We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and ambience”
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Ranked #152 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at Duca D'Alba for 2 nights at the beginning of our 2-week stay. The staff was kind enough to grant us our requested terrace. We loved relaxing on the terrace after a long day of siteseeing with a bottle of wine and fruit we had purchased from the many nearby shops. We could hear the live music from the restaurant downstairs, sometimes an accordion and sometimes acoustic guitar. The atmosphere was so relaxing. Our room was small, but beautifully decorated and equipped and amply sized for the two of us. The bathroom was small, but again modern and well equipped. Everything was immaculately clean.. Our air conditioning functioned very well. We loved the location and walked around Monti (and the surrounding areas) both day and night without hesitation. There are fantastic pizza places, coffee shops, bars, and restaurants, as well as all of the tourist sites within walking distance. If we're lucky enough to return to Rome, we'll definitely make it a point to stay at Duca again.

Room Tip: We loved being on the top floor of the hotel, but the tiny elevator might be off-putting to some.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littleitaly721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guests,
many thanks for the time you spent to write a nice review about our hotel. We are really happy and proud to know that you appreciated our staff, our services, our Property and the neighborhood as you have well described.
We hope to have you again with us, for your next stay in Rome please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will do our best to confirm you the best offer.
See your soon!
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
There are newer reviews for Duca D'Alba Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great Location, easy access to the Metro and the Roman Runes. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. The free buffet style breakfast was very good, with real scrambled eggs, cold cut meats and cheese, bread and pastries, and fruits.

Room Tip: The double standard room was very nice, quiet, and had room to move around.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
many thanks for your nice comment, yes the location is one of the main important features of our hotel, in the very heart of Rome, few meters away from the Colosseum and Roman Forums, the ideal place to start your visit to the most important city of the world after a rich and very nice breakfast, as you well described!
Thanks again for appreciating our service and staff, we are looking forward to welcome you for your next stay, a special offer is waiting for you!
Warm regards
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here twice, on the front and back ends of our trip (we had two rooms both times). When your feet and body have had it, a convenient Metro stop can't be beat and the Monti neighborhood and its restaurants a plus, and Colosseo is blocks away. Rooms were small but very nice, clean and well-equipped. I agree the AC control is not the greatest, but it worked well for us. Rooms off the street were quieter, as well as those higher up. Breakfast was a treat with the best fresh fruit we've seen in Italy, as well as terrific bacon and scrambled eggs, yogurt, etc. Coffee could have been a bit better, but the cappuccinos were good. WIFI was a bit problematic at times, but it was there and free. Also, the front desk person Tattiana, had me cancel my on-line reservation and book directly with her (better room rate) and suggested that we pay cash for the 12% discount. This saved us about $150. It was worth a dinner and I will book directly with the hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Better to be higher or off the street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyinportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Ms Nancy,
we really thank you for your nice review, our staff has been happy to know that you appreciated and have good reminds about your stay at the Duca d'Alba Hotel.
You have been here twice, so during two stays you could better realize our breakfast time, our buffet, our staff and the Property, that's why your comment has been important for me.
Two good news: one is that we have improved the Wi-fi system, it was good already, but we added new access points and now the signal is much more strong, the second is that it's still free!!!!!
Hope you will appreciate it in your next stay, please contact us directly and as a repeat guest, we will confirm you our best offer!
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This small and perfectly located hotel is just steps away from the important tourist sights in central Rome. We stayed here over a six night trip to Rome and found it's location to be ideal. There are countless amazing eateries located near the hotel along the quaint streets of this old but charming part of Rome. The rooms are small but comfortable and the bathroom perfectly appointed. Housekeeping did a great job of keeping the hotel tidy and the breakfast was fresh and generous.
However, there are a few stand out reasons that prevent this otherwise hidden gem from excelling above an average rating. With a few changes in regard to service and amenities this hotel could well become one of the best in Rome.

1. The WIFI does not work or is spotty at best. On average it worked 20% of the time.
2. The general attitude of the front desk staff vacillated from a general lack of attentiveness to utter rudeness ( this was especially true of the night clerk).
3. The rooms which are generously equipped with AC but are not supplied with a means to control the individual temperature. (When I called the front desk to make them aware of the fact that I could not seem to locate the remote for the unit, I was informed that the bellman would come up to adjust the temperature as there was only one remote for the entire hotel. The bellman did indeed arrive in a timely manner and the unit was adjusted to a satisfactory coolness and as Rome can be exceedingly hot in August this was very much appreciated. However, it wasn't long before the unit stopped working and the bellman had to be summoned again. After a lengthy conversation with the very gracious young man at the front desk I was able to obtain a remote which I proceeded to lock in the hotel safe for fear it would be returned to the front desk by the cleaning staff.) I have traveled extensively throughout Europe and have never encountered a situation where a hotel guest is prevented from adjusting the room temperature to their preference at their convenience.
4. The front desk staff seemed have a general lack of knowledge concerning the need for reservations and advance ticketing for the more visited tourist sights with the exception of the Vatican. Since August is the high season it's mandatory that one must reserve tickets in advance in order to avoid either being turned away or spending hours in the broiling sun waiting in lines that can easily snake for blocks. But when asked if we needed to reserve in advance for the Form or the Borghese gallery we were repeatedly told no only to find that once we arrived the day had been sold out or the waiting time spanned hours.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks for the comment you left about your stay, we saw that you liked very much the location (few blocks away from Colosseum and Roman Forums), the cleaness of the Property, the room and our rich breakfast.
We are a small Family 4 star Hotel that's why we are so careful in our service and our staff does the best to please our guests, as we hope they will come back again!
Regarding some of your suggestions, we thank you because we know that everything can be improved (also in a deluxe 5 star hotel !!)
1. Regarding the Wi-fi, as we confirmed in a previous answer, it was good already, but in middle of September we added other access points in the building and now the signal is much more strong and still FREE OF CHARGE!!!
2. Sorry, but we disagree with this comment about the staff, because all of them, expecially the night clerk, work here since many years, we trust them completely and if you read all the other reviews, the staff has one of the highest consideration in our Hotel. They are always willing to help every clients in making reservations for outside services or with other personal requests.
3.All the rooms have A/C and is not a centralized engine, but each room has its own engine with a personal remote control. The remote control has to be asked at the Reception Desk, the reason why is simple because many guests, in the past, used to take the remot controls away, and each time we needed to rebuy them. Other guests didn't know how to use it and put winter instead of summer and viceversa, and then used to complain! So now the guest asks for it at the Desk, the clerck explain how to use it and we mark that upon checkout they have to give it back.
4. For this point, our answer is the same of point 2, the front office staff use to call many time a day the Borghere Gallery to make reservations they well know this as it's part of their job, but the Gallery have limited entrances and in pick season it happens that it's full for many days, they have to book with the guest in front because they have to choose which entrances they prefer at 9am or 11am or 1 pm or 3 pm and so on... and they don't know in advance what time is suitable from you and they cannot know which are your plans for the whole stay.
Beside all we hope that you will keep nice reminds about your stay in our wonderful city and if you with to come back, please write us directly for the best offer availble.
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I loved this place the service is excellent, all recepcionist are quite attentive and the room is a bit small but if you are in Rome i dont think you will stay the whole day in the room, it is pretty clean i loved that!! but it is amazing the location 5 or 4 minutes to the colosseum, forum and like 10 or 15 minutes to the campidoglio, you have a metro station as far as 20 meters, and it is only one stop away from termini station and a close bus stop close to the colosseum, it is a great option i was so happy to choose this hotel because it was an assertive decision. breakfast is a bit the same but it was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelly19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
we really thank you for your nice comment, we feel happy and proud when our guests have good reminds and impression about our Hotel, staff and service as it means that we are working towards the right direction.
Thanks for describing so well our strategic position and for noticing that our staff is attentive and always available to help our guests and give suggestions.
Our buffet breakfast is various from sweet to salted and everybody can choose according to his/her preferences.
Hope you will come again to visit us and our worderful city, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will send you a special offer in Superior room.
Kind regads
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location only a short walk to the colosseum. Hotel close to the metro , restaurants shops and bars. Hotel rooms small but clean. Breakfast ok, not a big choice but you should find something . Staff polite and helpful. We had a problem with our air conditioning and so we
moved to another room. Would go back and would request a room in the main building , rooms are nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear guests,
thank you for having chosen Duca d'Alba Hotel for your stay in our wonderful city. As you well explained, our location is one of the best points of strenght that we have, just 300 metres from the Colosseum and Roman Forums entrance and walking distance from other major attractions.
Regarding the wideness of our rooms, we would like to explain that the hotel takes place in one of the more ancient part of the city, located in an historical building and here the municipal authority does not allow anybody to touch the walls, but we have classic rooms and superior rooms, next time please book a superior room as they are wider, on our website you will find interesting offers.
Thanks for the words you spent for our staff they make all efforts to help our guests in anything!
Hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from the 19th August'13 until 22nd August'13.
We had our honeymoon here and I can't fault anything. The hotel is in a very good location. It's in walking distance to lots of things. There is an underground train station actually on the same street as the hotel (60 second walk) and the colloseum is round the corner (5 min walk).
There is bars,shops,church,restaurants all within a 2min walk frawom the hotel. We jumped on the underground one day to go to the Vatican. It took only 20 min from leaving our hotel to arriving in the town of the Vatican. We regret not going to trevvi fountain,we ran out of time. Rome is quite expensive,we payed roughly £6/7 pound for a pizza but the most expensive thing was the alcohol,always ask to look at the wine/beer menu before entering a restaurant. You can pay up to £8 for a glass of wine and beer.
I'd definitely go back to this hotel,the breakfast was continental with a small option of Bacon and scrambled egg.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guests,
many thanks for the nice comments you left on this page. We are happy to know that you are keeping good reminds of your Honeymoon and we are part of this reminds!
Thanks for appreciating our exceptional location that is walking distance from the most important sites of Rome, Colosseum, Roman forums entrance as well as Trevi fountain, Venice Square, Spanish steps, Navona Square, Pantheon and others.
Our neighborhood is very nice an full of live also during the night with its, bar, pubs, restaurants and typical tabernas.
Thanks again for appreciating our service and our staff, we hope to welcome you again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next booking or you can check directly on our website the best offers available.
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
#295 of 1,267 in Rome
1,656 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#97 of 1,267 in Rome
893 reviews
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#88 of 1,267 in Rome
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,267 in Rome
2,488 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#147 of 1,267 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Rome
#92 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#119 Family Hotel in Rome
#130 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $118 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing