We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Bartolomeo - CLOSED

Ristorante Pizzeria Bartolomeo
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hamburg
Level Contributor
1 review
“Greatly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in Rome in September 2012 and tried some other restaurants first, before we accidently bumped over Bartolomeo while searching for a new place.

The experience here was great, friendly owner and waitresses, great italian food for a fair price.
We only speak single italian words but the menu was also in english and the staff spoke english, too. Aparently they speak also russian.

The items on the menu were delicious, we enjoyed it very much.
Actually we enjoyed it that much, that we came back every night during the rest of our stay in Rome, 5 times in a row.

The food was fantastic, which of I'm sure as be had 10 different meals from the menu over the time. The dessert is excellent, too. I recommend Panacotta with chocolate!

The owner is great fun, also the waitresses are very nice.
The place itself is cosy, we felt very comfortable.

Also, only a few tourists where eating at Bartolomeos, mainly we saw local people.

In other restaurants we spend about 50 euros for a two person dinner, at Bartolomeo it was between 30 and 40 euros including wine and dessert along with espresso.

I would always recommend this restaurant and we visit it for sure, if I'm going back to Rome the next time!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tobbela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    10
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tourist ripped off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Two major problems.
1. I plainly and clearly ordered lasagna which the waiter repeated. I was brought spaghetti and he refused to admit fault and said that's what I ordered. It was late at night and they probably just had some left over.
2. Ordered a 15 euro bottle of wine. Owner brought out bottle put it on table then had another bottle which was an off the menu special for 30 euro. I said I didn't want it and wanted the one on my table. When I got the bill I was charged 20 euro for the wine. When I complained he said that the one he put on my table was a 20 euro wine and I said I wanted it.
He admitted to putting a different bottle on my table but because I drank it I was charged. Clearly I was scammed.
BE CAREFUL.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmh6053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteBartolomeo, Proprietario at Ristorante Pizzeria Bartolomeo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Google Translation
Mi dispiace per quello che ha scritto, ricordo benissimo che lei e la sua compagna quella sera non eravate in armonia tra voi per problemi che non voglio nemmeno conoscere. Ricordo che lei non parla italiano e ha indicato sul menù la voce lasagna che è ben lontana da quella che indica spaghetti al pomodoro quindi non può esservi errore ma bastava dirlo e avremmo rifatto il piatto come spesso succede con altri turisti coscienti del problema "LINGUA". Riguardo al vino ho voluto proporre personalmente altre due alternative che sposavano bene con il cibo in questione (è il mio lavoro) e proprio lei ha dichiarato di evere scelto quello da € 20 e non da 15 o da 30...lo ha bevuto volentieri tutto quindi non capisco perchè non doveva pagarlo. Lei ha bevuto e io mi son fatto pagare, non vedo dove io possa averla derubata.
So anche che ha avuto problemi con l'albergo che è uno dei migliori della zona.
Possibile che sia capitato tutto a lei?
Distinti saluti Adriano Bartolomeo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great falls, va
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, Good food, much fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Enjoyed an early by Rome standards 7pm Saturday night dinner here. Had 2 adults and 4 children age 10-16. We were the only ones in the place as this was the opening bell for the night. We got an air conditioned table inside and started the feast. Draft beer was extremely cold and superb on a 95 degree day. We had pizza and calzones for the kids. Adults had homemade pasta, particularly the one with black truffle sauce was excellent. The older waiter spoke very little English, I spoke very little Italian, and we had an extremely joyous time communicating. He was very kind hearted to the group. Locals started arriving about 8. 10 minute walk back to the Hilton Garden Inn. This was just what we were hoping for after an extremely hot day visiting the Colosseum.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seasonal-jamaican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

This restaurant was really close to our B&B, so we went there one night for supper - fairly early for Rome, so there were only a couple of other tables occupied at the time. We were well served and we enjoyed a great plate of assorted appetizers and a delicious risotto with asparagus and walnuts. Went for a nice walk after supper in nearby Villa Ada. A very relaxing evening. I would go back in a minute.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjm1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In exile from, Macedonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming owner and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I loved this restaurant, which epitomized for me an excellent Italian lunch. Fixed menu at 10 euros, included main plate, water, dessert and coffee. I added a green salad for an extra 4 euros, but when I didn't have the change, I paid what I could. Hospitality, charm and excellent dining!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yogahoneybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing