We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, excellent location, friendly staff”
Review of Condotti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Condotti Hotel
Ranked #95 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay, excellent location, friendly staff”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our family of 4 (mom, dad, girls 12 and 10) had a great 4-night stay at the Hotel Condotti this week. We stayed in a family room in the annexe, which is just around the corner from the main lobby. The room was recently renovated, spacious, quiet and clean, with windows to a small balcony overlooking the Via della Croce. You get a basic breakfast tray in the room with bisquits, jam, tea, etc., so we went out and got some fresh bread, juice and charcuterie from a shop just a few meters away, and had a good breakfast for just a few €. The beds were comfortable, the linen was spotless, the bathroom had the usual necessities, as well as bath foam (much appreciated by the kids!). The wifi worked very well, and the tv had international as well as italian channels. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and there was a nice (free) afternoon happy hour in the lobby. We were travelling by car, so we parked at the nearby Villa Borghese car park for 18 € per day - it's maybe about an 800 m walk up the hill from the hotel, but with three long escalators on the way, so it's quite manageable even with luggage.
One of the best things about the hotel is the location: the Spanish Steps and the shopping on Via del Corso, Via del Babuino and Via del Condotti are just a few steps away, Trevi is about a 10 minute walk away, Piazza Navona maybe 15 minutes and the Colosseum a 30 minute walk away. And of course, there's a taxi stand on the Piazza di Spagna if you don't feel like walking. The taxi rides to the Vatican and to the Colosseum were both under 10 Euros.

Room Tip: Room 422 is a spacious, clean, quiet family room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCondotti, Receptionist at Condotti Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Friends,

Thank you for your stay at Condotti! It was a pleasure for us to have your beautiful family here!

Thank you for having appreciated the quality of our room, our services and also for calling us, the staff, "very friendly and helpful". We are glad that our position give you the oportunity to enjoy at maximum all the beauties that the Eternal City has to offer!

We like also your suggestion regarding the car...we remeber to everyone intend to stay in our hotel that we are located in the hart of the historic center, in a restricted area, so we suggest just to leave the car at the nearest parking, in order to avoid any eventually problems.

Hoping to see you again in the future, we send you


Best Regards,

Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    366
    78
    24
    9
See reviews for
391
475
38
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Condotti for 4 nights, had 2 rooms (a superior double and a normal double).

The location is great, 2 minutes walk to the Spanish Stairs (there is also a Metro station), Via Condotti and other shopping streets are nearby. We did not need a taxi or Metro for sightseeing, since all the main attractions (Vatican, St. Peter, Colloseum, Forum Romanum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, etc.) are within 30 minutes walking distance.

Rooms were very clean, the superior room was large and modern, the standard double room was rather small. Both rooms were quiet, we slept well.

Staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Breakfast was good and sufficient (for Italian standards - don't expect a cooked breakfast, except for scrambled eggs and sausages).

Wifi is free, although a bit slow and on one day did not work at all.

We would certainly stay in the Condotti again on our next trip to Rome.

A tip for transport from/to the airport (Fiumicino): When we booked the hotel, they sent us an email, offering to arrange transport for 80 Euros one way. This is a waste of money. Normal taxis are easily available at the airport and cost 48 Euros. Just make sure you go to the taxi line and take an official (white) taxi, not the many unofficial taxi offers you will get at arrival.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCondotti, Receptionist at Condotti Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear friends,

Thank you for your stay at Condotti. Like you could see, we are very good located, all the sightseeing are on walking distance far from the hotel. We always recommend a superior cathegory of room for who search for a major comfort during their stay.

For the breakfast, we do not offer just the italian type "cornetto e cappuccino"...We try to satisfy the requests for one enriched continental breakfast by offering different types of brioches, different cakes, cereals, yogurt, bread, jam, honey, nutella, savory sandwiches, pies, ham, salame, turkey breast, fresh and aged cheeses (including buffalo mozzarella, scamorza ), scrambled eggs and sausages, vegetables, american coffee espresso and ginseng, cappuccino, juices, milk. If you have any other suggestion to improv it, please do not hesitate to inform us!

We have families of 4 that arrives with a lot of luggages...the private minivan at 80 euro works perfect for them, insted of taking 2 taxi. We also offer to our clients on the way back to the airport the alternative of a taxi.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lovely, clean, friendly and helpful staff and in a great location. I'd definitely recommend it for a stay in Rome. Some good places to eat and delicious gelato and chocolate shops all around (Obviously essential to compare them all!). My only caveats with the Condotti (and I wouldn't let it put me off the hotel, it's just better to be aware) are 1. If you go for a quadruple room don't expect the sort you get in the US - we arrived and thought we'd been taken to the wrong room as there was only a double bed - turned out that the sofa in the corner that we'd barely noticed was made up underneath as a sofa bed - we got used to it and it was actually ok. 2. If you're in the annexe there is a breakfast tray supplied - this is actually some dry biscuits with a few sachets of jam which we didn't take much of but what we did wasn't replenished during our 6 night stay. Don't expect to be able to have this as breakfast.
A couple of warnings (not about the hotel) - if you stay in the annexe don't be tempted to eat in the place next door shouting 'pizza!pasta!' All day no matter how much they try to get you in. It was horrible inside and I had mushroom pasta which was oily and stuck together - I was only able to eat half of it and then spent the rest of the evening throwing up with stomach pains all the next day.
We had a bad start to our trip - my husband had his wallet lifted from the front pocket of his jeans on a packed metro when we had just arrived from the airport. They backed out the doors just as they were closing. He realised straight away what happened but could do nothing but watch them walk away on the other side of the doors. This was 2 women apparently carrying babies in front carriers. I understand that it's also common with children doing it too.
The hotel says that it can arrange a taxi to/from the airport. I think the price differs according to the number of passengers - for 4 of us it was going to be €80 ( which is why we chose to arrive by coach and metro at €26). There is a taxi rank round the corner at the Spanish steps and all the taxis quoted €48 to Fuimincino airport which is what it cost us - don't know if you could get this price the other way but it is worth asking at the airport when you arrive as it is a much safer and quicker way to travel and the taxi driver may point out lots of things for you on the way.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fionad400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCondotti, Receptionist at Condotti Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear friends,

Thank you for your stay with us. We are a cozy 3 stars little hotel in the hart of historic center. Is natural for who book here not to expect to find the largest rooms that a modern building has to offer. We have to offer you the charm of an authentic 18th centry old building, a fabulous location, clean rooms, value for money and a special attention to your request during your stay from the part of the staff.

We are sorry to hear that the amenities that you had in the room for the breakfast (coffe, tea, marmelades, toasted bread, biscuits) were not replaced; you should have said something during your stay and we for sure would have fixed it.

Our hotel is very easy to be reached; by metro (only 100 meters far) or by taxi (we are located in one of the few little narrow streets where taxi can enter). For our clients we offer a private car service; is convenient to take the private minivan for 4 people at 80 euro when you have big luggage.

Hoping that you have enjoyed your stay in Rome, we expect you back next time when you decide to choose Rome like your holiday destination.

Best regards,

Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay with my daughter at the Condotti. Staff were really helpful. Hotel was really clean. Location of the hotel is excellent. Room was spacious but at the front of the hotel and noisy at night with people and traffic etc. The noise didn't bother me but my daughter didn't sleep much because of the noise. Breakfast was ok. Bread, cheese, cold meat, salad etc. Only hot food was scrambled egg so don't expect a cooked breakfast but plenty of it so you wouldn't go hungry. I would stay at this hotel again when we return to rome.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 205. Was a big room with a small balcony but at the front and quite noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCondotti, Receptionist at Condotti Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear friends,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Rome. We hope that you enjoyed the free up grade that you had for the room; we are sorry to hear that your doughter had some sleeping problems. Usually, our clients appreciate our quiet little hotel, non instead we are in the hart of the city. Our hotel is situated on one of the few little narrow streets where the cars can enter in the historic center and this allows to the taxi to stop at the front of the hotel. During the day you can also live the roman atmosphere: the street singers that stops to the restaurants near by, but during the night is not so noisy...

The next time, if you decide to come back, we will give you an internal room, which is more quiet.

Thanking you again for you stay, I send you

Best regards,

Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Condotti Hotel in Rome and we really enjoyed it: great location, friendly and helpfull staff, good breakfasts and cosy room, great value for money. Will definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frieda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCondotti, Receptionist at Condotti Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear friends,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Rome; you resume in a few words all the great things that our hotel has to offer: perfect location, nice rooms, selected breakfast, value for money and the staff always glad to assist you in any queries that you may have.

We realy hope to choose us the next time you are in Rome.

Best regards,

Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A wonderful four night stay. The staff were amazing, friendly and so helpful in every way. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were small but then that is to be expected in such a central location. they were clean and comfortable, with a mini bar and safe. Some of our party stayed in the other part of the hotel, which is a few steps from the main reception, this was equally as comfortable. There was a garden room above were you could take a bottle of wine and chat. Such a central location. We walked to all the sights from the hotel and didnt need to use public transport at all. Eating out was easy as there are lots of pretty little restaurants all within walking distance. We had a fantastic time and look forward to returning. Thanks to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCondotti, Receptionist at Condotti Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear friends,

Thank you for your stay and for your great review. We are glad that our stay with us was pleasent for you. We always try to give special attention and the same quality of the rooms to all our guest, even if they booked in the main hotel or in the separate building.

We expect you back soon!

Best regards,

Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Condotti is a wonderful place to stay. Close to so much: Spagna Metro, Spanish Steps, piazza del popolo, excellent restaurants, shopping, etc. Rooms were clean, bathrooms cozy, staff friendly and helpful. They offer a breakfast each morning that is basic but satisfying. Toast, cheese, meat, eggs, yogurt, etc. Very good value. If you want to stay in north Rome, this should be on your short list.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabjohnpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCondotti, Receptionist at Condotti Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear friends,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Rome. We are glad that our amazing position give you the possibility to enjoy all the beauties that the city has to offfer you. Thank you for having appreciated our rooms, our breakfast and for calling us, the staff "friendly and helpful".

Hoping to see you again in the future,

Best Regards,

Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#77 of 1,258 in Rome
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,258 in Rome
2,623 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#96 of 1,258 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condotti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condotti Hotel

Property: Condotti Hotel
Address: Via Mario de' Fiori 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Rome
#57 Business Hotel in Rome
#105 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Condotti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Condotti is located barely 50 metres from the famous Spanish Steps, a choice spot from where the most interesting and fascinating sites of Rome can be quickly and easily reached. Just a few steps from the Hotel is Via Condotti, one of the most elegant streets in the world and the Rome temple of fashion. This exclusive Rome hotel offers a classic and elegant environment, in total harmony with its prestigious location. The guest rooms and common areas have been furnished with extreme care: walnut furniture, sober and refined details, warm rich colours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Condotti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condotti Hotel Rome
Condotti Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing