We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel located far from sites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge
Ranked #182 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Hotel located far from sites”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were only here for 2 nights so when we were out exploring Rome, we stayed out until we were ready to come back to the hotel in the evening. We did take a taxi back one evening and split the cost 3 ways. Otherwise, buses can be used for reaching destinations. Then you can use the metro. The metro has only two lines so other transportation is necessary. Besides, Rome is a city where you should walk from place to place. The hotel itself is wonderful. Large hotel rooms, good food, good staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear jcle5 ,
Thanks for your nice review.
On behalf our all our staff we would like to express the appreciation for your lovely compliments.
It flatters us to know that your expectations were not unattended.
We are then looking forward to have the chance to see you soon, in the meantime please accept our
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Booking Departmen
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    478
    156
    33
    14
See reviews for
240
432
65
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights on HH points after deciding that we didn't want to spend $200/night elsewhere. This hotel is not in the center of Rome, but with the tram and bus about 50 yards away, it was convenient to everything. We got a 1-week transit pass, good for all modes of transportation, and went all over the city with no trouble. The room is not large, but adequate. Our biggest complaint would be the lack of drawers -- only 1 drawer under the armoire. Bathroom was quite nice, and towel warmer was a plus. Front desk staff was very helpful, providing directions, suggestions and advice. Breakfast was quite ample -- although bacon was very undercooked, at least by American standards. However, pastries are plentiful and delicious. Heed everyone's recommendation of Taverna Rossini around the corner -- we ate there 4 of our 8 nights. "Individual" pizzas are large enough for 2. Everything is delicious and well-priced. Grocery across the street was well-stocked. 3 banks across the street as well, but bring your passport in for currency exchange. BTW, there is a small self-service laundry in the hotel which was a useful surprise for us. WiFi was free in the room and worked quite well. There are also 2 computers in the lobby business center. All in all, a very comfortable and convenient hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Josie917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had an enjoyable three night stay at Christmas 2012. The hotel is more neighborhoody than the pictures suggest, in the upscale, largely residential area of Parioli. It is out of the touristic heart of Rome, but we found it safe and peaceful, with easy tram service into the center, and quick, affordable taxis when we chose to use them. The rooms are immaculate and nicely appointed, but very compact. As a family of four, we took 2 rooms, and we really did need them. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine, if unremarkable (some of the hot dishes were not kept hot). The rooms were hot, as people say. With that being said, and with some confusion on the part of the desk clerk when we arrived around 1 a.m., I'll give it a 4. We would return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear WaterEnthusiasts,
Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased to read your enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Hoping to be your choice again for your future stay in Rome, we remain,
Yours faithfully.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had a very mixed experience at this hotel. We stayed here because I could use Hilton Honnors points. On the good side, the staff were very helpful, explaining the bus/tram system, recommending good restaurants, and answering questions. The room itself was also ok, very typical of a Hilton Garden Inn. Bus and tram system was good for getting around, and we were also able to walk to several places. On the not so good side we experienced three problems; 1) As others have noted, room can get very hot. Room heat can not be controled in the room, so it was either roast or "turn it off" (quote from front desk). We had to open the window to help cool, which lead to problem 2) a makeship casino behind the hotel, with noise going all night until about 2 or 3 in the morning. Staff told us the casino was illegeal, but calling the police did not resut in anything happening. So, we had to listen to the noise most of the night. Several others complained about the noise as well. I guess it mostly affects the rooms in the back, but other guests on lower floors complained too. The only other minor problems were that the breakfast was not very good and we had a fire alarm at 1:30 am (false alarm, they think someone was smoking in a non smoking room), but it was no fun martching down the stairs outside and waiting in the lobby. Probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buoybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed there 3 nights in Feb 2013. We normally stay at a chain if we aren't sure about overall hotel standard in a city and we think we made a good decision for this one. Price is very good compared to those in historic centre of Rome. The location is slightly off the centre but we actually like it as the neighbourhood looks fine, with walk distance too the big park nearby. There are 2 tram lines stopping in front of the hotel and a few bus routes close by.

The hotel itself is pretty good, a bit non-frill but we think that's just enough. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful, speaking fluent English. Room is on the compact side but the design is great so you wouldn't feel tight given the functionally designed furnitures. Balcony would be nice if we come in hot weather. Breakfast is good with some hot options available on self-service and we ordered omelettes every morning. Coffee from the machine isn't great so better order from waiter/waitress. Remote printing is a good business feature that's also helpful for leisure travels as we printed off boarding pass etc. all complementary. Overall a very well-run hotel, will definitely stay again.

The restaurant nearby, Taverna Rossini, tavernarossini.it is definitely worth mentioning too, as some previous commentators here described, great food and we dined there 3 nights in a row. The waiting staff are friendly with fluent English service and English/Italian menu. Not the cheapest but certainly a local favourite as it is compacted every night when we were there.

Room Tip: Most rooms at the back or side seem to have balcony which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Chen W,
Many thanks for your lovely review.
We are pleased your stay at our hotel was comfortable and up to your expectations.
We do hope there will be another chance to host you hopefully in summer time so you'll be able to enjoy a nice breakfast on your room terrace!
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
Booking Department
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We never stay at American hotels when traveling in Europe, but this time we made an exception. This Garden Inn is pretty typical--very comfortable room, helpful staff, good breakfast. While the location isn't central, the public transportation is right out the door (the tram--the bus is around the corner) and the person who answered my comments promised that they would see that the instruction sheet they hand out tells you how to get back to the hotel as well as how to get to the sights you may be seeing. There is an excellent restaurant around the corner and a grocery market across the street. For people looking for the typical comforts of home, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 for a three day break in Rome. Although further out of city than we would usually book, it was easy to get around as the tram stopped outside to go straight to the Colliseum, a forty minute ride and similar the opposite way to the Vatican. Bus stop around the corner for journey to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Pleasant journeys as people very friendly and helpful.
Hotel room clean and basic but comfortable, fridge and kettle. Could do with more storage and hanging space. We got very wet and there was nowhere to hang wet coats to dry them off. Could not put them in wardrobe obviously. Room very hot as air con is set for winter and cool for summer.
Staff helpful and taxi was easy to arrange to collect us at airport. A great restaurant around the corner called Rossini, superb food, delightful staff and lots of atmosphere. Do not use the one next to the hotel called Mattarello. Overpriced and unhelpful staff. They had an English menu but still produced the wrong order and were arrogant in attitude. They wear T shirts with So Ignorant written on the front, we have to agree!
Had a wonderful time in Rome, recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the road, although it is not that noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovetotravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge
Address: Viale Liegi 62, 00198 Rome, Italy (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in Rome
#108 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#168 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#301 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge: 4 stars at the very heart of Parioli - Rome A corner of refinement from where to explore one of Rome's most exclusive quarters. This is the Hotel Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge, 4 stars at the very heart of Parioli, a few minutes from Villa Borghese Gardens and with its extraordinary art gallery. At disposal 93 rooms and some junior suite furnished with refined designer furniture in the tranquility of a prestigious area. For those who want to combine the business to fitness can have a sleek gym, sauna and Turkish bath. For lovers of Sport outdoor the adjacent Villa Borghese provides a detailed path Fitness. The hotel is located close to the famous Via Veneto, heart of the Fellini's Dolce vita. The excellence of the hotel facilities is confirmed by a delightful restaurant with special care for vegetarians and celiac guests. Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge has a meeting Centre with 4 meeting rooms and a total capacity of 220 people. Wi-fi internet connection is available and totally free of charge in all the areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rome Claridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing