We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Business. great for vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Imperiale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #270 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hod Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for Business. great for vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at least 5 times in this hotel while in Rome for business and it suit me fine. good tooms, quiet, quick entrance clerk, breakfast was good not too fancy and the location is great for taxis (a lot of them in Piazza barberini just 100 meters down) and close enough to Fonto di Trevi and the other Roman tourist attractions

Room Tip: if you're a business man - ask for the Double room - Single occupancy so not to get the most lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZusDud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    378
    173
    48
    53
See reviews for
216
344
48
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Imperiale, September 19 and 20. The hotel was very convenient and within walking distance of many of Rome's attractions. The Metro was just outside of the hotel and made it very convenient to get around the city. It was with walking distance of the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and Villa Borghese. My husband enjoyed his morning jog thru the Villa Borghese gardens. There was plenty of shopping and many great outdoor cafes to eat at. We were greated at the front desk by very friendly and helpful staff who spoke excellent English. Our room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was excellent with something for everyone. The elevator was small - but this was part of the charm of the hotel. It had all the modern conveniences. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant (just outside of the hotel on the sidewalk) The food was delicious with generous portions. Thanks to everyone there - especially Enzo. We will definitely stay there again.
Steve & Theresa

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was in the center of Rome...walking distance to shopping, the Spanish Steps, and Trevi Fountain. The hotel staff spoke English and were very helpful. The breakfast was delicious with many food choices. I guess my only complaint was that there was only one elevator, but it didin't really pose a problem.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor with a terrace...wonderful view of Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathilda73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not even close to a 4 star even by European standards. The hotel is in a good location on a very nice street of cafes and very close to the Metro.The front staff did speak english and they were helpful. . That is where to pros end.
We found a yellow stained bed spread and someone elses hairs stuck in the fibers. I removed it and put it in the closet, the next day the bed spread was gone. There was mildew in the bathroom and on the celing over the bed. The breakfast was very basic, people had to wait often for the scrambled eggs to come out and when they did it was enough for about 4 people.

Room Tip: Stay at a hotel in the Villa Borghese section of Rome..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joan4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Imperiale for 6 days in early September. Everything was just fine with the hotel and the staff. The breakfast is absolutely wonderful. The staff outdid themselves tracking down my husband who was "lost" when the cab driver delivered him to the incorrect address.

The only regret is that the wifi internet is extremely slow and/or non existent in some rooms. Both my husband and I are professionals and depend on a fast internet to do business when we travel.

Hotel is very centrally situated, with a Metro stop at the doorstop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjoanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wonderful room, great beds, good breakfast. Needs a better shower door, setup, the water to drains all over the floor making it slippery. Great staff, spoke English & good location, walking distance to everywhere. Be sure to visit the church across the street. Very morbid display of bones

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Imperiale, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mrs Carol D I do thank you so much for your nice review. We always do our best to offer to all our guests a good stay with us . We appreciate you felt fine with us and all our staff is pleased to send you sincerest regards to you hoping to welcome you again in the next future . We remain at your disposal so please contact us for your next journey in Rome . Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

After staying in great hotels such as Una in Venice and Bernini Palace in Florence, we arrive at Hotel Imperiale for our last stop in Rome before returning to the states. The front desk staff was rude and cold as we arrived but we were excited to finally lay down in our rooms after a long day of traveling. Although the lobby looked totally remodeled and clean, I immediately noticed how deceptive it was. We expected the upstairs to match the decor of the downstairs lobby. Boy were we disappointed! As soon as you enter the first floor it is painfully obvious how little they did to maintain the upstairs guest areas. The carpet and doors are old and badly need renovating, the ugly green carpet was full of stains and looked filthy. Our room looked like a badly run down Motel 6. The beds were just two twin mattresses stuck together with a cheap bed frame (dust underneath when you removed the cheap comforter). The thin cheap comforter was stained and very OLD. The beds had one thin sheet and the cheap stained comforter which we immediately threw aside. There were no dressers, the mirrors were filthy, the towels had hair on them, the chairs in the room were filthy with stains, the bidet had some tiny hairs as well, the hardwood floor was scratched and previous occupant footprints were still visible. There was dust everywhere and the pillows/sheets smelled of vinegar. The air conditioning was making a loud noise and when I asked about it the staff just shrugged their shoulders and said it was just an old building. Nothing to be done.
The beds were so hard i could barely fall asleep and when we did my cousin and I both woke up with terrible pains in our backs and necks. Can they invest in at least better mattresses? They offered us a different room but they were all the same. I felt bad for the other visitors we chatted with who had even smaller rooms than ours and were experiencing similar problems.

Ok so we move on to breakfast- WHAT A BIGGER DISAPPOINTMENT! The selection was minimal with the lowest quality cakes and stale bread were offered. The cereal was also stale and the coffee was some cheap version of instant nescafe that tasted sour. Plates at the breakfast area were dirty with unwashed food, and even a hair in one of the plates. I was disgusted to think that I was paying $140 per night plus a 7 euro per day internet fee to stay at this dump. I couldn't leave fast enough! I spoke with the hotel manager and the look on his face of disbelief made me even more angry. Really??? You don't agree that your rooms are in desperate need of renovation and updating?
Luckily my travel agent found me another hotel to stay at for the remainder of my trip. One night was too much for this dump! STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: AVOID THIS HOTEL! There are other hotels that may not be so centrally located but are a better place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neener415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Imperiale, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear "Neener415", first and foremost I do apologize for the delay in my reply . I'm so sorry about your review about your stay at the Hotel Imperiale. I double checked with my collegues about the experience you had with us and as usual i've been informed we did our best not to disappoint you and offering you our availability to change the room at the moment you arrived in. The General Manager was not in the Hotel during your stay there at the Hotel but our Front desk manager confirmed me he was not astonished but tried to help you the best he could. The Hotel as confirmed by our actual reviews, is usually well judged for kindness and I assure you that if something has gone wrong and you didn't like the classic style of the Hotel we do in anycase always care for cleanliness in all our Hotels of the group . I 'm really sorry about the negative experience you had but please be sure that we do care for all our guests so if you will decide in future to come back in our Hotels and give us a second chance you can feel free to contact me in order to offer you a pleasant stay as usually our guests confirm they have choosing the Lo.an Hotels. Sincerely Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#175 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Trevi Collection
Hotel Trevi Collection
#468 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#203 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Leon's Place Hotel
Leon's Place Hotel
#108 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
#356 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Tribune Hotel
The Tribune Hotel
#133 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperiale

Property: Hotel Imperiale
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 24, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Rome
#117 Business Hotel in Rome
#144 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#263 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#271 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in a restored building dating from 1700 with modern amenities, breakfast room, multilingual staff, excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperiale Hotel Rome
Imperial Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing