We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service at a 3 star price- a little gem in Rome”
Review of Lirico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lirico Hotel
Ranked #227 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by the outstanding service of this hotel from the minute we arrived. Typically hot day in Rome and this was a cool, comfortable little paradise. Our bags were delivered to our room, dinner reservations made and a laptop set up within minutes of our arrival and it just got better from there. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was typical of Italy, but again the service was quick and friendly. Tony at the front desk was a great guide for local restaurants and directions. This was the cheapest hotel of a three week tour, but by far the nicest stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jandaonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2010

The hotel was very accommodating nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean, welcoming and looked onto the Opera House. Located very close to the main train station and handy for all travel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t133673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Once you get over the long flight of stairs to the reception, everything else falls into place. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the Opera House next door. The breakfast was good with a wide choice although the breakfast area is quite small. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is great - a few minutes from the main station and easy walking to most of the sights. We did use the metro after midnight to get back to the hotel and found the area perfectly safe.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundeep-travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Stayed at the hotel in May this year, its only a five minute walk from the Termini, location is excellent for all tourist sites, in fact its right next door to the opera theatre. On first impressions of the outside of the building I will be honest and thought "Oh dear" as its in need of a coat of paint, but on walking through the door, what a surprise, clean, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are lovely and clean and certainly nice to return to after a days walking in Rome. Very substantial breakfast with lots to chose from which is constantly being refreshed. It was a busy hotel but most importantly We would definitely stay there again and recommend to visitors to the beautiful city of Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I stayed here with my wife for 4 nights. We found the hotel to be very nice with freindly staff and large/clean rooms.

The hotel benefits from being 5 min walk from the main Termini station and the metro which made visiting any attractions in Rome very quick and easy.

There were plenty of restaurants and cafes to visit within very short walking distance.

What a great city to visit.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitor034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

After quite a long walk from the Termini Rail Station(we took the wrong exit from the platform and had to take our luggage up a very long hill!) we eventually found the Lirico.We ran the bell for porter assistance as there was no way we would have made it up the flight of stairs with our cases.Tony was on the desk and was most charming with his welcome and offered advice on restaurants.Our room was on the 3rd floor so we used the lift,on opening the door to our room we were very disappointed.It was very cramped,but very clean.I went back to the reception to ask for a bigger room but was told that the hotel was fully booked.We chose to dine at The Roof Garden, as recommended by Tony,on our first evening.The food was good but the meal was quite expensive.We found many choices for dining within a few minutes walk from the hotel,one of our favourites being The Alessio on via del viminale (just higher up the road on the opposite side to the Lirico) We had an extentended stay in Rome due to the volcanic ash,but as the Lirico was full they recommended The Corona on via Napoli.You will find our review of this hotel on Tripadvisor under Hotel Corona.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed 4 nights over Easter with our teenage children and it was perfect for us all. It was convenient for all the sightseeing both walking and on the buses. The Colosseum and Roman Forum was a particular favourite for us all and only 10 minutes away. Tony on reception was fantastic and a real treasure, we didn't mind him recommending the restuarants, Il Barocco was a friendly good value restaurant, with free starters and drinks thrown in on our second visit. The hotel rooms were clean and adequate although a little smaller than we are used to but that was not a problem, there is too much to do in Rome to stay in them for anything other than sleeping. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crouchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#241 of 1,271 in Rome
1,543 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#170 of 1,271 in Rome
1,301 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#210 of 1,271 in Rome
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#246 of 1,271 in Rome
550 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dorica
Hotel Dorica
#364 of 1,271 in Rome
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lirico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lirico Hotel

Address: Via del Viminale, 31 | Next to the Opera House, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#204 Business Hotel in Rome
#206 Family Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lirico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lirico is located close to Termini Railways Station, next to the Opera House - on the square overlook some our rooms. These are all air conditioned and furnished with wall fabrics, private bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV Sky, safe and free WiFi access. Reception and Bar are open 24 hours. Is possible to organize guided tours, transfers fron/to Airport or Port, museums or restaurants reservations, rent a car/scooter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splitty, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lirico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lirico Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing