We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique hotel in Rome”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the first 4 days/3 nights of our honeymoon. The staff was perfectly bilingual and more than helpful and polite. The daily breakfast was delicious and the rooms were extremely clean. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a quaint, friendly, clean, well-located hotel in Rome. I would most definetely stay here again on another trip to Italy.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank swalters925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,259 - 2,265 of 3,025 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2011

We would like to thank all the Hotel Barocco team for their great hospitality. We can definitly say that Barocco is a lovely place, with smily hotel staff, a very very clean room and a fantastic breakfast. We now recommend your place to our friends who want to visit Rome.

PS: the only comment we can make is that room #56 is very very small :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eda1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

we chose the hotel only because we read TA reviews.everything was even better than expectaions.we came 2 adults with 1 child - age 3 , and we got a large room , at the back of the hotel ( far from the piazza ) .it eas excellant stay ,the staff was very polite and helpful, breakfast big buffet , with service ( all kind of coffees, and omlets free of charge ), and dont forget the location, we stayed 4 days in rome and used the metro only once.! we for sure will come back to the Barocco hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theguide1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and I have only just returned from this hotel. We had a great stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. They made you feel welcome. Our room was small but very comfortable. It had every thing that you needed, including Sky TV and a hairdryer. Our friends were staying in another hotel and they didnt even have a wardrobe! This hotel was in a great location, in the old part of the city. It was a nice walk to the Spanish steps and the Trevi Fountain in the evening (10mins). Metro was around the corner. 10mins ride to the colloseum and Vatican. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loumund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This hotel is in a nicely-restored mansion. Piazza Barberini is a great location, a bit off from the main centers of activity but right at the bottom of Via Veneto. Everything is a short metro or bus ride away. There are also good restaurants in the neighborhood. As for the hotel itself, rooms are quite small and the huge beds take up most of the room, but bathrooms are large (although not well-lit) with bidet and good shower (no tub). Breakfast was very good with a lot of variety, and, of course, excellent coffee. The only things for which I would fault the hotel are the lack of free internet and the general unfriendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Middle_East_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 23, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive comments which were much appreciated. In regards to your less positive comments I would like to advise future guests of the following management decision. Many guests have lately been asking for the possibility of free internet access. Despite the fact that the hotel effectively incurs costs related to the hotel internet wi-fi system, and despite the fact that seldomly this service is found "free of charge" in hotels, we have nevertheless decided to extend this gratuity to our guests. We are therefore currently conducting some changes to the system so that from the month of March we will be able to offer this service "free of charge". On the second point, regarding the unfriendliness of staff, the strongest point we try to emphasize at the Hotel Barocco is customer service and professionality and this is generally recognized by all our guests. Whatever happened in this instance may have been an isolated event, or a misunderstanding between yourself and a specific staff member. It is, however, impossible for me at this stage to intervene to correct a problem which I do not know by whom or under what circumstances it arose.

Kind regards,

Franco Caruso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The hotel has benefitted from full refurbishment in 2010. The decor and in-room facilities are excellent and I found the bed large and incredibly comfortable. The room was small (although a superior), and the four-poster bed made it difficult to move around without bumping into metal bars.

The breakfast is good, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Everything is in walking distance and the location is excellent

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerMo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We have just had a great stay in the Barocco Hotel. Travelling with 4 children can be a challenge, but the hotel were very accommodating. The beds were the most comfortable I have slept in, the rooms beautifully presented and quiet (despite the close vicinity to the busy square) and the service excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leendav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,924 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
3,661 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,271 in Rome
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $162 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Tastefully refurbished in 2017 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing