We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and all it has to offer.”
Review of Hotel Genova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Genova
Ranked #398 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed January 10, 2013

From the time of your arrival you experience the welcoming Staff and all the Hotel has to offer.(Including its cleanliness. Not forgetting the outstanding Breakfast including waiters/waitress.
Location is just perfect, either to walk to a few sites, or use the trains or buses. Should you wish to venture outside of Rome for day trips it's on minutes walk to the Terminal.
Evenings stroll to the Restaurants.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Genova .. Late Feb'13 we are looking forward ti revisiting Rome staying at our favourite Hotel for 15 days for the 3rd time in just over 2 years.

Room Tip: We choose to stay in same Room on 6th floor. It's quiet and suits us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 852 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

The rooms are simple, but comfortable and very clean. The shower is tiny though.
The breakfast has one of the best selection of a hotel in this category that we've experienced in Europe. The main waitress in the breakfast room is awesome, very helpful and always remembered to bring us a fresh cappuccino as soon as we arrived.
My sister & family arrived on the same day as us, but the 3 rooms they had booked were not available and they were put up in a hotel 10 m away. The staff kept apologising and we received free welcome drinks for all (even our family) and when my sisters family returned to the Hotel the next day, they received upgraded rooms and their luggage was picked up.
All in all a great experience and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very nice people, good breakfast and very well located. Silence during the night. Rooms
are very confortable. The area is plenty of good restaurants, transport bonds and very close
to the heritage sites.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently situated for transport anywhere in Rome and beyond. The room is fairly spacious and reasonable priced for a city centre hote, although the shower is very small. A large person could have difficulty and there was no bathtub. The breakfast had a good selection of cold foods. Maybe some fresh fruit would be nice rather than tinned, but there are plenty of cakes if this is what you like for breakfast. Otherwise breakfast is maybe a bit average for a 4 star hotel. The wifi is unnecessarily expensive, especially when you can find restaurants nearby with free wifi. It is a better hotel than the Anglo-American where I stayed on a previous visit. Staff are average with one or two who seem interested in their guests. There is no restaurant but there are plenty nearby. Unfortunately I chose restaurants with poor quality food but high prices. One needs to be careful! May be Termini is not a good area for food. I had my camera stolen in Tivoli so great care is needed to look after your property even in a seemingly nice town like that.
But I always find that Italian 4 star hotels are never as good as 4 star hotels in other countries. But this is as good as you will get for this price in Rome so I would probably stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor and the shutters excluded all the heavy traffic noise. This was impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeoffreyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was the only hotel (out of 5 hotels) that we had issues with on our recent trip to Italy. All of the hotels we stayed in were well rated, relatively similar priced and in good locations. This hotel is located above the subway and shakes whenever the trains pass underneath. The continental breakfast was the poorest of all 5 hotels, there was nothing hot, it had only a small selection of food to pick from, the toasters didn't work and instead of the fresh cappuccinos we were served at every other hotel, they had push button machines with very bitter coffee in them. The rooms were decently clean but the beds were hard. When we asked the front desk clerk about arranging for a cab ride to the airport we were told that it would cost us 60 euros, we found out that day that there is a regulated rate of 48 euros for cab rides from downtown to the hotel. It did appear to us that the front desk called a friend instead of a cab company to arrange for our ride to the airport. Every other hotel we stayed had free wifi except for this hotel which charged 20 euros a day for internet access. None of the front desk staff were very friendly and the overall experience was very poor. This is the only hotel that had good reviews on Trip Advisor that we have had bad experiences with.

Room Tip: Pick a room from one of the many hotels near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KilMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very nice hotel !!!! Very friendly staff !!! The rooms are spacious and clean !!!! The hotel is conveniently located !!! The only drawback is that the restaurant in the hotel has a very limited menu !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medhashirali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Genova, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at our property.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Genova in the future.

Kindest regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The rooms are clean and quiet, the staff is friendly and accomodating.
But I think a 4-star should have something more ...
Some small detail: the entrance of a revolving door with a bad synchronization will try to crush you.
In the morning, when you go to breakfast, you will be disappointed to discover that, unlike any bar in Rome, in this hotel the "cappuccino" is made with an automatic machine.
Okay, problems in life are quite different, but in my opinion this hotel is overrated in value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giorp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Genova, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment, we consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad.

We just want to clarify a thing.
The staff of our breakfast room is at your disposal to make a "normal cappuccino" every morning and the automatic machine is just a "plus".
We are sorry that you didn't ask it at the time of breakfast.
Our entrance door is certified and monitored regularly, no one has ever mentioned this problem.

We thank you for your review and we remain at your disposal for any further information.

Kindest regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#489 of 1,272 in Rome
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#280 of 1,272 in Rome
949 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Mariano Hotel
Mariano Hotel
#575 of 1,272 in Rome
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genova

Address: Via Cavour 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $91 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genova Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing