We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value weekend break in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Piccadilly
Ranked #197 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just had a three night weekend break in Rome. Excellent 3-star bed & breakfast hotel well situated to access all the major attractions - San Giovanni metro station 300 yards away.
Clean, comfortable rooms and very satisfying buffet breakfast where you can enjoy views of the Rome skyline while eating.
Friendly and helpful concierge.
Selection of good restaurants and coffee bars all within walking distance.
This was our second visit and we'll go again!

Room Tip: Rooms over Via Magna Grecia can experience traffic noise but it's fun to watch all the locals bu...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michael_staddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Piccadilly
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 724 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Pick this hotel. It's near the Colleseum, the 'original' Vatican, shopping and dining. Comfy, clean, comparable breakfast and helpful staff.
We had a nice room on the breakfast room floor (handy in the am as the elevator is VERY tiny and at breakfast time there could be a wait). Spacious and clean, nice views all the way to the Vatican (OK, maybe that was my husband's wishful thinking).
Five minute walk to original city wall of Roma - it's over 3,000 years old and buses and taxis and trucks just drive right through it as a matter of routine. On the other side, the site of the original Vatican, San Giovanni, where you can see the beautiful frescos and statues without the pressing crowds of Vatican City.
A quick metro ride to a stop three blocks from the Vatican... and you can even get the metro tickets at the front desk, better than trying to figure out the machines in the station.
Hint: the ONLY incident of pickpocketing we had was at the train station right near our hotel... we had loads of luggage and were trying to catch and early morning train to the main station for a trip to Venice... reminder to always watch your wallet - front pocket only. We made our train on time, with all our money and ID, but it was a nasty incident.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We just stayed (Oct2013) at this Hotel with our family (three rooms). The Rooms were basic but very clean. We had Comfort rooms which had very nice bathrooms, beds were very good.
Breakfast was the usual continental and good. The lift was a bit small and we did get stuck a few times in the morning when everyone was leaving or breakfasting. Staff were very friendly and helpfull. If traffic would keep you awake then ask for a rear room as it never stops. (Romans love to honk their horns!)
The location is just outside the center of Rome. We walked to the forum in around 25mins. The metro is just up the road (5mins) and the main line can take you to the Vatican or the historical center in around 10mins for e1.50. A taxi to the center cost between e10and e15 depending on time of day. We had all our evening meals in the area and had two great nights at ristorante roberto and loretta which around 5 mins walk.
We had a great time in Rome, but would advise booking the Vatican Museum before you travel. We did and it worked a charm. Also don't Queue for tickets for the coliseum, walk down past the Arch of Titus to the Palantine gate (150yds) no queue and the tickets cover the coliseum.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiter
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indicium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here 4 night while sight seeing in Rome. The room was clean and a decent size with a comfortable bed , a LCD TV, free WiFi and a lovely bathroom. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms were cleaned daily. Buffet breakfast is also included, with lots of good selections on offer and the breakfast room is up on the top floor so you have a pretty good view of Rome, you can even see the Vatican.

Across the road there is a supermarket, the metro and a department store is a 10 minute walk. There are also a few cafes and restaurants around there too.

I was only expecting it to be an average experience considering it was a lot cheaper than most of the hotels around the area, but it exceeded my expectations.

I would stay here again when in Rome, and would recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SammySyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a long weekend break - hotel staff very helpful room quite basic no bath just shower but as we were out all the days ideal for sleeping . Was cleaned daily and fresh towels . Lovely breakfast . The only downside of the area was not many restaurants to eat ..
Found metro very easy to use .

Room Tip: Ask for room at back very noisy at front
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catherine707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked the hotel for a 5 night stay in Rome. We did break our stay due to travels to Florence and Venice and checked in and out of the hotel. The rooms during both the stays were perfect. Don't go by the exterior of the building, as the interiors are quite nice. The rooms had everything that you need. Lovely modern decor, good aircon, a small balcony, working desk, wifi and a lovely bathroom. Very impressive. The pricing of the hotel is pretty competitive. We booked online via a travel portal and got a great deal. The front desk staff are accomodating and helpful. The hotel itself is conveniently located close to the San Giovanni metro station and also right across the local bus stand. The number 87 bus stops right across and takes one to the Colosseum and Piazza Venezia. Very convenient. The metro station is perfect to connect to Roma termini to go to the airport on the fast train or else to take the Marozzi bus or the Trenitalia....There is also a small Coin mall next door where you can everything that you need. There was a coffee machine at the lobby and we did have our cups of coffee on our way in or out. Quite a nice touch. There is also a complimentary internet kiosk at the front desk. Quite thoughtful. The only drawback was the breakfast room. It had great views of the city but that was it. The breakfast was quite average and the coffee was very tepid. Not an issue as breakfast is not a proper meal in Italy anyways. However the coffee not being good was quite a downer...not in Rome!

I would recommend this hotel to everyone who is visiting Rome and is not looking for anything extravagant. Its a lovely hotel, well located and has decent staff. What more do you want!

We will be back.

Shanker & Tushna

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms and the ones that have a small balcony...quite cute
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siddharth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Quite nice hotel,not in heart of Rome but fairly close to the metro station,and if you like to walk 10 minutes from san Giovanni 26 from colosseum and 20 from terms do caracalla it is not bad at whole,breack fast plenty of stuff and beeing on the 8th floor looking over Rome is a bit of a treat..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pozzo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#199 of 1,267 in Rome
692 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Piccadilly

Address: Via Magna Grecia 122, 00183 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Piccadilly Roma)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#273 Family Hotel in Rome
#281 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $87 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Piccadilly 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Piccadilly is located in the busting via Magna Grecia, just in the heart of Rome's business area. On a corner with Tusculum Square, in the neighborhood of the famous St. John's Lateran Basilica, the hotel is located in a main position into the Capital, not far from the Coliseum and reachable in only three metro stops from Termini railway station, which provides connections to the airport and to all the other points of interest. Hotel Piccadilly offers to its guests many services as well as rooms with high quality comforts. In every area of the hotel there is free Wi Fi access. At the BEST WESTERN Hotel Piccadilly the hospitality is just like being at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel Rome
Best Western Rome
Hotel Piccadilly Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing