We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Quiet Location and Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge
Ranked #165 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for three nights while in Rome, and left very impressed. The hotel is in a great location (location is relative to everyone, but I enjoyed staying in a nice quiet area of Rome with easy tram access to the Vatican, the Colosseum, and all points in between). The embassy area is nice and quiet - there were plenty of restaurants, taverns, shops, etc. in the area, but very few tourists which to me made this location ideal. You are also a very short taxi ride from either train station so cost wasn't an issue. The hotel itself - common areas and rooms - are small, but you are in Rome where space is at a premium. This didn't detract from our stay at all - although the breakfast area would get pretty crowded each morning depending on when you wnet down there. That being said, there were ample food and choices for breakfast, and they did a great job of keeping it all continually stocked and cleaned. And the common areas, hallways, and most importantly our room were all kept very clean, I really appreciated that.

The front desk staff were very nice and helpful, great English and were very proficient at getting us directions and logistical help for any of the things we wanted to do. The trams are excellent - very inexpensive and they stop right outside the hotel entrance...we used them multiple times and found them easy to use as long as you were paying attention to the actual stops. We were staying at the back side of the hotel so didn't really get bothered by any tram or traffic noise, and slept well.

I mentioned earlier there are plenty of places to eat within a few blocks radius - but do yourself a favor and be sure to go to Taverna Rossini for dinner. It's literally "across the street and around the corner" and it was very elegant, yet reasonably priced and the food was EXCELLENT. It was so good that we actually went back again for dinner the last night in Rome, and we've never done that on a trip before - go to the same restaurant twice, especially in a city like Rome - but it was that good. And on your way back to the hotel there is a gelateria that had the best gelato we got in Italy (not hyperbole here), my favorite was the Tiramisu. Anyway, it was right across the street from the Hotel, and there are several other restaurants either next door or two to three buildings away - again attesting to the great locatiuon of the HGI. As other reviewers have said, it's also very close to Villa Borghese and the gardens, we got tickets to the Villa and enjoyed the gardens then walked back to the hotel in 10 - 15 minutes.

Overall I really liked this location, especially since it was so clean and quiet and un-touristy. If I'm in Rome again, I will stay here - you can get anywhere you need to go via the trams, a relatively inexpensive taxi ride, or like we did, walked all the way back from the Forum seeing the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, etc. along the way. Great location and the staff will get you wherever you need to go with easy to follow and courteously-given directions.

Room Tip: More quiet the farther to the back (away from the street) you can go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travel_Reviewer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Travel_Reviewer20,
Thank you for the review.
I am glad to read you've enjoyed our location appreciated the staff and the tidiness of our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
Hgi Rome Claridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter weekend with my 2 daughters. Excellent service from all staff especially the reception who gave us great advice for places to visit and how to get about Rome on public transport. The hotel is about 15 mins from the centre of Rome on the trams or buses which are 1.50 Euros for a 1 way ticket or 6 Euros for a day ticket. The hotel room was a good size easily accommodating the 3 of us with modern décor, toiletries, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. High standard of housekeeping throughout the hotel. We ate in the hotel 1 evening and the food was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was also good with fresh waffles, eggs, sausages and a variety of continental items.
We used the health suite which comprises of a small gym, sauna and steam room. all of these were clean and well maintained.
The hotel staff recommended visiting the Borghese Park which is nearby - well worth a visit especially if you have children. If you walk right through this you are also only 10 mins from the Spanish Steps.
The sights in Rome do not disappoint with our favourite being the Colosseum. We paid an extra 13 Euro each for the guided tour which meant we did not have to wait in the hour long queue and were given a history of the Colosseum. We also used the sightseeing bus which for an extra 11 Euros got us a meal at the Hard Rock café.
I would definitely recommend the Hilton Claridge to anyone visiting Rome for either business or leisure as the staff will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: trams can be quite noisy so maybe a room at the back on a higher floor would help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrainegScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear lorraineg,
Many thanks for your beautiful and detailed review.
I sincerely hope we have contributed to make your vacation in Rome one to remember and an experience to perhaps relive soon.
See you soon!
Kind regards.

Cinzia
Guest Relations
HGI Rome Claridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge provides outstanding service. Guests of all ages ( and this definitely includes children !) are made to feel welcome in this fine hotel. The location - very close to the beautiful Villa Borghese, and with easy access to numerous bus and tram lines - is another reason why this hotel should be highly rated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank jandhbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear jandhbruc,
Thank you for the comment.
We do look forward to see you again soon.
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
HGI Rome Claridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were here on holiday for 5 nights. The room was nice and very clean with amenities that you can expect from Hilton chain hotel. The breakfast was ok and you can get some fresh orange juice and proper coffee from the kitchen, you just have to ask. I was also missing fresh tomatoes and cucumbers and that was arranged as well. The pantry next to the reception was also great.
We visited the popular Taverna Rossini and the food was good. If you for some reason get tired to Italian food, I can also recomend Ristorante Lin on Via Basento (about 1km away) with Asian-Italian fusion. The food was very good.

Best part of the hotels was the staff. They were very friendly and relaxed. Nothing we asked about was a problem. What a great little hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper try to get a room from the back of the hotel. You can hear the traffic fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timantti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Timantti,
I'd like to thank you for your comment and for the compliments toward our hotel and staff.
We look forward to the pleasure to see you again,
Arrivederci!
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
HGI Rome Claridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great hotel, one of the few with tea and coffee making in room and even box of tissues! Both a rarity even in top hotels in Italy. Room was excellent and breakfast was great. Location was good, on tram lines that takes you either straight to Vatican or colosseum.

Also had well maintained gym equipment, again a rarity in Italy hotels.

No complaints, even though first choice always for me is the Trastevere region to get the true feel of Roma.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear peterevan,
Many thanks for your comment.
Wishing to see you again soon,
Warm regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
HGI Rome Claridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

we stayed at this hotel in april 2014 for 4 nights with my daughter, for business and leisure. it was very close to Luiss-a university where i had meetings and i chose it both for this location and because it was part of the hilton chain. the hotel is in a nice residential area, far from the touristy areas. it is clean, rooms are large, with all the necessary facilities- a safe, coffee machine and a fridge- there is also a supermarket across the hotel where i was able to buy fruits and drinks. the room also had a balcony where we could relax after sightseeing.
there is a tram stop in front of the hotel- tram 3 went directly to colessum and tram 19 to vatican, so it was ok for sightseeing as well. however, when we want to have dinner in central rome, we had to plan ahead, but it is only a 5 minute cab drive, costing around 10 euros.
the hotel is busy with lots of american tourists as well, all the staff spoke english and it was easy to communicate. they also arranged us a taxi back to the airport.
breakfast was good, not the orange juice and coffee- but other stuff was perfect, the hotel also has a restaurant which we never used- as there are very good restaurants close to the hotel.
the only minor problem we had was on one day, our room was not cleaned until 4 45, so even though we came back to the hotel at 16 pm, we had to wait for 45 minutes. the hotel is close to embassies and borghese gardens- a perfect place to relax. i am glad we did not stay around piazza popolo or vatican, as these areas were very crowded and did not really feel very safe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstraveler036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear businesstraveler036,
Thank you very much for having spent some of your time to write a detailed comment about your stay at our hotel.
I am pleased our hotel met your expectations and that you appreciated our location.
We look forward to welcome you once again,
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
HGI Rome Claridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed in the Claridge before, liked it and decided to stay there again.
The good points of the hotel:
Located in relatively quiet area, very clean, nice breakfast, good restaurant just next door, supermarket conveniently located across the street , very close to bus and tram stations. But the strongest point is the hotel staff: friendly, attentive, polite and eager to help!
Now for the weak points:
Very, very small room (it seems to me that this time we got a smaller room than the one we had 4 years ago). Since we did not come to Rome to watch BBC or CNN in hotel room the room size was not a major problem. However, the closet is tiny too, there are no shelves or drawers to unpack one's stuff, no space to tuck the suitcases. Roaming through the suitcases every morning in search for clean underwear or socks or anything else that had to be stored there, was quite inconvenient.
And there were two small incidents inappropriate for a top rated hotel. Once we returned from the city around fife thirty p.m. to find that our room has not been done yet. The receptionist was very apologetic, offered us some coffee in the lobby while waiting and we did not fuss very much about it. Then on the next day the tea tray with the dirty cups were left in the room. Again there were a lot of apologies.
I do hope they instructed the cleaning man properly, but did not fire him.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tova Yoram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Tova Yoram L,
Thank you very much for your review.
Your opinion is important to us and by telling us what you've enjoyed and what you've not you're helping us on focusing on the services which need improving.
It would be great to have the pleasure to see you again so to show you our efforts and dedication to our customers.
Warm regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
HGI Rome Claridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#155 of 1,272 in Rome
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Relais 6
#37 of 1,272 in Rome
1,926 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge

Address: Viale Liegi 62, 00198 Rome, Italy (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in Rome
#100 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#168 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#189 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $110 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge: 4 stars at the very heart of Parioli - Rome A corner of refinement from where to explore one of Rome's most exclusive quarters. This is the Hotel Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, 4 stars at the very heart of Parioli, a few minutes from Villa Borghese Gardens and with its extraordinary art gallery. At disposal 93 rooms and some junior suite furnished with refined designer furniture in the tranquility of a prestigious area. For those who want to combine the business to fitness can have a sleek gym, sauna and Turkish bath. For lovers of Sport outdoor the adjacent Villa Borghese provides a detailed path Fitness. The hotel is located close to the famous Via Veneto, heart of the Fellini's Dolce vita. The excellence of the hotel facilities is confirmed by a delightful restaurant with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge has a meeting Centre with 4 meeting rooms and a total capacity of 220 people. Wi-fi internet connection is available and totally free of charge in all the areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing