We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough”
Review of Hotel Mondial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mondial
Ranked #326 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located about a 5-7 minute walk from Termini. The staff were all friendly enough, and they stowed our luggage for free in their luggage room when we arrived before check-in time. The room was nice, but nothing extraordinary -- the bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean, and the room quiet. Free breakfast was also a plus, but the spread was pretty bare-bones. Would stay here again for the right price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is a few blocks from Termini and a block from the metro. It is walking distance to most major sights in Rome as well. The room was ok, but the bed was hard as a rock. Our safe broke on the first day there while our things were inside it and when we called the front desk, the woman there blamed us and said we must have forgotten the code. Maintenance couldn't even open it with the master code so our things were stuck there for 2 days until they had someone come and fix the locking mechanism. They never apologized. The woman at the desk (Paola) was rude and condescending. The Air conditioner was controlled by the hotel and our room was constantly uncomfortably hot. We stayed for one week and the cleaning women did not change the sheets once. It is a decent Hotel for the price and location as long as you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room.

Room Tip: The elevator is EXTREMELY small so if you are claustrophobic be sure to ask for a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We are a group of 6 people and stayed 5 days.

If I have to sum up our 5 day stay, the highlight of this hotel is the location. A 4 star but more of a 3 at best, customer service is not great.

The staff seemed impatient with our queries. They do help you with directions, though but very cold. I stayed in 3 star hotels before and customer service is much better and you feel welcome and "at home". I get the impression that they are tired, some are OK but the lady (P) was not.

Breakfast is mediocre and repeats the same menu for 5-6 mornings- slice bread, the worst croissant and industrial marmalade, coffee machine has many options but not super. there are fresh fruits but you need to go grab it since refill will come late. the dinning room is small so I saw at least 2 couples waiting for a table and expect to squeeze your way to-and-fro your table.
In house pizza was good though, but aie we are in Italy(!).

Warning: If you are booking through Booking.com any Hotel/air line mileage are not recognized.

The rooms are clean but bath tub takes looong to drain. They provide a limited amount of soap and shampoo so use them sparingly. Beds are standard comfort and OK.

Wifi speed is OK, but for a family, they only give you only 2 access.

Location is its saving grace, Metro (republica) is a 2 minute walk, Termini a 5-6 minute walk. Such a pity since the hotel could do much better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anditso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Walking distance from the Main Station in Rome. Easy to find.
The entrance and interior is nice and warm. We've got a great service from the begining of our stay there.
We arrived in the hotel in the morning so our room wasn't ready yet, but we were able to leave our suitcases in a storage (good service by the way).

Room was small, but nice and warm. Our bathroom was nice and clean as well.

We stayed in this hotel in December, Christmas time. We decided to visit around. The hotel has a very good location for Vatican (it takes around 10-15 min by bus to get there) and many famous places in Rome.
The hotel is located on a street with a few nice restaurants, worth visiting!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank userpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for 7 Nights and apart from the fact that Italian bread rolls are hard and the fruit juice would benefit from a note of what kind of juice the jug contains, I have no complaints the room was cleaned daily and spotless the bed was changed often and the staff were helpful and unobtrusive. And the hotel was clean and tidy Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurocrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel decoration is very vintage, really nice, but breakfast needs to be improved. The location is awesome especially when on vacation: less than 3 minutes walk to the theater, less than 10 minutes walk to the train station and shopping centre. What more can one ask for? Restaurants are just a stone away.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Onike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I booked this room thru booking.com. I cancelled it two weeks before the scheduled arrival date. They charged me over $200 for a no-show . As soon as I found out, I called and even went to the hotel in Rome. They were dismissive ,disrespectful and unbending. The self proclaimed manager seemed to relish her gotcha attitude.
I was in Rome and even offered to stay on a different day at the hotel since they charged me full amount for a room that I had not used for a reservation I had cancelled. I was attempting some reasonable resolution. They refused any resolution. The room even rents for a lot less now on booking.com. than what I was charged.
Booking.com was not helpful in getting a refund nor was the US office of Best Western.
Beware of giving your credit card information to this Hotel in Rome, Italy or to booking.com or Best Western. Beware of cancellation traps and a "customer be damned" attitude..

Room Tip: Avoid booking this hotel.Don't give them your credit card information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank johnmccarthy251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMondialRome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mondial, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Sir, these are the facts :
1.Reservation was originally made and confirmed by Booking.com and we were holding the room booked for you: 1 standard double room.
2.We never receive you official cancellation, nor a mere message or an email or a telephone call by you, or booking.com staff regarding the cancellation request. Booking.com staff confirmed to us and to you they NEVER receive the cancellation request.

THERE WAS NO TRACE ANYWHERE OF YOUR CANCELLATION. Nobody has a copy of it, not even you.

3.You made no show and we charged the penalty of the first night and the charge of the penalty is in accordance with booking.com conditions.

Furthermore
I would like other readers know that you not only insulted and intimidated our receptionists, but even the general manager ( a lady ) , actually came to explain the facts. You had an inappropriate behaviour in a lobby of a four star hotel, suggesting to the other guests who were checking in NOT TO STAY WITH US.
You were rude, and all the staff and other guests were shocked.
Finally please be aware that no apologies or refund is due to a guest who did not honour, not only booking conditions but not even the most simple rules of politeness and human relationship.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Quirinale Hotel
Quirinale Hotel
#214 of 1,271 in Rome
3,321 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#94 of 1,271 in Rome
848 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#181 of 1,271 in Rome
1,748 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,271 in Rome
1,336 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial

Address: Via Torino 127, 00184 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Mondial)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#176 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $79 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mondial 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel in traditional 5-story building situated in historic & commercial area of Rome, opposite Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mondial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mondial
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing