We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal start to our holiday!”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We booked the pre/post cruise package with Hotel Barocco and it was the best decision we could have possibly made to start our vacation out right. Barocco took care of all our pre cruise concerns from the prompt email responses to the pick up at the airport, arrangements of a city bus tour and the transportation to the port. The room was spectacular with a delightful surprise of a rainfall shower, spacious room, and a lovely private terrace overlooking the Piazza Barberini. Perfectly situated near all the major sightseeing sites, it is an easy walk to a new discovery in every direction. And we must also commend the reception staff whose helpfulness left us with such a great lasting impression of Barocco. We are already looking forward to returning on our next visit to Rome!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evonelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,965)
There are newer reviews for Barocco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 2,965 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2010

From the moment we arrived to the day we left, Hotel Barocco was a delightful experience! The friendly desk staff, the quaint (but very clean!) room and the wonderful ambience all added to a fantastic experience. The room, although small, was comfortable and current. The bathroom was a delightful surprise of calming hues and modern conveniences! The bed --- too wonderful for words!! Our party availed ourselves to a small room off the lobby. We enjoyed every evening after vigorous siteseeing with a bottle (or two) of wine and conversation. This hotel is truly a jewel and I would urge other travellers to stay here without reservations!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzsusanfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Rooms were BEAUTIFUL--but lights by bed needed a college degree to figure out how to turn all of them off and on..and ...some of them never turned on ever...
Bathroom was beautiful- showerf had lights that glowed pink/lavender when turned on...VERY nice. Towel warmer never worked and phone in bathroom NEVER work nor was replaced when we asked....An hour and 1/'2 to wait for someone to bring towels was crazy..we went ahead and showered with the teeny towels left. Need to UPGRADE quality of towels--very rough and tiny compared to the luxurious gorgeous small room.
Breakfast was wonderful...all types of hams,cheeses,hard boiled egss, juices,croissants,pastries etc. VERY VERY GOOD>
Front desk was very good 99% of the time . Christiano, the 7 am-3pm front desk person was terrific !!
The nite before we had to leave we asked for a wake up call..thank the lord I set my cell phone-- it woke me up. I called downstairs and was told the guy at front desk and he was going to call soon...and this was 1/2 hr AFTER we wanted the wake up call..NOT the way to be if u NEED to get up to catch a plane. IF u r in that pickle, go downstairs and tell them u want an AUTOMATIC WAKE UP CALL....then it works just find.

Would we stay here again--yes.....was it perfect, no but pretty darn close.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Room was very comfortable. Each room has a different layout. Excellent service by the front desk, Housekeeping did a great job.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weezync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

After traveling around Italy for over 3 weeks we ended our trip with a 4 night stay at the Hotel Barocco, and it really couldn't have been better way to finish our vacation. For some unknown but delightful reason we were upgraded to a junior suite that was very spacious, lovely, and had a wonderful view of the Piazza Barberini and it's goings on. The entire hotel staff was extremely friendly, everyone at the front desk very helpful with arranging tours, dinner recommendations and reservations, and anything else we needed. Breakfast was very nice...my husband loved that he could get fresh eggs....service very good. The location is ideal, off the Via Veneto, near the Spanish Steps and Trevi, with a taxi stand, the Metro and a bus stop all right there. The only down side is the piazza can be a little noisy through the night, but playing a bit of soft music seemed to soothe it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank principessa3225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This hotel offers a great location combined with excellent helpful service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomannwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We had the opportunity to stay at Hotel Barocco twice in October. On our first stay we were upgraded to Jr. Suite #59. I would recommend this room if you feel like you need extra space, there is plenty. It has a very comfortable bed, ample bathroom and balcony overlooking Piazza Barberini. You will hear more street noise in this room and to get to the room you take the elevator to the 4th floor then down the hall, then up a marble spiral staircase. We had a wonderful staff member that showed us the way when we checked in.

Our second stay was in room #46. This is a smaller room but with all the same amenities. This was a quieter room as it is not on via Barberini but it doesn't have a view. If you can't find your slippers, check the bottom drawer of the night stand.

Both rooms had very comfortable beds and came with a fresh fruit plate, robes and slippers, flat screen TV, safe and turn down service.

The bathroom amenities are good but you will need to bring your own conditioner and wash cloths - lots of towels but no wash cloths. Breakfast was more than adequate with fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and your choice of coffees.

We experienced exceptional service - we were directed to a travel agency down the street where we bought train tickets. We were able to buy subway tickets at the front desk and the metro stop was just a block away. The staff was always pleasant and professional.

Note: When you are arriving, let your driver know the entrance to the hotel is around the corner on via della Purificazione not on via Barberini.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogreenChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,802 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,225 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,267 in Rome
3,593 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $194 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing