We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Giolli, Via Nazionale, Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Ranked #377 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montisi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Giolli, Via Nazionale, Rome”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Conveniently located between the Termini station and Trastevere, this medium-class hotel offers good value for money and most importantly, very accomodating staff - I left the charger for the computer in my room on checking out, and was relieved to find they sent it on to my home address that very same day.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quieter; Via Nazionale can be busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    379
    202
    60
    47
See reviews for
212
476
47
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Giolli for 3 nights in mid September. Easy reach from the Termini train station, central location (15-20 mins walking to the center), from Trastevere - 30 minutes slow walk (good for digestion after a nice pizza :)
Staff polite, rooms clean. Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateOz-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in the Hotel Giolli for five nights in early September. Situated on the Via Nazionale it is within easy walking distance of many of the must-see sights of Rome.
The hotel is spotless and every member of staff are friendly and helpful. On our first night Stefano recommended a lovely restaurant just two streets away. Don't be afraid to ask for advice. Carlos is also very informative when looking for advice regarding eating out and travelling around the city. Beds are comfortable, a/c welcome on hot days and the bathroom is large with lots of hot water.Breakfast is very continental but adequate. I would have liked fresh orange juice.
The coloseum is an easy 10 - 15 minute walk down Via Serpentini, I would advise going in the early morning when queues are shorter and it is cooler.
The Trevi fountain is only a fifteen minute walk away. We used the Metro ( at the top of Via Nazionale) to get to both the Spanish Steps and the Vatican City. Very easy and cheap at 1.50 euros each.
We did a day trip to Florence (wonderful!) by train from Tribertina station. Tiring but well worth it.Book in advance with ItaloTren. It takes around 80minutes (at speeds of 250km/hr) to get to Florence. The station is only five minnutes walk from the centre. Cost of the return trip was around 80 euros.

Room Tip: Via Nazionale is very busy so ask for a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grangefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 2 days before our holiday in Siena and 2 days after. The Hotel Giolli is a well placed hotel within easy reach of most of the popular sites and the main railway station.
The staff in reception are very pleasant and helpful. Our rooms were very clean and provided everything we needed. However the air conditioning was very noisy but was necessary as the room was very hot.
Breakfast was good and there was a good selection of cold food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfiew05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Giolli hotel at the beginning of September and right from the beginning of my stay received great service from all members of staff in this brilliantly located hotel.

Was able to check-in a couple of hours early and was then given a map by the man on reception (Carlos I believe) who kindly explained how and where to find all of the historical treasures that the city has to offer. Republica metro station is at the top of Via Nazionale (around 10 minutes walk) whilst the Colosseum and Trevi fountain are both a 15 minute from the Giolli's front doors.

I stayed in a standard single room, which was perfectly adequate for my requirements and provided a perfect base for my two nights in Rome. A comfortable bed, very efficient A/C and a fridge! Both the bedroom and bathroom were very clean.

The breakfast filled me up for a morning of sightseeing and included a selection of pastries, breads, cereals, yoghurts etc

Overall the Giolli hotel represents good value for money due to its location, excellent staff and cleanliness. Would recommend to a friend and if I returned to Rome on a similar budget, wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londoncru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice price for excellent accomodattions! Great service and very nice breakfast! The room and bathroom were very confortable, the personal was very kind too!! I would came back here for my next trip without hesitate!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This 6 night stay at the Giolli was a complete surprise for me, arranged by my husband to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. As he had wanted it to remain a total surprise, he hadn't booked anything beforehand, so our booking was made on the Internet 2 days before our arrival on 18 August. We therefore did no prior research on the hotel and read no reviews about it, choosing it purely for the good value for money that seemed to be offered for 80 Euros a night.

We actually arrived one night early due to problems with travel arrangements and although we arrived after midnight, the staff were very helpful and accommodated us in a room with single beds which was all they had available. We then changed to our double room the next day.

Due to tiredness my husband had left his bag containing his whole life (men!) on the Airport Shuttlebus and the hotel reception staff were so helpful, going as far as ringing the company for us and we eventually managed to retrieve it successfully with all of its contents intact.

We stayed in room 128 and were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the hotel. The room was a fairly decent size and we faced into the inner courtyard.

In our opinion breakfast was delicious - a great choice of pastries, breads, cheese, ham, peaches, yoghurts, juices etc. Stamps can be bought at reception and they will also post your cards for you.

Location is excellent for sightseeing - we walked for miles and miles. The Termini station is only a 12-15 min walk away and from here it is so easy to use the underground system to get to the sights that are a bit further away, like the Vatican.

We also had to extend our stay for another night due to return travel problems and again this was no problem for the staff. The staff were very helpful, courteous, friendly and accommodating. I have never written a review on Trip Advisor before but I feel that these days, people are very quick to criticise and share negative comments and I would like to share our very positive experience. Would not hesitate to stay there again, well done Hotel Giolli and thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VikingGeordieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Fenix
#380 of 1,258 in Rome
420 reviews
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#290 of 1,258 in Rome
782 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#208 of 1,258 in Rome
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#232 of 1,258 in Rome
533 reviews
Trevi
Hiberia Hotel
Hiberia Hotel
#206 of 1,258 in Rome
1,040 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#229 of 1,258 in Rome
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giolli Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giolli Nazionale

Property: Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Rome
#259 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#264 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giolli Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giolli Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing