We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Considering this is Rome, this hotel was good value in a good location”
Review of Hotel Mondial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mondial
Ranked #336 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Considering this is Rome, this hotel was good value in a good location”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If this is your first trip to Rome be ready to for a bit of shock and awe.

Definitely buy the guided tours, they are good value and will make your Roman experience.

The first thing that you will be told on a guided tour is to keep your bags in front of you because this is Rome, the land of pick pockets and thieves. But what they don't tell you is that the real pickpockets and thieves are the restaurants and gelato stands in all tourist locations.

You will notice that most of these places DO NOT post prices. Beware. At the top of the Spanish stairs I made the mistake of buying two small gelatos for the kids without asking the price first. After the kids had already dug in, the merchant demanded 10 euros. The following day we passed by the same stand, and when I asked how much a small gelato cost, the answer this time was 3 euros each.

Always ask for the price before buying anything at the stands, unless of course the prices are posted.

At a restaurant near Borghese Villa, a 70 euro meal turned into 90 euros. When I inquired about the additional charge, the proprietor said that it was table tax. Other restaurants add cover charges, charges for bread that are normally included in the meal, etc.

Before you sit at a table at any restaurant ask if there are additional charges over and above the cost of food.

As for the hotel, you will have a very good experience with the staff. The breakfast food is terrible and by 9:30am the buffet is pretty much empty, but then again, since there are only tourists in old Rome, the food is overpriced and terrible everywhere.

Room Tip: This hotel offers connecting rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giant O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMondialRome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mondial, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for submitting a review on Tripadvisor after your stay in Rome.

We don’t want your bad experiences to be misunderstood and associated to us by other future guests that check reviews on Tripadvisor on a regular basis to choose their next trip hotel .

We are very embittered for the awful experiences you met during your holiday in Rome.
The circumstances you have reported debase the hard job that all the tourism experts in the Eternal City make every day to welcome tourists.

On the other hand, we noticed that the review you have added on the Tripadvisor page of our property has few or nothing to do with our Best Western Mondial Hotel while it is more a mere summary of what happened to you and your family in places which are very far from us and that are not related to our property at all.

We thank you in any case for the words written about us and we will be pleased to give you tips and suggestions during your future trip to Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    511
    262
    78
    69
See reviews for
188
473
112
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As a former Assistant General Manager at a Best Western, I have high expectations for the staff at all Best Westerns. The Hotel Mondial in Rome did not disappoint. I was greeted with a friendly staff who offered help with our luggage, They gave me suggestions for lunch, and they gave me a map and directed me to the tourist attractions.

The next morning at almost 10 am, my sick infant son was crying. My wife and I were attempting to console him when our next door neighbors in the hotel rudely began pounding on the wall. It scared our son half to death. I went downstairs in rather upset and told the front desk what had happened. They immediately apologized and sent someone upstairs to talk with the guests. I am very aware of the difficulty of dealing with guests bothering other guests. They handled it very well.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

P.S. when they cleaned our room, the cleaning staff folded our clothes. Never seen this done before.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeewhyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Good location, air conditioning and free wifi all working! Great hotel for price. Staff very helpful and room large and well kept. Cool and spacious foyer, lovely to relax after heat of city. Breakfast was good but nothing different from most hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Mondial was booked on the internet and chosen because of proximity to Termini train station. The surrounding area is ok but rather far from the more popular areas

There are no tea or coffee making facilities and the rooms are rather depressing. I requested a non-smoking room but still picked up a stale smell in the room.

However, the rather impersonal welcome at reception; the dirty area around the toilet; the blocked shower drain; the poor breakfast (although the staff in the breakfast room were friendly and efficient) and the the inability of the hotel power board to accommodate a travel adapter (the room lights tripped when I tried to charge my mobile phone) is reason enough for me not to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

HHW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It was not my first option, but since i booked last minute i had little choice. The hotel was ok. Closely located to Rome Termini and nice restaurants in the area. As usually in Italy the rooms are pretty poor and relatively expensive. The folks were very friendly. If i wanted to stay in the same area i would not hesitate to use this lodging again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hooale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is very near to the Metro station and also within walkin distance of the main line railway station so getting around Rome is not a problem. There is also a good selection of good priced restaurants within walking distance towards the main line railway station. The hotel is clean and tidy with good fixtures and fittings, the bedrooms are of good size and well equippied. One big problem is that you do not have any tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The other is the breakfast, the room can get very packed in the morning and the selection is not up to a 4 star hotel standard, no bacon, just eggs and sauages. Tea and coffee comes out of a machine of which there is only one for the whole reataurant and often had a quene.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meriva2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had great trip plenty of very interesting places to visit most places within walking distance of hotel if don't wont to walk metro round corner and buses go everywhere. Could do with tea / coffee making stuff in rooms though

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Quirinale Hotel
Quirinale Hotel
#241 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Esquilino
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#257 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#176 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial

Property: Hotel Mondial
Address: Via Torino 127, 00184 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Mondial)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#182 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mondial 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel in traditional 5-story building situated in historic & commercial area of Rome, opposite Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Mondial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mondial
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing