We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel but be prepared for stairs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Ranked #359 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a cute hotel not too far from Termini train station. We travelled by train with the Leonardo Express train and walked to the hotel. This is doable if you don't have too much luggage and find the right way to walk to the hotel.

We had a quadruple room for our family of 4 and the room was fairly spacious with a large vestibule for the luggage. Our room seemed recently remodelled with a new bathroom but the water was regularly going hot to cold during our showers.

We were on the 4th floor and often walked up the flights since there is only 1 small slow elevator. Definitely not a hotel for anyone with mobility issues.

A coffee machine in the room would be nice.

Limited breakfast selection but enough to get you started and you can get an expresso or capucinno which is a nice touch. Friendly breakfast staff.

Again in terms of price, value though, a fairly good deal but if you can afford to go closer into Rome, I would recommend to do so.

Enjoy Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Langroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear 'Langroch',


Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

We are happy that you appreciated the room and our breakfast staff.
We are sorry for the hot/cold problem in the shower, please next time tell us straight away and we will fix it! we have a maintenance man 24/24 hours and he would have been happy to solve your problem.

Regarding the steps: Roman buildings often have small lifts. This is because the buildings are ancient (ours from the '800) and they are structured in certain way. Instead we have beautiful, large and spacious marble stairs. However the lift can fit up to 4 people, that is the capacity. Thank you for the advice of the coffee in the room, we will certainly consider it! For now we are thinking of installing a tea kettle in each room.

The breakfast is a continental breakfast buffet offering: ham, cheese, tart, honey, jam, nutella, bread, croissants of various kinds, cappuccino, espresso, teas, melba toast, butter, hot chocolate, fresh milk, orange juices, fruit and hard boiled eggs. We are sorry if you felt its not enough we are planning to open a small kitchen so that we can serve pancakes!

We hope to see you and your family sometime again soon, in the meantime I send you

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked two rooms, as there was nothing large enough for a family of 4. My kids had a well decorated room with two twins, and a bath nicely appointed with granite. But our room right next door was desperately in need of a remodel. No window coverings in the bath (opaque glass), which was very dingy - not even close to the photos on the other entries. The remote for the A/C did not work, and the maintenance man simply handed us a new one, without helping or showing us how it worked. On the plus side, the room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was indeed nice, and the location was excellent, just as others say. Front desk staff were professional and helpful. Two things we found odd, there was no information in the rooms about how to even call the reception area for questions (no phone sheet or listing), and they said they would not provide an iron because of "security reasons". Huh?

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Chris G.


Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely happy that you were satisfied with the rooms. Unfortunately being really high season there were no more quadruple rooms available, that is why we offered two twins. For the bath is inside the bathroom which has a door and is a private area, there is no need of opaque glass, that is why we have a glass panel just to prevent water going on the floor. Regarding the AC we are sorry that you had difficulties in using the remote, maybe our maintenance man supposed you knew how to use it, please next time do not hesitate to call us at reception and we will show you with no problem!
Thank you that the cleanness of the rooms, breakfast and our location were of your satisfaction. The staff also thank you for your comments on them being professional and helpful, we really feel satisfied when we receive such compliments.
Sorry if you did not find an information brochure, but we are in the phase of printing them so that they will be one available in every room. Regarding the iron: In Italy you need to have a sort of license or permission for safety reasons. The iron in fact can burn covers..etc (not your case but some people iron on the bed!)

We really hope to see You and your family sometime again soon!

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is my very first negative review for any hotel. We stayed at this hotel for one night in late May. Our stay was TERRIBLE ! We paid almost $300 for 1 night stay in a room with 2 beds (double and single). We were given a room facing street. Our room had a small tub TV with remote that barely work. We were travelling an ill child and just want to get rest before flying back to US the next day. Our room was stuffy. We asked for AC and was told AC is off due to season. Late May wasn't the season for their AC to be turned on. Yet, hotel website advertised their rooms offer AC with no weather restriction noted. We all woke up exhausted due to lack of sleep w/ street noise all night long and with excessive coughing throughout the night. In the morning, my husband noticed something odd on the wall by the heater area that he was able to wipe off with his finger. He suspected it might be molds and informed the hotel of this but they denied of such thing exist. The bottom line is, for our family this one night stay at Hotel Giolli had been the worst hotel stay we ever had. We have stayed at many hotels in Europe and always had comfortable stays but I guess our luck ran out with his hotel. A tip that could share is go to Hotel Esposizione next door. The "star rating" might be 1 lower than this hotel but you will get more rest and be treated with much more kindness and respect. We stayed at that hotel for 2 nights and would love to stay an extra night but it was fully booked for our 3rd night. In case you wonder I had to pay a high price for this hotel because of last minute booking ? Nope, I booked this one night stay 3 weeks in advance. One positive thing I can say about this hotel it's the location. Via Nazionale is a long road with many shops and easy access to some major landmarks.

Room Tip: Avoid room facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dnvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Proprietario at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Dnvh,

i am sorry to hear that you did not have a good time at the Giolli and am also grieved that you have not told reception of your problems, instead you decided to let us know on Tripadvisor.

You complaint is mainly due to the price you paid with the one that was online during your stay, for your knowledge i would like to inform you that hotel prices as flight prices vary with time depending on availability. Most certainly there was a lower price online due to a last minute discount.

Immagine that you paid 100 euro and during your stay the price increased to 120 would you have still complained? Obviously not.
Other example: you book a flight for 100 euro, during the boarding the price falls to 80 for a last minute offer, this does not mean you have the right to get 20 euro back!

The Giolli retains your review fully revengful and not real since:

1) our staff is very professional and always tries to help our guests (you can see this from our Tripadvisor score, and other scores of other portals).

2) The AC works perfectly and also, if it was truly not working, why would you want it on if your son was sick and had cough. I wouldn't recommend it.

3) The room you stayed in was number 404 which is one of our best rooms (also advertised on our website)

i please you to think twice next time you want to write a negative review for some kind of revenge of not getting a discount.

Regards,

Andrea Lasalandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I visited Rome in June 2013 with my family and we stayed in Giolli hotel for three nights. We enjoyed our staying in a large,light and one of the cleanest rooms I've ever stayed.Great location and very friendly stuff. Ask the receptionist Carlos for restaurants and places to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johny189473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Jhonny,


Thank you so much for you nice comment! We are very pleased that you enjoyed Your stay, we hope to receive You again in the future as our kind Guest, in the meantime I send You

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when we were in Rome and it was exactly what we expected. A small boutique hotel in a very central location. This hotel was walking distance to a lot of the major attractions. We walked to Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum from here.

There were many restaurants around and lots of shopping. It was walkable from Termini station. The rooms were clean and simple. We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear 'Happytravelagent',

Thank you so much for you nice comment.

We are very happy and pleased that you enjoyed Your stay, thank you for all your beautiful compliments!

We really hope to receive You again in the future as our kind Guest, in the meantime I send You

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed there from May 28 till 1st of June 2013 (4 nights). Room size was mall, typical of Europe old buildings. Breakfast was adequate, not fancy but the fresh cappuccino made the difference. It is walking distance to all major attractions and the neighborhood is a great dinning and shopping are. It is also 7-10 mins. walk to the train station. Ideal fro those who want to explore and not spend too much time in the room. Would visit again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sivine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Mrs. Sivine M,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that your stay has been a pleasant one, thank you again.We will wait for your return then!

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We found that you could walk to almost everything as it was very centrally located. Mini supermarkets, restaurants and transport all very close by and Termini Station a 10 minute walk away. Rooms were clean and well appointed and most windows opened onto a central void area (could be prettied up) which made the rooms very quiet particularly for a hotel on a major road. We found our air conditioning didn't really work that efficiently and our room was often quite warm. Service was efficient and we were well looked after with any requests and information. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of options. Wi-fi was a little temperamental. The lift was tiny and reception is on the first floor. Overall we were quite happy with Giolli Hotel although it is on the higher side of the budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuePete1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#245 of 1,271 in Rome
339 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#212 of 1,271 in Rome
1,072 reviews
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#273 of 1,271 in Rome
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#160 of 1,271 in Rome
1,230 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
749 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,271 in Rome
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giolli Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giolli Nazionale

Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Rome
#259 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#264 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $67 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giolli Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Giolli Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing