We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel
Ranked #925 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good hotel with nice room, good breakfast and very polite staff, but not close to the center of the city. I recommend this hotel who travels by car and wants to have good conveniences for the reasonable price. If you use public transport you’ll spend about 20 minutes to reach the main monuments but you’ll save at least 20 euros every day.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank harry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

I used the Carlomagno Hotel in the past , and booked a single , but that was just too small even for 1 , so this time I booked a double , and that is just right . The price is outstanding for the quality of the hotel ; the location of the hotel is just right although subway is not at hand . As well the surrounding area helps with a good and very fresh fish restaurant just in front (Grazia Deledda) and numerous other take away pizzerias and food providers in the neighbourhood . The Ice Cream shop "GORI" just at the other side of Piazza Sempione is worth the walk after dinner ! Their Chocolate Ice Creams selection is an absolute score ! All was working well in the room , although the TV set was small and outdated . Air conditioning was very efficient , but breakfast could be improved a little , at least with a basket of fresh fruit .
I am sure that I will return to this hotel both for business as a single traveller , and as a tourist with my family .

Room Tip: if you are single always ask for double which is about the same price . My room was just in front lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cremonesiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was in Rome for 2 weeks ago for work. Stressful travel but for luck I got to the hotel fast enough.
Fortunately when I entered the room the air conditioning was on so I finally heaved a sigh of relief. Well decored room, wifi working well, bathroom large enough. Staff very helpful and charming. Definitely a good 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lothar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I booked this hotel for a 3 night stay 10 days ago after reading the reviews on trip advisor. I booked a single room , very clean, with tv and bathroom. The breakfast is the same everyday, but I like the Italian breakfast style,with cappuccino and pastry. The staff is very friendly and I’m sure I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I hated this hotel, but it was booked by our tour group.

We just got back home yesterday. First of all it was extremely hot and humid in Rome and after a full day out walking in the heat we would come back sweat soaked to a hot room because the SOB's would everyday after cleaning it turn the AC off and open the windows.

The AC was so crappy it would take hours before getting down to a reasonably cool temp.

The lobby and lounge where you could allegedly connect to the internet were even worse. Wi-Fi never worked and even if it did you might short out your laptop with the sweat gushing forth from your body.

The staff were OK, except for the maid who screwed us on the AC every day.

I wouldn't stay at this place in summer anyway if you paid me 200 euros a night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Ok, I have been waiting to write this review. We just got back from Italy last week. I went with my family on an EF tour. I had read the last two reviews that talked about robberies and "room invasions" before we left. Needless to say, my family and I were pretty worried. I tried to contact the user "AyltonSouza", but couldn't get any additional details before we left.

The hotel was awesome. Especially after reading his review and the one before. I was so worried, but it was fine. The rooms were clean and nice. The air conditioning and hot water worked fine in the two rooms we had. We even had a nice balcony in one of them. The breakfast was awesome, with a great view and tons of food.

I'm not sure what the two recent bad reviews were about. But for a three star hotel in Italy, this was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend a month ago. I found this hotel on booking and considering the distances from centre and prices I thought it was a good deal, infact so it is! We reached the hotel easily taking the train from Fiumicino airport and then the bus #90 from Termini Station, the same bus take you back to the Termini station where you can find the tube by which you can reach easily everything you want to visit in the city centre. We arrived at night, so I’ll start with the bed, it was very comfortable, the bedroom was well furnished, spacious and clean, wifi included, the bathroom was clean and spacious too, so we were totally satisfied with the room. Staff is very friendly and helpful,( we asked them everything you can imagine).The hotel has a nice rooftop terrace to eat breakfast on when weather permits and the breakfast is very good. Overall: a nice weekend in a beautiful city in a good hotel, recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel La Pergola
#627 of 1,269 in Rome
234 reviews
Ibis Styles Roma Art Noba
#293 of 1,269 in Rome
479 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#351 of 1,269 in Rome
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#441 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,854 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,893 of 3,721 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel

Address: Via di Sacco Pastore 13, 00141 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #925 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Carlo Magno located in Rome on the tree-lined via Nomentana and recently restored, is both comfortable and elegant. The property is well connected to the city centre and to main railway and underground station Termini, by different bus lines. It is also at only 200 metres from the Roma-Nomentano station where trains to and from the Fiumicino airport stop every 15 minutes. Within the hotel there are a bar, a lounge, a breakfast room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Carlo Magno Rome
Hotel Albergo Carlo Magno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing