We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Tirreno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tirreno Hotel
Ranked #354 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good points: Room was clean, plenty of hot water, hairdyers our double room had a bath (single rooms shower only), there was a fridge in the room, AC (although we didn't use due to weather) free wi-fi in the lobby which worked well, reception staff very friendly with good English. Easy to find in a quiet street close to 3 metro stations and 10 mins walk from the main Termini station (dragging a suitcase!). There is a small late opening mini supermarket a couple of doors away, a very smart wine bar around the corner and a various retaurants very close by. The Colloseum is 15 minutes walk. There was a secluded terrace one floor up which might have been nice to sit in if the weather had been better. The rooms are small but for the price reasonable.
Bad Points; The area is not as nice as say near Piazza Navorno but we chose to be close to the Termini staion as we had a latish arrival and an early departure. The beds were also very uncomfortable. The real reason I haven't rated this hotel higher however is the breakfast which was disappointing both in terms of quality and service. Roll and croissant and an unidentifiable red juice drink only with a basket of sundry cheap biscuits. We had to request milk for our tea. Sometimes the milk was hot sometimes cold randomly. Some biscuit baskets contained small packets of cornflakes but ours didn't so we raided another table. We then had to request a bowl from the inattentive staff so it all felt like hard work. People on another table ordered hot chocolate to drink -we didn't particularly want that but we were only offered tea or coffee so had no idea it was an option and we were certainly never offered a second pot. Again some people on another table had yoghurts but I have no idea whether they made a special arrangement as no-one else seemed to be offered this. Improve breakfast Tirreno and this could be a good choice for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    262
    141
    45
    18
See reviews for
167
194
56
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

It was a little tough to find street, so bring ur map when looking, but once u find hotel for first time its very easy to get to. Close walk to Termini station and other metro stops, plus short walk to colliseum. Staff was very friendly & helpful, rooms were clean & price was right!

Helpful?
3 Thank colfior
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Easy getting to historic sites from this hotel, close by 2 tran stations, fair breakfast, reasonable price, great Mediterranean restaurant close by, on the same street, one truly friendly and helpful receptionist and one very rude receptionist! ( He shut the hotel's doors while my friend and I were out to have dinner. We were at the door for minutes until he finally woke up and opened the door on us. Not even he didn't apologize for closing the door, he had an attitude toward us!!!)

Room Tip: We asked for a bed with a new mattress, but the mattress was too firm to sleep on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yar521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Glad we found this place. Walking distance from the train station and many sites. Mr Felici and his staff were the best. Made us feel at home. Our room had a little patio that was perfect for relaxing after a day of site seeing. Good restaraunts near by. Can't wait to stay their again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Every year for the last 16 years, my wife and I have stayed at Hotel Tirreno. Claudio, Massimo and Corrado have been responsible for teaching us and all those guests that ask the finer points of Roman living. Should you be traveling alone, with your spouse/significant other, or simply bringing the whole family or just a large group of friends, they will cheerfully work to meet your every need.

The Arch of Gallienus in the original city wall is just 2 blocks to the north/northeast on the original Roman road on which the hotel is located. The interior architecture of the hotel and the architecture of the buildings in the neighborhood all have their foundations in Roman times. Uncovered during the renovations, the fresco in the 4th floor hallway helps confirm the structure’s early existence. Sr. Felici did a fabulous job renovating the hotel to include all the modern conveniences. The sizes of the rooms are indicative of the typical European three-star hotel and in this case specifically their historic origins. While there is a fabulous patio garden on which to enjoy a cool-down from your day's activities, this is not yesterday’s just built Holiday Inn. With an infectious smile and genuine desire to make you feel at home Luiga works her magic each morning under the wonderful vaulted ceilings of the breakfast dining room. A great stop to whet your appetite for all the daily culinary delights that await you.

The hotel is safely and securely located in the heart of ancient Rome on the Esquiline. The main train station is just a 10-15 minute walk to the north for easy in expensive access to and from the airport as well as other parts of Italy. If you have enough luggage for the legions, baggage trollies are available at the station and the ever vigilant taxi line is always available straight ahead from the tracks in front of the building. Should you wish to cut down on the final steps in your trip the hotel can arrange direct car transportation to and from the airport for around the same cost as a taxi. The red or blue metro is just a 5 minute walk to the east or west respectively and they provide rapid service to the Vatican, Spanish Steps, Circus Maximus, and the other many interesting museums, galleries, sights and sounds of Rome too numerous to mention. City bus service is also readily available down by the blue metro Via Cavour stop as well as in front of the train station. The All Day Pass or Week Pass is recommended as it is unlimited travel on all buses, trams, and metro lines. The Coliseum/Forum is a 10 minute walk to the south.

To do it justice I would have to write for hours on the food of Rome, so very simply put in the immediate vicinity of the hotel are a great range of family owned and operated restaurants from the inexpensive to the very expensive; cutting edge to the most traditional. While we have our favorites, all are excellent as good food is also a religion in Rome. Additionally, ethnic cuisines are well represented should you have reached the pasta wall or simply be looking for a reminder from home. Whoever is on the desk can point you in the right direction and can make reservations should you need assitance.

In short if all roads lead to Rome, then Hotel Tirreno allows for easy access to all of Rome, especially if you are only making a short visit, and it does so in a warm, friendly family atmosphere at a most affordable price. Ciao!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Russ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Hotel Tirreno is a hidden "gem" in Rome, and our family enjoyed the fine accommodations. Specifically, it was the personal attention that Mr. Claudio Felice and his courteous, well-trained staff gave to the details that made our stay so wonderful. The staff's efforts to please were gratifying and much appreciated by our entire family. Please convey my complements to your staff. We are looking forward to our next affair at wonderful hotel.
Sincerely,
The Zizi Family, Southern California

Room Tip: All the rooms will please all types of travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was part business, part friends travelling to Rome together, part couple! Easily walkable (maybe 15 mins?) from Termini station, I'd say about nearly halfway between the station and the centre of Rome, so seemed a good location. As other reviewers have mentioned, we were offered on the house cold juice whilst checking in - as it was in the high 30's, and after a long journey, very welcome. A nice thing to do, no hotel has ever done this for us before in our years of travelling to small places to stay in cities. The rooms, like so many European city hotels, were pretty small, almost nowhere to put the bags, but for just under a week, not so important to us coming from only the UK with minimal stuff. If this was part of a big round Europe tour/longer trip, it could be a problem. Maybe some of the other rooms are larger? Bathroom: all working fine, smallish shower cubicle, but perfectly usable. Air conditioning in room functioned perfectly - and QUIETLY! No problem at all leaving it on whilst sleeping at night; in fact, left it on permanantly. With the heat outside, essential. We were not charged extra for using the a/c to my knowledge. the safe is small (not big enough for proper size camera for instance) but perfectly ok for extra cash/passports etc.

The breakfast, as already mentioned in numerous reviews, isn't fantastic, but it came in with our room price and if you just take tea or coffee and juice plus a croissant it's no disaster. It's not a buffet, the same is brought to everyone. There are, indeed, a large amount of pre-packaged very sweet bakery type items left in a basket on each table also - not our idea of breakfast food, but some guests seemed to enjoy them! The coffee, undoubtedly, was dreadful! Ironical particularly in Italy! We realised though by observing other guests that you could ask for a cappucino which was much better. The tea was fine, remember to request cold milk... We also learned that if you asked for yoghurt, they would bring you one, likewise, if you requested cheese, they would bring you ... plastic wrapped cheese slices!! But these were never offered, you have to ask.

We liked the staff, particularly the guy on reception when we checked in. His English was fluent and he had a great sense of humour. This hotel has a lift. The street it's on never seemed noisy, and is quite small. Several small restaurants in same street, not too bad if you don't want to walk further. Felt quite safe in surrounding area.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back, looking out over the hotel's outside patio/terrace area. Ours did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulae56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#324 of 1,261 in Rome
418 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#261 of 1,261 in Rome
599 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,031 of 1,261 in Rome
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#281 of 1,261 in Rome
635 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#271 of 1,261 in Rome
1,170 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#101 of 1,261 in Rome
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirreno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirreno Hotel

Property: Tirreno Hotel
Address: Via di San Martino Ai Monti 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirreno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a free Wi-Fi zone, peaceful garden and central location in the heart of Rome, Hotel Tirreno is surrounded by great restaurants, 220 yards from Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica. The Tirreno is in a historic building where used to live Il Domenichino, a famous Italian painter. Completely renovated, it offers air-conditioned rooms with a TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer.A continental breakfast is served each morning and includes pastries and Italian coffee. Drinks from the bar can be enjoyed out on the grounds.Guests at the Tirreno Hotel have a tour desk and information point at reception, as well as a free luggage storage room for departure day.The hotel has great metro services on Line A and Line B as it is between the metro stations of Cavour and Vittorio Emanuele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tirreno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirreno Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing