We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
naperville, il
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed June 20, 2009

The Baroccco is in a good location. The staff sold us metro passes and explained how to use them. Their bus & metro is easy to figure out and great to use. Stops right infront of the hotel. We got around Rome great. We'd do it again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbbgNaperville_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,230
    556
    78
    20
    2
See reviews for
492
1,765
103
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights but two were not that great. If you are located anywhere near the street, even on the side street where we were, it is very very noisy!! Friday night was so bad we didn't get any sleep what so ever. Wasn't worth it to change rooms as we were leaving the next morning. The breakfast everyone is raving about was awful to us. Eggs were runny and cold and the yogurt came out of the cup like milk. We got there almost right when they put the stuff out so it shouldn't have been that bad. The staff was very nice throughout our whole visit so that was a plus. The hotel is in walking distance of everything. The only thing we took a metro to was St. Peter's and it was only 1 euro per person. The metro is very close to the hotel which was another plus. The maids do not understand what a "do not disturb" sign is either. We left this up a couple of times and each time we came back to our room we found that they had entered and clean anyway.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCSUJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

we stayed at hotel barocco at the end out a 3 week trip and while it was in a convenient location, probably would not be quick to recommend for the price. i had to use a few am ex points, and this was the best rated for the additional money i had to spend. if i had to actually pay the room rate without the points, it would be way overpriced.

if you at all are sensitive to noise, this is not the place for you. while i totally understand we are in a large city (which i love), beyond the traffic, there was what we dubbed "crazy guy" in the piazza yelling at cars and making all sorts of odd noises. we first were given a room with a side window (not facing piazza barberini, but a side street). i thought it would be ok as i wear earplugs anyway but after being in the room for an hour or so, we determined that there was no way we would be able to tolerate the noise and asked if there were any other rooms available. the gentlemen at the front desk was very accomodating and did find us an interior room, albeit with twin beds, but by then we didnt' care. the room was huge compared to the first one and was very quite but pretty dark. i don't think housekeeping was very happy with us about moving and didn't really hide the fact. other than the front desk, i didn't find anyone that worked their to be very friendly.

rooms could use an updating but the bathrooms were very nice. breakfast was good, plenty of the normal european fare. the hotel is very well located to any of the sites. just a quick stroll to spanish steps, pizza navona and trevi but we took a cab to st peters. we love rome, but for the posted rates, probably could find something a bit better.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The hotel is in a great location, and the staff in the lobby were very helpful. Room was very nice and clean, and we did not hear any street noise with the windows closed. You can walk to most sites. Taxis are expensive in Rome. We took the metro to the Vatican (1 euro each way), and the lobby staff sold us the tickets. There was a metro stop right in the Piazza Barberini. The staff also recommended an excellent restaurant that was very close the Trattoria Trittone. It was the best food we had in Italy. The breakfast included scrambled eggs,excellent pastries, and very good coffee.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat89Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

The hotel is perfectly placed in a beautiful part of the city, within walking distance of most of the sights,. The room was great, clean and comfortable, bathroom with bath, shower and bidet. Breakfast was excellent, loads of choice and the staff were helpful and very friendly, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilbet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Planned to walk everywhere so needed a fairly central location. Barocca was ideal - within easy walking distance (even for pensioners like us) of all the major sites (and much more). The short distance to Trevi Fountain made for a lovely stroll each evening.
Everything about the hotel suited us - including the wide choice breakfast
Rome great - particularly the architectural gems around almost every corner when walking off the beaten track. One disappoinment - the overcharging by most restaurants. Always know the price before ordering - 10 euros for complimentary (?) bread is a little over the top!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Spent a week in Rome in late April - did all the tourist stuff from the Barocco as our base of operations. Every detail exceeded expectations. Staff was top-rate, professional and eager to serve. We upgraded from our base suite to balcony suite for twenty Euros/night - a great bargain, especially since we were "paying" for base room with American Express points. Good restaurants in vicinity and an excellent location just off Via Vittorio Veneto.

This hotel is comprised of two adjoining buildings - has been expanded and upgraded recently - cleanliness and staff attention to detail were more than could have hoped for.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoSchwank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,680 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,258 in Rome
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,258 in Rome
1,297 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,258 in Rome
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing