We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Ranked #362 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Giolli is a good value low cost hotel. It is not superb or the pinnacle of excellence as claimed by some reviewers (were they genuine?) but it provides a good basic product with no frills. We had a standard double (strange because we had paid for a standard twin, but ce la vie); room 218; small but adequate looking out onto central well; fridge (empty), small bathroom with overbath shower - small enough to be awkward to negotiate; ancient Daewoo TV with only Italian stations; limited room to store or hang clothes; very firm mattress. When we asked for a kettle for the room we were told that one could not be found - so if you want one I advise you to bring your own travel kettle. We were disturbed by noise from the floor above (which is not part of the hotel) and by an occasional metallic zinging sound (possibly from a nearby lift mechanism). The buffet breakfast was spartan although laid out in a clean and comfortable breakfast room. On the plus side the room and the whole hotel were spotlessly clean and Carlos at the desk was charming, multi-lingual and very helpful, recommending an excellent, nearby, reasonably priced restaurant. As previously stated this is not the great hotel described in some reviews BUT does not present itself as such (it is after all a 3 star, not a 4 or 5). It is good value, well situated and well run and those on a budget will not be disappointed so long as their expectations are reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Direttore at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your tripadvisor review.
We are very sorry that your experience has not been satisfying. I would like to point out and explain on our side some of the points you made:
First of all every review in this website is true, we would not be able to write fake ones as Tripadvisor does not permit it and ou Hotel we would be severly penalized. Nobody can write fake reviews from as we would all be at the first places of the ranking. Some guests naturally and spontanously find us to be a good hotel. We know this by the compliments that we receive at reception: clean, well positioned, pollite and helpful staff. Now, regarding your room, it does happen sometimes that a double is not a twin and vice versa but if just pointed out at reception I am 100% sure that the room gets changed. Also because the price of the twin and double is always exactly the same. The room that you had assigned is a Classic standard room. We have rooms which are more or less spacious and we also have Deluxe rooms with a balcony and Superior rooms looking onto Via Nazionale which are very large. If some standard rooms appear to be a bit small, their sizes are all approved by the National body of tourism. The building, like many, is ancient from the '800 and being in Rome it is actually a beauty. This is why spaces might not appear the same as a modern recently built one. Regarding the fridge, we keep it empty and if the client wants to consume we stock it with beer, water, wine, snacks..etc
The tv: There are only one ot two rooms with that tv all the rest have been replaces with a plasma tv. We are ordering more to replace also those one remained. For the channels: er do have satellite tv (just as the tv in the lounge room) so maybe it had a problem of tuning which had to be adjusted. If only we knew we would have tried to tune your channels or change your tv. The mattresses: They are ALL orthopedic and fireproof ones, tehy have recently been changed.
The kettle: we provide all Deluxe rooms with kettles, cups and teas for free. We are however thinking to put in every room because is something that everybody might appreciate. We are sory that we were unable to find one but probably the Deluxe rooms in which we keep them were all occupied at that time. The buffet breakfast is a continental breakfast: cheese, ham, fruit, hard boiled eggs, juices, honey , jam, cappuccino, espresso, milk chocolate, cereals, bread, croissants of various types. We think there is plenty for a continental breakfast but we are organizing to add more things. Thank you to have appreciated our cleanlinness becaus ewe really put a lot of care in it. Not only we have the cleaning ladies (one for each floor) but we also have an head-housekeeper which checks that every room is spottless before it gets assigned to the guest. We are very happy that many of our guests wrote such beautiful reviews, it makes us very proud and happy of what we are doing although obviously you can always improve and we take suggestions very seriously. We hope to have you again as our guest in the near future so that we can make you change idea on Hotel Giolli. In the meantime I send you

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel earlier this year and were very disappointed by the gloomy drab room looking out onto a dingy internal courtyard and the only natural light way up above the very tall building. We are both quite small and yet found the space in the bathroom difficult to negotiate and the bath child-size. The television was the size of a postage stamp! Ok we didn't go to Rome to watch telly but we had been told this hotel was the equivalent of a 4- star at home. ( beware advice from Avios as they use local agents to assess the hotel and are unhelpful when you are not satisfied ).This is definitively not the case and reminded me of school visit hotels.
On the plus side the breakfast room was lovely and the location is really good, with a nearby restaurant serving amazing Campari aperitifs. The owners are charming too.
One last thing, the lift is very small and services both the hotel and one or two apartments at the top of the building- you may have to share the lift with some rather excitable people best avoided!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the road- noisier but you'll get some daylight and a view of roman daily l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Direttore at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Mrs. Maude,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.
I would like to make some clarifications. The room that was assigned to you was a Classic Standard double room, by saying this I dont want to imply that you had a bad room, but we do have very different typologies of rooms: Deluxe with street view which is more spacious, Classic rooms which are interior and are very very silent. We don't think our standard rooms are gloomy and are made for school visit only. This is because we put so much effort and care not only inthe customer relation but in the rooms we assign. Not only in the cleanlinness but also in the maintanace of the rooms. This is why a lot of agencies or clients assign us a four star value. Unfortunately or fortunately in Rome we still have ancient buildings (ours of the late '800) and spaces might appear to be small compared to modern buildings, but this is also the beauty of our city. We are very happy that you like our service and the staff. However we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay 100% if only we had knew before we would have up graded the room . We really do hope to host you sometime again in the future and make you change idea! In the meantime I send you

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good basic hotel, rooms ok, clean and wi fi'd.
Breakfast a little limited in choice but plenty of it.
Hotel location made all the sights with walking distance and although we had a Roma Pass we walked everywhere but bussed (No.64 caught right outside) to the Vatican.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colinedwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Right in the middle to go where you need to go. Staff very helpfull and gave really good recommendations for local tratatorias. Plenty of fruit, cheese, ham, rolls, and coffee for breakfast to set you up for the day - or until lunch if you get tempted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a double rather than a twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

the hotel is located at the center of rome, very good location. the staff are great they are willing to help any time. we had troubles with the wifi quality, the water strim in the shower was poor, and breakfast need to improve.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tomer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great experience. Excellent location, near shops, buses and trains. Rooms small but clean and well serviced. Internet wi fi good. Friendly staff and great breakfast. It was good to have someone at reception 24/7

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conflenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Probably on par with a 'Travel Lodge', sorry Travel Lodge as we have stayed at some decent ones. Room was basic and clean. No hot drink facilities in the room- is that just a British expectation? Breakfast was adequate, only one choice of cereal but croissants were plentiful. Only met dining room staff, who were very efficient, ensured everything was topped up immediately. Only downside was the plumbing, when the room above flushed the loo it sounded like a gushing waterfall, not a pleasant noise in the middle of the night. Hotel is well located for walking to all the sights, the furthest away being the Vatican, approx 50 mins walk. Would recommend getting a taxi or a bus there and walking back, if you have any energy left as it takes a good 5-6 hours even more to see everything. Not in the centre of restaurants but close enough if you don't mind a walk.

Room Tip: On a main road so ask for one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Businessman127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Direttore at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear 'Businessman127',

Thank you for sharing your review for our Hotel, it has been a pleasure to have had you as our Guests and we hope that you have had a pleasant return home.

The room you have reserved was a standard room and the in tea room facilities are provided upon request. We are however planning to store a tea kettle in every room so that the client finds it already placed. Thank you to have appreciated the breakfast and the cleanliness of the room. In addition to the cleaning lady we have a person in charge that goes round the room (before being assigned) and checks if everything is cleaned and in order. With regards to the breakfast we feel there is quite a lot of choice for a buffet continental breakfast, but we are thinking of varying our products and maybe putting different flavours of the cereals and of the pies. The breakfast room staff thanks you for your kind words towards their service.

We are very sorry for the rumorous plumbing noise. We do have a maintanance staff and it could have been fixed on the day if only we knew about it! For the restaurants: we have plenty around us, maybe they are a bit hard to notice because they are a bit hidden in the little streets but some of them are really nice! You know Rome, it is a big city but everything is concentrated and a bit hidden, next time let us give you some good reccomendations of where to eat close by , believe me you will not regeret it! We really hope to host you sometime again soon and to make your stay even more satisfying!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#244 of 1,271 in Rome
339 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#211 of 1,271 in Rome
1,071 reviews
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#275 of 1,271 in Rome
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#162 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#222 of 1,271 in Rome
748 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,271 in Rome
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giolli Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giolli Nazionale

Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Rome
#259 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#264 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $67 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giolli Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Giolli Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing