by the end of the tour. The more you ask and show interest, the more she will know how to interact with you - we thought she did a great job of entertaining all of us. Definitely do this, as quickly as possible once you are in Rome. Booking very easy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food, Fun, Culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

What is not to like? Our family of 4 (mom, dad, 14, 18) chose this tour to be the single best thing we did on this tour. There was some sight seeing for the mom, there was a lot of food for the dad and the teens, and the funny stories told by the guide (lovely woman) were just right for the teens. They even got to taste wine in the end (this alone made it the best thing ever for them).Great tour that goes just the direction you want it to - we had so many options for gelato, chocolate, cheese, salami and other mety things. Don't miss.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank familydad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Awesome people of this tour made my last day in Rome perfect. A last minute inquiry was handled quickly and I could snatch a place. Loved the guide, loved the market and shops we visited, all the food we had (we even got to taste stuff other people have not heard of - tripe!), the explanations, tidbits. The guide gave us just the right amount of info on everything we wanted, didn't bore us, but was open to all questions. Interaction was great, as we were only a group of 6. Lovely and very recommended!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank swalexander81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

A great food tour, that mixes also a bit of history, a lot of culture and anecdotes. We ate very well, a lot of thing we had never heard of, and were entertained a lot. Don't expect a fixed show, though - this tour lives off of the interaction with the guests (we were only 6, so communication was very easy and important!) and changes according to your wishes, questions, interests. Very lively. Other guests very nice, too. Big recommendation!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jodi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Disclaimer: we did a special private tour, not one of the regular tours offered by this company, so our review is only about what we experienced. We understand the ergular tour offers lots of tastes but not a sit-down lunch, we had a lunch included. Hande managed to give us a ton of information about Rome, the food, the wine although it is August and many places are closed. She still had some gems she introduced us to (we are not first timers to Rome) that we enjoyed a lot. We went slow with the tastings as we knew we would be having a big lunch later, but if we hadn't controlled ourselves there still would have been a lot of food. She has kindly asked us to keep the lunch place a secret, let it be just said that we had an experience we had been looking for for years now: Authentic Roman cooking, without chi-chi but not dumbed down either. And the wines she chose for us were great, too. The lunch price was not included in the tour price we had agreed upon (we knew this) but it was very reasonable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank amandathunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to My Rome Food Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing