We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location....”
Review of Hotel Forum Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Forum Roma
Ranked #192 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked a family room through a travel website but had little idea what this would comprise. however we had a welcome surprise to find we had a very large room with two bathrooms and a sofa bed for the girls divided from our double bed by a curtain. We rather liked the antique style furnishings - a change from the usual dull fare. The lack of anything on the television was also rather welcome as we got down to catching up on some reading after long days out walking round such a beautiful city. Staff were helpful and discretely sorted a problem with a taxi booking without any fuss. We arrived on a New Year's Eve with a concert and firework display by the Forum which was spectacular. There was some street noise but nothing out of the ordinary for a hotel in a city centre.

What makes this hotel so amazing is the location. Having breakfast overlooking the Forum and Palatine was wonderful and set us up for the day. The waiting staff were very friendly and helpful. With so many of the other sites within easy walking distance this hotel helped make this a very special four days in Rome!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueH229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and see you soon back at the Hotel Forum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Forum Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent three nights at the Forum hotel during Christmas holidays; actually we were there on New Year's Eve and we could enjoy the lively concert organized by Rome municipality on the Fori Imperiali.
The location of the hotel is really excellent, we walked to most of the sights.
The room was very clean, but we were very disappointed because the wireless did not work in the bedroom; also the television was not working properly and the choice of channels was very limited. Despite our complaints at the reception, nothing happened!!!
Breakfast was included in the room rate and served in the restaurant at the fifth floor. Apart from the view, food was not very exciting: it was a basic continental breakfast. Waiters were very nice and kind.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m2cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We thank you for your review and we inform that we are renovating the hotel (including televisions and WiFi connection) beginning by the first floor which is already finished.
Best regards and see you soon back in Rome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I booked this at the last minute on Hotels.com for a weekend away with my family. I had been checking the website regularly and it only cropped up then - I'm not sure why. When we arrived it was a bit chaotic. I think there had been a large group departing that day, and the receptionist who checked us in seemed a bit distracted. However, the hotel was pretty empty from then on and we got the full attention of the front office staff who were very friendly and helpful.

The location is great - pretty much opposite the entrance to the Forum and about a five minute walk from the Colosseum. If you're in Rome to see the Roman stuff then this is as good a location as you're going to get. It's also quite a nice part of town - the via Cavour is surprisingly untouristy and the little side street the hotel is on has some great little shops and cafes. Best of all is a branch of Flor, according to our guidebook the best gelateria (ice cream shop) in Rome, just round the corner. Try the yoghurt flavour - worth staying at the hotel just for that I'd have said! The Trevi fountain and main centre of Rome can be reached on foot - about a twenty minute walk - and the Vatican can be accessed via the Metro which is about a five minute walk from the hotel. Rome is a tiring city to visit - there's a lot of walking.

I booked a family room but when we arrived we found a sort of suite with a large-ish entrance hall, a bathroom (with WC) and a separate WC, and two bedrooms. So far so good. When my daughter (who's 8) saw her bedroom she decided it was 'scary' and started crying. It all had a very old-fashioned feel. It was full of antiques that were more old than charming. I didn't mind it at all, but my husband likes his hotel rooms modern and so wasn't keen. The bed was OK although we only got one pillow each and it was pretty hard. Also our room overlooked an Irish Bar in the side street and on the Friday and Saturday night I found the revellers hanging around outside quite disturbing although the rest of the family slept through them.

Breakfast was in the rooftop restaurant. As it was November I was worried this would be chilly - it only has a canvas roof - but they had heaters and it was perfectly warm (and sunny - fortunately) with wonderful views over the Forum and other Roman ruins. The food was very Italian, which is great if you like Italian breakfasts (lots of cakes, pastries and bread basically). Not so good if you're avoiding gluten.

I liked this hotel. We stay in so many five star hotels which feel like they could be anywhere in the world, but this hotel definitely felt Italian and family-run. The location was perfect and it was good value. What more can I say? They definitely deserve their four Trip Advisor stars.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiefromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your kind review that we have shared with all our staff.
We wait for you for your next stay in Rome, maybe in spring or in summer to approfitate of the wonderful American Bar (open space upon only from march to october)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. This time, we were a group of six girl friends, celebrating a couple of major birthday milestones. Again, the front desk staff was very accommodating, professional and also charming. The rooms can vary in size but are all quite nice. The location is absolutely perfect, right across the street from the Forum and the Colosseum, which means that breakfast at the terrace restaurant is breathtaking.

We have to mention also that one of the highlights of our entire trip to Italy was our evening with Paulo, the bartender at the hotel. What a gentleman. After an excellent dinner at a restaurant that he had recommended, we spent an unforgettable evening drinking champagne at the rooftop bar, overlooking the ancient sites of Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lvetotravel55101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

We thank you for your wonderful remarks that we have shared with all the staff and we wait for you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I arranged this hotel months ahead of a surprise anniversary visit to Rome, my wife's first visit there. I had arranged everything from the itinerary, to the restaurants and even the shopping. I had arranged by email directly with the hotel, for there to be a chilled bottle of prosecco waiting for us on arrival. I was told that it would be no problem, and that it would cost €30. OK, a bit steep I thought, but nice to walk in to. Well, anyway, it wasn't there, and upon an enquiry to reception, I was advised that they knew nothing about it, until that was, I showed them the email on my phone confirming it. They apologised profusely, and provided a bottle for the next day, free of charge, which was nice. The room (considering it was November, out of peak season and costing me €200 per night) was surprisingly compact, the bathroom especially (it wouldn't admit the 2 of us together). The finish of the room was not particularly great, it was clear that they had painted and refreshed the walls and ceiling, but forgot about paint splashes on bedside light fitments, stained headboards and faded curtain pelmets. It was looking incredibly tired. Also, I was surprised to be told that the roof terrace bar, whilst adjacent to the roof terrace breakfast room which was used every morning and evening, was closed from October, and unavailable. We didn't dine here, but both mornings at breakfast, we found that due to high quantities of voracious American diners, the breakfast offerings were often just empty plates, either being slowly replenished, or on one morning, not replenished at all. I think, on balance, that the experience here was disappointing, and this is largely due to the fact that they are trading on 3 things only - location, location, and yes, location. This hotel is in one of the most impressive parts of Rome, but sadly, that alone cannot ensure a satisfactory stay. Rome was great, as always, but I think that I would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your remarks about the hotel, restaurant and bar. Terribly sorry that our hotel was not you expectation. However we appreciate your construction criticism and will try to upgrade the inconvenients you have exposed to. About the bar, it is an open space american bar on the terrace without roof and during autun and winter season it is closed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is located in a very special place: The Roman Forum. You can see it from the beautiful rooftop restaurant as well as from street level. The interior is wood and brass. The rooms are clean and european in design. The staff are helpful and courteous. The included breakfast buffet is comprehensive and good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose at least a superior room as it has a view of the Forum
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The best tourist location in Rome, the view from our window was the ruins of the Forum directly across the lane.
The Colosium is less than a five minute walk around the corner.
The hotel is surounded by cafes and restaurants including "La Taverna dei Fori Imperiali" a few doors away which is easily the best restaurant in Rome, mainly frequented by Romans.
The hotel's own roof top restaurant and American bar are well worth a visit, the views are incredible.
Our rooms decor and facilities were in keeping with the character and age of the hotel and suroundings. You need to stay there to appreciate the retro bar fridge. I wanted to take it home with me!
The room and the bathroom were a good size, very comfortable, well appointed, cozy and had all you could ask for.
The staff were fantastic and simply couldn't do enough for us. We arrived late and tired but were made to feel at home straight away.
It was a great experience to stay there and we will be back next year when we return to continue to view the wonders of Italy and Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank franklin2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We thank you very much for your wonderful review and we wait for you for your next trip in Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#150 of 1,267 in Rome
1,147 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#92 of 1,267 in Rome
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forum Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forum Roma

Address: Via Tor De' Conti 25-30, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#214 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#219 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $188 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Forum Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant and exclusive Forum hotel is situated in the very heart of the Eternal City, between Piazza Venezia and the Colosseum and just a short walk from many of Rome’s major attractions.The property features a lovely panoramic roof garden restaurant, with an amazing view of the Roman Forum, elegantly-furnished comfortable rooms, spacious lounges, parking, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Forum Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forum Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing