We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a good price”
Review of Hotel Edera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Edera
Ranked #771 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a good price”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The location of the hotel was excellent. Only 10 mins away from the Collasium and the station. There were cheap supermarkets and restaurants nearby. The hotel was clean with friendly staff, and the breakfast was good.You can find a free map in the reception or you can ask for it. The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels/sheets were provided everyday. Overall I was really happy with the experience and if I ever go back to Rome, I would definitely choose Hotel Edera.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SRoses_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    130
    121
    40
    49
See reviews for
61
139
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Though was a small hotel, because the rooms are smaller than American style, the cleaning was good and the service from the personnel was nice (only one man in the lobby was a little rude i insist from our american style).

It was the second time i visited rome and the hotel was better from my first visit (Hotel adventure near termini station was the other), the breakfast is very simple, for my way to eat at the morning was very light and small, like jam, yogurth, juice, sweet little breads an so on.

The best thing is that its very close from the colosseo, like 5 minutes walking, its a good choice in rome.

I went in holy week, Rome is full of tourist at this season, but still enjoyable i could see the pope!.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big bathroom, there are a little small shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia_flores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is located right up the street from the Coliseum and is walking distance away (10 minute walk) from the Termini Rail Station (where you can get the Leonardo Express train to the Fiumicino Airport for only 14 Euros/person). The hotel is down a small side street, but it is close to a lot of nice restaurants in Ancient Rome. The hotel itself is pretty small, old fashioned but clean. You get all your basic necessities in a regular room. (*they don't like to turn the air conditioners on in the room....so it can be pretty humid and hot) The hotel also offers a nice continental breakfast downstairs from 7am -10 am. The hotel staff is not very friendly or helpful when it comes to asking for directions to certain sites. But again, keep in mind this is your basic hotel and great for people not planning to spend much time in it. There is a lovely cafe just a few steps up the street from this hotel that serves great cappuccinos and pastries!! We stayed here for 4 nights before renting a car from Fiumicino Airport and driving south to Naples and Sorrento. The hotels in Rome (and this one is considered closest to the City Centre) are much more expensive for a 3 star or average hotel. Keep in mind you are paying for the location so you can't expect luxury. The further out of Rome you go towards less touristy areas, the less you pay for a higher end hotel. Happy travels! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maristiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Small old rooms, generally clean. Room doesnt have a safe, they told us that it did, they had one at the reseption. AC broke and room got really hot, impossible to be in, it took forever to fix it. They had to call the manager to come down, she spoke only spanish. The cleaning lady was very helpfull :) staff was friendy and english speaking. Location was great for us. Very nice inner garden. Quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a short 3day break in Rome and stayed at the hotel edera. We thought this is the ideal hotel if you just want a clean basic central room.
There were a few small hiccups but for the money we payed we can't really complain. One morning there was no electricity in the whole hotel so that meant no tea/coffee at breakfast and we had get ready with minimal light. We put this down to a power cut which couldn't be helped by the hotel.
The staff were helpful when we needed something considering the English wasn't too great. Finally the location of this hotel is brill, it's about a 5 minute walk to the colosseum and approx 20 to 30 mins walk into the centre of Rome. (If you don't mind walking this) would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDP04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My 10-year old son and I stayed at Hotel Edera at the end of January for 5 nights. Loved the location, room decor, breakfast and free wifi. The bathroom looked brand new. It felt very safe at the hotel. The guests were from all over the world, well-behaved and quiet. (I always worry less expensive hotels will attract a noisy young party crowd) The breakfast was typical European... Bread, meats, cheese, yogurt, cereal, fruit, salad, eggs, juices, coffee, tea, pastries and cakes. The Colliseum is a few minutes walk away, as are the Holy Steps at San Giovanni de Laterano. There was a great cheap pizza and pasta place for take out down the street, on the corner. Each night we grabbed something and relaxed back in our room. We had a fridge to keep leftovers and drinks. Front desk staff was extremely kind and helpful, and spoke English well. Edera was a great value for the money, nothing bad to report. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane Sus Petty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is situated in a back street of Rome. The receptionists who greet you are all very helpful and friendly. The room is very warm but you can choose how many sheets you use as there are many blankets provided. The waitress who was serving the breakfasts was very pleasent and friendly. There was only continental breakfast available which we expected but were pleasently suprised by an assortment of small cakes for afters!
The Colosseum is only a 5min walk though a lovely small park. From the Colosseum, you have a small walk to where Augustus and Livia lived which follows through to The Forum.Also close by is the Circus Maximus. We managed to see everything including The Vatican in 3 days and we walked almost everywhere. There is, however a very good Metro train system if you prefer to travel this way. Very cheap too! After walking round, we've found the area around the Trevi Fountain may have better resturants for when we'd like to visit again!

Room Tip: Remember this Hotel only serves breakfast which is traditional continental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Gallia
Hotel Gallia
#698 of 1,257 in Rome
371 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Siviglia
Hotel Siviglia
#958 of 1,257 in Rome
263 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,024 of 1,257 in Rome
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#604 of 1,257 in Rome
133 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bled
Hotel Bled
#981 of 1,257 in Rome
301 reviews
Monti
Hotel Viminale
Hotel Viminale
#876 of 1,257 in Rome
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edera

Property: Hotel Edera
Address: Via Angelo Poliziano 75, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #771 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edera 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edera is located at a 5-minute walk from the Coliseum. It offers a private garden, free Wi-Fi throughout the building, and air-conditioned rooms with a minibar. Hotel Edera is near the San Giovanni Addolorata Hospital and a 10-minute walk from Manzoni or Vittorio Emanuele Metro Station on line A and Cavour or Colosseo Metro Station on line B. You can enjoy a continental breakfast in the breakfast room or in the garden during the beautiful season. At the reception open 24 hours, you will have maps and tourist information. Rione Monti is a great choice for travelers interested in Ancient Rome, food and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edera Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing