We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location”
Review of Hotel Forum Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Forum Roma
Ranked #184 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our first visit to this hotel which is situated 5 minutes from the main attractions of Rome, outstanding rooftop breakfast room and bar.

Rooms are average size and very cklean but a little dated but this did not detract from the good service and handy location.

Food and drinks too expensive for a hotel located within an area surrounded in first class italian restaurants, we were spoiled for choice and no bad experiences.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanMasterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks and we hope to welcoming you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Three of us stayed here for 4 nights in September, 2012. We were initially told that no triple rooms were available with a view of the Forum but to our delight we had a room facing the ruins. it was an absolute joy and delight to wake up each morning and look out the window.

We had arranged for a bottle of sparkling wine and it was waiting for us on arrival. The room was typical of that found in Rome and was exactly what we were after. The bathroom even had a view! It was large with plenty of hot water. Don't stay here if you want modern as you are at the wrong hotel! The property is in a great location and we walked to all the sites with ease.

The staff were all helpful and we enjoyed breakfast from the roof top restaurant with more amazing views. The beds, even the rollaway were very comfortable.

I am a travel agent and look forward to reccommending the hotel Forum to my clients.

Thank you for a wonderful memory.

Room Tip: Request a front room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYNNE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We thank you very much for your wonderful review that we have shared with our staff and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for four nights for a holiday. The greeting on arrival was warm and friendly and the room was an adequate size with the old fashioned charm we were looking for. The room was clean and made up daily and despite being on the first floor facing the road we had no problems with traffic noise. The hotel is ideally situated for all the major visitor attractions and we waked to all of these (Vatican city, Spanish steps, Trevi fountain). The staff were helpful and polite and made every effort to deal with our queries. The rooftop bar and restaurant has magnificent views. Breakfast was satisfactory and we never experienced any queues at all.
I am astounded by the previous negative reviews, complaining about having to get off the bed to change channels on the tv is pure laziness and frankly ludicrous. The air conditioning works perfectly and who cares about a remote control, use your legs! Why go to Rome if you want to watch tv? I can understand grumbles about wifi if you are travelling for business but as our visit was purely to see the fantastic sights in this beautiful city then I would recommend this fabulous hotel every time and only hope I am lucky enough to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn-Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your great review and we wait for your next stay at the Hotel Forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Is it 1995? No? Then why the hell do they charge $250 a night but don't offer free wi-fi? Not only do they charge for something that is so commonly offered free of charge from even the scummiest budget hotels and hostels but they charge PER DEVICE!!! you have an iPad and phone? Your loved one does too? Well you will be paying as much to connect them then you would pay to stay at a discount hotel. You can't beat the location and the lobby and rooftop are nice but the rooms are small, the walls are dirty and VERY thin, the mattress is a concrete slab with a sheet on it, and the street noise is a little too much for a good nights sleep. We stayed for a few days a hotel for the fraction of the cost (hotel Esposizione) and I saved this "nice" expensive hotel for the last night. The cheap hotel was a lot cleaner, friendlier, and they had... Guess what!?... FREE WI-FI!! save your money and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristaB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and we took note of all your remarks to improve our services. We are always very attentiv to all our clients'requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I am writing this comment to prevent some poor unsuspecting soul from making the same mistake we did, which was to stay at the Hotel Forum earlier this month. Reasons why we would not recommend anyone from staying at this hotel:
1) Old, musty rooms with uncomfortable beds. The cupboard space was so narrow, I could not even hang up my dresses/shirts. I can’t imagine when these rooms were last refurbished, but I can assure you it’s not during my lifetime.
2) The bathroom had the tiniest and narrowest tub I’ve ever had the misfortune to meet and the smelliest towels. The toilet worked on an turn lever system, you had to wait for the toilet to flush and then turn it off. Enough said.
3) No “international satellite tv” (unlike advertised), unless you consider 8 bad-reception channels of which one was in English international. To top it off, the tv was a tiny 1980s plastic box hanging off the ceiling.
4) No “remote-controlled air-conditioning” (unlike advertised). It turned out to be a hand controlled OLD unit next to the window, a throw-back to the 1950s.
5) No WIFI (unlike advertised), they sell $10 per day WIFI access in rooms which DOES NOT WORK. The one computer provided by the hotel was out of service 80% of the time during our stay). And they have absolutely no I.T. facilities, so they could not help us at all. Their server room looks insane, cables everywhere.
6) Breakfast was absolutely ordinary. If you wanted the one decent thing on the menu, the croissants, you had to line up and wait to snatch one up once delivered (every 30min). They seemed to have 2 people serving a room of 50+ so as you can imagine, the service lagged.
7) The service overall from one particular staff member was HORRIBLE. He was the concierge at the hotel. He was rude and unhelpful in dealing with our WIFI issues (which was critical for us due to work requirements).
8) Location is ok, if the only thing you plan to see is the forum. If you plan to go to other parts of town, you are much better off staying somewhere else as we needed to cab it everywhere.
9) The hotel may consider itself 4star, but it is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The photos are definitely photo-shopped, as our room or the lobby looked nothing like what they have on their website.
10) RUN!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Usually, if our guests don’t find the assigned room and the services not suitable for their needs, we expect that they communicate it to the management to find out the best solution for them.

We are really sorry that you have founded all the services negative despite of our best efforts to make our clients ‘stay always very comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a mission - get some great night picture of the forum and the colosseum - in comes the seri an bar.... I had googled rooftop bars with a view - do this if you want some great spots to watch the sun go down - we were rewarded here with some great night shoots of the forum and the museum as well as surprised to get a few drinks with some of the freshest pistachios we have ever had - oh and not just a few nuts a nice bowl and great service.... Was gym wine a euro more , yes, was it worth it to watch the sun go down over the greatest sights in Rome....yes! We went to 2 other roof top bars in Rome - both great and the area around the colosseum get relatively quiet at night

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank rhody03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRoma, Direttore at Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks of our rooftop bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hotel is really outdated to be marked as '4 star'. The TV is a 14 inches computer monitor that no one even use it for a long long time. Not to mention that the remote didn't work at all. I have to get off the bed in order to switch channel, turn volume up/down or turn on/off in the middle of the night. It's the most terrible 4-star hotel I've ever seen among all my travels in London, Paris and Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#150 of 1,269 in Rome
1,165 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,269 in Rome
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,862 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#92 of 1,269 in Rome
1,386 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forum Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forum Roma

Address: Via Tor De' Conti 25-30, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#214 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#219 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $153 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Forum Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant and exclusive Forum hotel is situated in the very heart of the Eternal City, between Piazza Venezia and the Colosseum and just a short walk from many of Rome’s major attractions.The property features a lovely panoramic roof garden restaurant, with an amazing view of the Roman Forum, elegantly-furnished comfortable rooms, spacious lounges, parking, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Forum Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forum Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing