We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giolli Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Ranked #339 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alberta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our first trip to Rome, We loved it. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, our daughters were given the room next door. The breakfast was nicely presented. The staff were always helpful. The location was perfect for walking to many sights and restaurants. Our family had three different flights out, the staff arranged a car service each time. I have to admit I prefer the luxury car to the taxi we took from the train station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Direttore at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear mrs. Alberta,

Thank you very much for Your kind review

We really appreciate you writing such nice comments in favour of our Hotel. We are very lucky with the location of our hotel, located on Via Nazionale, located in the heart of Roma, minutes’ walk to art, history, food, culture and surrendered by famous landmarks (to many to mention). We hope to see you sometime again soon and have You again as our Guests.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    364
    190
    56
    36
See reviews for
201
451
42
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Booked online, all staff have been helpful especially Carlo... Couldn't have asked for anything better.
Room was tidy and clean, breaky was included. Free WiFi in the hotel. Has lifts which helps with luggage.
Price is reasonable.
Great transport on doorstep.
Information for tourists across the road.
Honestly was awesome.
Would defiantly recommend it and stay here again!
Miss Church

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Direttore at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Miss Church,
Thank you taking the time to write such a kind review, your response has brought a smile to our whole team.
We are very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We are very lucky to be located were we are on Via Nazionale, just minutes away from The Colloseum and Via Dell Corso. At Hotel Giolli it is our main goal to provide all our clients with exceptional customer service and to fulfill all there needs if possible.
We hope to see you in the near future and thank you again for your review.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Me and my sister stayed only one night here as we were only here for the weekend. Arrived at the hotel early afternoon after an easy walk from the train station about ten minutes walk literally at the top of the road. We left our bags and headed off to see the sights and returned about 6 in the eve. They were very helpful and friendly and the room was lovely but didnt stay much in room, sleep and shower. Breakfast ok. The hotel give you maps and direct you to where ever you need to go. Rome is amazing with speachless beauty cant wait to return and would stay at Giolli as location is brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, General Manager at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Lesley,

Your comment has brought a smile to my face, not because of the beautiful review but because you and your sister had just a wonderful time. This is the reason as to why I love working in the hotel business. We are very lucky to have such enthusiastic and professional staff, they really make up the foundation of our hotel.
Thank you Lesley for taking the time to write us an review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Carlos and Pedro... the younger genteman, I don't remember his name... all equal perfection in staff in all of Europe. I could not believe how kind they were... we had quite a few laughs (all at my expense, ha ha, but well deserved!) They were very nice. Helpful.

The breakfast was very good... one day we had to leave extra early for an excursion and they were very kind and let us eat super early.

The room itself. Sadly, this is where we became unhappy. Our window looked into a wall... the beds were like concrete and the bathroom was a big step up to get to and then the cleaning products were very overpowering.

Good location... and would probably go back just to talk to the front desk staff... they were so helpful.

Room Tip: Just don't view the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPLSMINN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I'm not good at english grammer, however I hope you can understand my opinion.

I and my colleague was staid this hotel for 5 days on May 2012.
All of staffs in hotel Giolli was very kind, and they tried to do everythin what the guests wants.

At first day, the condition of my colleague's room was terrible. As soon as we enter the room, the smell of mildew caught us and we could find some part of wall got moldy. We asked to change the room by another and the staff accept it and treated the mildew by mildew remover spray. Because of no vacancy at that night my colleague slept in that room, but she could move to another clean room at next day.

In Rome, the most part of hotels are very old and small and sharing the various functional space in a building. Before making reservation to this hotel, we already knew about that. Therefore we can understood this situations easily.

Although the breakfast was supplied the same menus in all 5-days, it was good for us.

In the room, we cannot found any tea kettle for boiling the water. But the staff supported hot water whenever we want (we just want to eat cup noodles).

Although I will visit Rome again on this month (Oct 15~21), we will not stay hotel Giolli. We found another hotel that is near the metro station.

Although this hotel offered very good experiences to us, it took a little bit much time to reach metro station. And this hotel was located beside the big road (Via nazionale), I could not into a sleep easily because of some traffic noises.

Best:
Kind staff, Free Wireless Internet access, Room cleaning service, Nice breakfast, Good location for sightseeing, Taxi stop was located directly over the road, Supermaket was located closed to the hotel, Air conditioner was work well, Luggage keeping service was possible, Hot/Cold water pressure were good... and so on..

Poor:
Small size room, Small spaced elevater, ...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ammtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Direttore at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Ammtto,
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback about our hotel, we really appreciate this. Feedback positive or negative help us as a hotel to grow as a team, develop new polices & procedures and improve on areas we might over look.
At Hotel Giolli, we strive to exceed customer satisfaction and expectations. We are very lucky to have very experienced and professional staff working for as for many years. We apologies again for any inconveniences with the room and I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the outcome. All our windows within the hotel are sound proof, so unless when you went to sleep you left the window open it is impossible to hear any noise from the street. All our rooms and different sizes due to different standards. E.g. our double rooms are larger then out single rooms.
Ammtto I am sorry to hear that you didn’t want to return back to our hotel due to location, because we are only minutes walk to the metro. But I do hope you enjoyed your stay in Rome once again.
Thank you again for writing a review on our hotel and hope to see you in the future.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The best way to describe this place would be to say that the hotel was awful and we couldnt wait to leave the room to go exploring.
The hotel is in an old building shared with other establishments and when we arrived the check in too over 1 hour as the man behind the desk was so rude and awkward with everyone. There was barely any room in reception for everyone checking in that people were queuing on the staircase.
The room was very large but so old you would half expect the cupboard door to come off anytime you opened it. I appreciate the building was old and quaint but to have uneven floors is very tiresome to say the least. The bathroom was old with cracked tiles everywhere and the room as a whole was very uncomfortable.
The breakfast was very very poor. The staff could not speak english and it was very difficult to communicate with them. Even the coffee which we were looking forward to was very bland filter coffee which was way below standard. When you order a "special coffee" such as a cappuccino it takes them forever to make it and it arrives cold!
The advantages of this hotel however is how close it was to everything we wanted to see. It was 10 minutes walk to the colloseum and 20 minutes to the trevi fountain. We found that its central location was perfect for us as we could walk to anywhere and loved it!!!
I would definitely love to go for another weekend break to Rome but would never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maroo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Manager at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear valid guest of Hotel Giolli, maroo3.
Thank you for your feedback and your prospective of our hotel, we truly appreciate this.
I am very sad to hear that your experience at our hotel was unsatisfied and I wish that at the time you would have voiced your experience that you have currently wrote so that we could have fulfilled your needs and fixed any problems that you were having.
This month being high season in Rome, all hotels are extremely busy, we have a waiting room and bar that you could have waited in and seated for when we were ready to check you in, we provide all our guests who have to wait with a coffee, internet, water and even something small to eat.
I am sorry but I am a little unsure of what you mean by ‘uneven floors’ . Our room and bathrooms are regularly checked from individual hotel organizations to ensure we are reaching our standard of stars.
With regards to the breakfast all the items are bought fresh in the morning. All our coffee is made from the coffee machine with fresh beans and as we have mentioned above if the coffee was cold we wish you would have come to us as it happened so we could have made you another one.
I would just like to clarify with you that, like we have mentioned in past review, all our reception staff speak fluent in a number of different languages, English being an international, therefore all our reception staff read and write fluently in English. Personally I really doubt that you have been in our hotel since all our reception staff speak English.
We are very fortunate to be situated where we are, in the future if you have any queries or enquires for any establishment, you really need to speak up so that the establishment can fix any problems you may have. If nothing is said no one will ever know there is something that needs assistance.
I would love to know why you are complaining after one year and not report to our manager at the time of when this happened. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we would love for you to return so that we can show you what we are capable of when we are faced with a client who is unsatisfied. We love to exceed our clients expectations and fulfill their needs and wants.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Location is good in relation to major sites, train station at the end of the street and taxi over the road. It is on a really busy road but our room was quiet. Recommend not eating on the busy street walk down towards the colosseum. Rooms are clean and tidy a little dated in decor. The staff we were very helpful in directing us. Our only issue was the quality of the air conditioning we needed a fan in addition but we stayed in some very hot weather. Overall it was a decent and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemgri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiolliRoma, Front Office Manager at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Jemgri,
we appreciate you taking the time to write our hotel a review, your feedback helps in the success of our hotel.
We are very fortunate to have our hotel situated where it is, like you have mentioned very close and just walking distance to a lot of the land marks that Rome has to offer. If they are too far to walk we have bus stops right in front of our hotel and a tourist information office were you can buy all tickets from..
The reason as to why you were not able to hear traffic from the busy road in front of our hotel is that all our windows are sound proof, so our clients can have a peace full and relaxing stay.
We apologies for the weather is Rome, the last few months have really been unbearable for all of us.
Thank you for your kind words Jemgri and we hope so see you soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#204 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#210 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#240 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#320 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#109 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giolli Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giolli Nazionale

Property: Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Rome
#259 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#264 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giolli Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Giolli Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing