We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel”
Review of Giglio Dell' Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Giglio Dell' Opera
Ranked #1,065 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Saratov, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad hotel”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

1) Dirty bathroom
2) The bathroom door is not completely closes
3) Shower fixture is broken, it's difficult normally take a bath
4) Defected sink - puddle on the floor
5) Old shabby room
6) Problems with TV
7) Obsessive advertised in tourist information, as a 3-star hotel, but it is not so

Room Tip: Choose something else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    150
    182
    138
    149
See reviews for
133
283
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Was really surprised at the bad reviews for this hotel, must admit I was panicking a wee bit beforehand, but didn't need to. Our room was cleaned every day and we had fresh towels every day. Breakfast was a bit basic but it suited us. We went to enjoy the experience of Rome with all the trimmings!! and had a wonderful time. Staff were always pleasant and friendly. Would stay here again. Location was perfect for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked a family trip to Giglio del opera Rome with Fleetway travel (have used this company for the last twelve years) once booked I had a panicked call from my brother in law to look up on trip adviser the reviews! I went into panic mode when I read these reviews and promptly rang up fleetway travel who reassured me that usually people tend to complain on review sites rather than compliment! At the end of the day we had booked 3* accommodation and that's exactly what we got, the rooms were basic, spotlessly clean, beautiful bathrooms with lots of space, fridge, safety deposit box. Yes it was an old building! Hello the ancient city of Rome! Clue is in the title! Wonderful position walked every where, not far from the bus train tram underground, the hotel staff were wonderful! We played a game of cards and had a drink in the bar on one occasion and staff chatted to us, all very helpful and friendly. A bottle of wine in the hotel bar 6 euro! Bargain! Cappuccino 1euro 50. The breakfast I thought wasn't the greatest however my mother thought it was lovely. Please don't be put off by the reviews! We had a lovely time ate wonderful food visited all the sights and stayed in a perfectly adequate hotel with lovely staff. Lets face it all you need for a city break is somewhere to sleep have a shower and breakfast. There's too much to see in rome to spend time panicking about an old building with a little bit of wear and tear. As a bonus we won the rugby!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and had skylights so next time I would ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good 3* Hotel.Stayed for a long weekend.No complaints what so ever.Location great,staff pleasant,large room which was cleaned daily.Perfect for our neads.We actually went to spend time in Rome,not moan and look for cobwebs and crumbs on the carpet ! If you want 5* accomodation pay 5* prices!! We recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

just got back this morning.We were in room 201 I have to say I agree with a lot of people.
When we arrived there was a strong smell in reception of painting I thought Oh! I hope this isn't upstairs as well .The man at reception took our details then asked us to take a seat.A funny looking man came and took our case and showed us to the room, which I was dreading but actually surprised at it wasn't bad. He showed us how to work the telly and how to lock the door but was speaking so fast we worked it out for ourselves.
There is a safe in the room in the cupboard with no charge which is a bonus as you normally have to pay. Ask reception how to work it.The beds are 2 single pushed together but comfortable.
Shower another story, trickles slowly and not always hot but let it run for about 20 mins before getting in. Pot luck each day. Towels changed every day.
One thing we kept noticing was soon after a shower there was this awful smell and we had to spray deordrant to get rid of it. Don't know if it was the drains.
Breakfast wasn't good and the guy who clears the tables was misseribble as sin down there. Hots drinks were only warm. Lifts are ok they have been modernised
Overall not as bad as you would think going by some of these reviews.
One last thing enjoy Rome but keep an eye on your handbags and wallets as I lost 50 euros on the bus 1 night .They get very crowded and not many seats .so is easy for you to get pickpocketed .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I must admit I am astonished with all the bad reviews. As I read them after booking the hotel I was a bit worried. But I must say I was really pleasantly surprised. The interior is not grandiose but very decent and pleasant. The staff professional and helpful. Our room was clean and we had no problems what so ever. And location is superior!!!! We`ve been really happy with our stay, and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

we've stayed in low budget hotels in Rome before and this one was about the same if a little bit more tatty. Great position though for everything and plenty of bars and restaurants all around.
Turn right when you leave hotel and a lovely restaurant on next corner, great value and great service and staff. (3 course with mineral water 15 euro)
Hotel ancient with broken light sockets, cold showers after 10am, very miserable receptionists whose faces would crack if they smiled but the rooms had clean towels and sheets every day and some of the other staff were really good. We were there for a rugby weekend so didn't really care much as we were only there to sleep but I definitely wouldn't go there for a romantic weekend or a family trip. We only paid £27.50 per night so not worth complaining.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dumper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#973 of 1,263 in Rome
911 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#827 of 1,263 in Rome
431 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Priscilla Hotel
Priscilla Hotel
#1,053 of 1,263 in Rome
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Lazio
Hotel Lazio
#749 of 1,263 in Rome
168 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#856 of 1,263 in Rome
485 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#1,069 of 1,263 in Rome
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giglio Dell' Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giglio Dell' Opera

Property: Giglio Dell' Opera
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 14, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,065 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Giglio Dell' Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Giglio dell'Opera is located in the downtown of Rome and is a 10 minute walk from the Coliseum and less than 200 meters from the train and subway in Rome. All rooms are supplied with flat-screen TV, air conditioning, minibar (on request), soundproof windows etc. The rooms are decorated with classic furniture and bathrooms are equipped with hair dryer, bath or shower. Every morning is served a cold buffet breakfast with sweet and savory food with hot and cold drinks. The Trevi Fountain is just a 15 minute walk and a 20 minute walk from the Spanish Steps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Giglio Dell' Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Dell` Opera Hotel Rome
Giglio Dell Opera Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing