We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”
Review of Hotel Forum Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Forum Roma
Ranked #192 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The best tourist location in Rome, the view from our window was the ruins of the Forum directly across the lane.
The Colosium is less than a five minute walk around the corner.
The hotel is surounded by cafes and restaurants including "La Taverna dei Fori Imperiali" a few doors away which is easily the best restaurant in Rome, mainly frequented by Romans.
The hotel's own roof top restaurant and American bar are well worth a visit, the views are incredible.
Our rooms decor and facilities were in keeping with the character and age of the hotel and suroundings. You need to stay there to appreciate the retro bar fridge. I wanted to take it home with me!
The room and the bathroom were a good size, very comfortable, well appointed, cozy and had all you could ask for.
The staff were fantastic and simply couldn't do enough for us. We arrived late and tired but were made to feel at home straight away.
It was a great experience to stay there and we will be back next year when we return to continue to view the wonders of Italy and Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank franklin2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We thank you very much for your wonderful review and we wait for you for your next trip in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    417
    149
    77
    47
See reviews for
295
486
55
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The location cannot be beat. We were able to walk just about everywhere from our hotel, and discovered great little restaurants in the surrounding neighbourhood (head up the hill past the church). The bedroom was spartan, but acceptable and very quiet. Do not make the mistake of expecting what the equivalent cost would get you in North America, there are no frills here. The "American Bar" on the roof was great for relaxation. Breakfast was coffee and cheese and salami (and cake if you wanted it).

Room Tip: If you want a view, you must pay for it. We paid extra for triple occupancy (there were only two of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimeCordialCMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We thank you for your review and we hope to see you next time at the Hotel Forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed there. The location is brilliant, just next to the Forum and the Colisseum. They have a great roof top restaurant and bar with views over the Forum. The decor downstairs is wood panelled and comfortable. You don't need to stay there to get the ambience and I wouldn't. We paid Euro290 per night for a superior double Inc breakfast and taxes (except city taxes which were added on when we left, which seemed a bit strange). The room was pretty small - 10 foot by 10 foot so just enough rom for a double bed but not much more. The bathroom was equally small with a shower that only produced a trickle of water. If we wanted to use the Internet, there was an extra charge. For Euro 290 you would have expected to have had something larger with a decent bathroom and no charge for the Internet. Verdict : I'd visit the terrace but I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We thank you for you remarks and we appreciate your construction criticism; we will do our best to upgrade the inconvenients you have been exposed to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Basic rooms, but clean. Amazing breakfast, with the best views in Rome. Roof top terrace bar great for pre dinner drinks in the hotel restaurant or one of the great local pizzerias. Friendly, helpful staff, but the wiring is ancient as even a hair dryer will short circuit your room. Location is perfect for all the sites.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanisthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your beautiful remarks; we appreciate your little criticism and we will do our best to upgrade the inconvenients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is the perfect location for walking to the forum, coliseum, and to get the hop on hop off bus. Lots of sites to see right here. The hotel looks like you are steping back in time but the staff is most accommodating and the rooftop restaurant for diner or breakfast is one you will remember!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booksVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review that we have shared with all our staff. We hope to welcoming you again at the Hotel Forum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I feel so strongly about our experience at the Hotel Forum that I will write a review. This is classed as a four star Hotel - it doesn't rate as a three star as far as I am concerned. The rooms ae small and worn; the bedspreads and decor old-fashioned (not quaint); the walls dirty and marked, bathroom pretty disgusting. A bar across the road, resulting in drunken folk making noise. All of which is Ok if you have booked and paid for a budget Hotel but when you expect and have paid for four star...then this is well below expectations. We couldn't even stay the night....jumped onto the mobile, booked a real four star hotel and caught a taxi within an hour of arriving. Don't trust the photos on the website!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are terrible sorry that you doesn't found the four star Hotel as per your expectation. However we appreciate your construction criticism and we will try to upgrade the inconvenients you have been exposed to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Location,location, location! Next to the forum and coliseum, you can't have a better hotel than the Forum! And in terms of service, the staff went beyond the call of duty e.g. providing us with breakfast at 6am so we can have something to eat and a cappuccino to go before our daily excursions and transfer to airport! But, the best part is giving us a choice of rooms upon our arrival which we ended up with a double room and bathrooms for the price of one! Thanks Hotel Forum for making our stay in Rome a most memorable one!

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra few dollars to be closer to where the action is as it's saved us more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We thank you very much for your wonderful review that we have shared with all our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Hotel Forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#160 of 1,263 in Rome
1,135 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,263 in Rome
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,263 in Rome
6,751 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#247 of 1,263 in Rome
214 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forum Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forum Roma

Property: Hotel Forum Roma
Address: Via Tor De' Conti 25-30, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#214 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#219 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Forum Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant and exclusive Forum hotel is situated in the very heart of the Eternal City, between Piazza Venezia and the Colosseum and just a short walk from many of Rome’s major attractions.The property features a lovely panoramic roof garden restaurant, with an amazing view of the Roman Forum, elegantly-furnished comfortable rooms, spacious lounges, parking, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Forum Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forum Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing