We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was the best choice of our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Ranked #344 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This was the best choice of our trip!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We visited Rome with our kids (5 & 6 years old) during Christmas time. We had a spacious quadruple given with a large bathroom with bathtub. Everything was neat and clean. We received a large plate of fresh fruits as a welcome present which we thought was very kind and surprised us pleasantly since you don't find such treatment not even in a 4-star- hotel most of the times. The room had a view of via Nazionale and the wonderful building of Galleria dell'Arte and although it was a busy street the double-glazed windows had excellent sound proof which was very important for us as we are not used to sleeping with noise. The hotel staff was very friendly and always willing to help us always with a smile. We enjoyed the breakfast as it had fresh Italian pastries, cappuccino (we kindly asked for it) but had also all other typical breakfast food like yogurt, cheese, ham, jams, etc). The location of the hotel is superb. Most of the major attractions ( Piazza Venezia, Fontana di Trevi, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza del Popolo, Colosseo etc.) are on a walking distance even for the kids and Rome is the ideal city to wander around. In any case there is a taxi station opposite of the hotel, and of course buses and subway. Via Nazionale is a big street full of cafes, restaurants, and many many shops!!! The area is very safe so I definitely recommend this hotel as it is a real value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mairoula76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    373
    196
    58
    38
See reviews for
206
463
43
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 4 star hotel for 1st 3 nights of our 7 night stay due to location for marathon and moved to giolli due to rooms not being available for 4 nights additional! Well that was a bonus! Great hotel, great location, clean, friendly staff! Cannot say enough about this place! Fantastic! Easy walking distance to collesium, shopping, trevi, Spanish steps and bit further for Vatican but all accessible on foot!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited Rome in May last year and decided to stay at Giolli. The hotel is situated relatively close to the railway station - not more than 15-20 min walk away. The check in was smooth, the staff was great and we were in our room in quick time. Our room was comfortable and cozy
The breakfast was low on variety but nevertheless pretty good. Good wifi connectivity in the room was a plus.
The location is pretty good - We walked to the Trevi fountain which is pretty close by and on our way back managed to catch up the changing of the guard at the Presidential palace which comes along the way. There is a small restaurant called Dodo's a couple of blocks away - a great place to try out italian delicacies. The street will also give you the first sight of the majestic Colosseum which is about a half an hour walk away.

Special Mention for the staff - helped us with a valuable tip that prevented us from getting stranded at the airport (the airport doesnt open till about 4.30 AM). thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xVariable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hello to all staff at Hotel Giolli, I just want to thankyou for your hospitality and service! I had the best time at your hotel and wish that i could come back asap! Our room was beautiful and well decorated, staff very helpfull and always greated us with a smile! We were also very lucky to meet the owners of the hotel and had a coffee with them, very nice family. I recomend any thinking of travling to Rome to stay at Hotel Giolli, minuites away from all the land marks and nice little Italian resturants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Giolli is a good value low cost hotel. It is not superb or the pinnacle of excellence as claimed by some reviewers (were they genuine?) but it provides a good basic product with no frills. We had a standard double (strange because we had paid for a standard twin, but ce la vie); room 218; small but adequate looking out onto central well; fridge (empty), small bathroom with overbath shower - small enough to be awkward to negotiate; ancient Daewoo TV with only Italian stations; limited room to store or hang clothes; very firm mattress. When we asked for a kettle for the room we were told that one could not be found - so if you want one I advise you to bring your own travel kettle. We were disturbed by noise from the floor above (which is not part of the hotel) and by an occasional metallic zinging sound (possibly from a nearby lift mechanism). The buffet breakfast was spartan although laid out in a clean and comfortable breakfast room. On the plus side the room and the whole hotel were spotlessly clean and Carlos at the desk was charming, multi-lingual and very helpful, recommending an excellent, nearby, reasonably priced restaurant. As previously stated this is not the great hotel described in some reviews BUT does not present itself as such (it is after all a 3 star, not a 4 or 5). It is good value, well situated and well run and those on a budget will not be disappointed so long as their expectations are reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Direttore at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your tripadvisor review.
We are very sorry that your experience has not been satisfying. I would like to point out and explain on our side some of the points you made:
First of all every review in this website is true, we would not be able to write fake ones as Tripadvisor does not permit it and ou Hotel we would be severly penalized. Nobody can write fake reviews from as we would all be at the first places of the ranking. Some guests naturally and spontanously find us to be a good hotel. We know this by the compliments that we receive at reception: clean, well positioned, pollite and helpful staff. Now, regarding your room, it does happen sometimes that a double is not a twin and vice versa but if just pointed out at reception I am 100% sure that the room gets changed. Also because the price of the twin and double is always exactly the same. The room that you had assigned is a Classic standard room. We have rooms which are more or less spacious and we also have Deluxe rooms with a balcony and Superior rooms looking onto Via Nazionale which are very large. If some standard rooms appear to be a bit small, their sizes are all approved by the National body of tourism. The building, like many, is ancient from the '800 and being in Rome it is actually a beauty. This is why spaces might not appear the same as a modern recently built one. Regarding the fridge, we keep it empty and if the client wants to consume we stock it with beer, water, wine, snacks..etc
The tv: There are only one ot two rooms with that tv all the rest have been replaces with a plasma tv. We are ordering more to replace also those one remained. For the channels: er do have satellite tv (just as the tv in the lounge room) so maybe it had a problem of tuning which had to be adjusted. If only we knew we would have tried to tune your channels or change your tv. The mattresses: They are ALL orthopedic and fireproof ones, tehy have recently been changed.
The kettle: we provide all Deluxe rooms with kettles, cups and teas for free. We are however thinking to put in every room because is something that everybody might appreciate. We are sory that we were unable to find one but probably the Deluxe rooms in which we keep them were all occupied at that time. The buffet breakfast is a continental breakfast: cheese, ham, fruit, hard boiled eggs, juices, honey , jam, cappuccino, espresso, milk chocolate, cereals, bread, croissants of various types. We think there is plenty for a continental breakfast but we are organizing to add more things. Thank you to have appreciated our cleanlinness becaus ewe really put a lot of care in it. Not only we have the cleaning ladies (one for each floor) but we also have an head-housekeeper which checks that every room is spottless before it gets assigned to the guest. We are very happy that many of our guests wrote such beautiful reviews, it makes us very proud and happy of what we are doing although obviously you can always improve and we take suggestions very seriously. We hope to have you again as our guest in the near future so that we can make you change idea on Hotel Giolli. In the meantime I send you

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel earlier this year and were very disappointed by the gloomy drab room looking out onto a dingy internal courtyard and the only natural light way up above the very tall building. We are both quite small and yet found the space in the bathroom difficult to negotiate and the bath child-size. The television was the size of a postage stamp! Ok we didn't go to Rome to watch telly but we had been told this hotel was the equivalent of a 4- star at home. ( beware advice from Avios as they use local agents to assess the hotel and are unhelpful when you are not satisfied ).This is definitively not the case and reminded me of school visit hotels.
On the plus side the breakfast room was lovely and the location is really good, with a nearby restaurant serving amazing Campari aperitifs. The owners are charming too.
One last thing, the lift is very small and services both the hotel and one or two apartments at the top of the building- you may have to share the lift with some rather excitable people best avoided!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the road- noisier but you'll get some daylight and a view of roman daily l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Direttore at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. Maude,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.
I would like to make some clarifications. The room that was assigned to you was a Classic Standard double room, by saying this I dont want to imply that you had a bad room, but we do have very different typologies of rooms: Deluxe with street view which is more spacious, Classic rooms which are interior and are very very silent. We don't think our standard rooms are gloomy and are made for school visit only. This is because we put so much effort and care not only inthe customer relation but in the rooms we assign. Not only in the cleanlinness but also in the maintanace of the rooms. This is why a lot of agencies or clients assign us a four star value. Unfortunately or fortunately in Rome we still have ancient buildings (ours of the late '800) and spaces might appear to be small compared to modern buildings, but this is also the beauty of our city. We are very happy that you like our service and the staff. However we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay 100% if only we had knew before we would have up graded the room . We really do hope to host you sometime again in the future and make you change idea! In the meantime I send you

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,Uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good basic hotel, rooms ok, clean and wi fi'd.
Breakfast a little limited in choice but plenty of it.
Hotel location made all the sights with walking distance and although we had a Roma Pass we walked everywhere but bussed (No.64 caught right outside) to the Vatican.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colinedwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#211 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#203 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#302 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Hotel Fenix
#399 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#169 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giolli Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giolli Nazionale

Property: Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Rome
#259 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#264 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giolli Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Giolli Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing