We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and cosy in the heart of Rome”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

During our summer trip to Italy, we had the chance to stop in Rome for a few days to visit some of the historical sites. Hotel Barocco's location was excellent. In the heart of Rome within a 15 minute walk to the Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. We are a family with 2 small children. We stayed in a suite with one large bed and sofa bed in the sitting room which was the perfect set-up. The service at the front desk was personal and friendly. The breakfast buffet was very good and our children enjoyed it too. We will definitely stay at the Barocco during our next "Roman Holiday"!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwimpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,519 - 1,525 of 3,037 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice hotel in a very convenient location.
The staff at the front desk were very polite, professional and friendly.
We stayed in the suite with the private pool - well, it's not really a private 'pool' but a massively oversized bath tub in the terrace. Our 2.5 year old enjoyed it the most :)
Breakfast was good - they are fairly particular about the timings though and we got told off by one of the serving staff :) - although in a very professional way when I asked for another helping of eggs just after the closing time.
Unfortunately, the piazza opposite the hotel was undergoing renovation so there wasn't much to see.
Overall, we had a great taste of traditional Italian hospitality at the Barocco.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddy374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Fabrizio at the hotel was Fabulous! Fabrizio and I emailed long before our trip to Rome... He is the best reason of many to stay at the Hotel Barocco. The service he provided was second to none. We were two women traveling to Rome after a Greek island cruise. We had 3 days to see it all and with Fabrizio's help we did just about everything on our list. He arranged for pick up at the pier when we got off the ship our driver was waiting and we arrived without any delays to the hotel. The hotel is a small boutique style. On arrival (at 10AM) our room was not quite ready we were invited to go into breakfast in the hotel dinning room while we waited and it was lovely. We were taken to our room on the 6th floor which was immaculate with a lovely bathroom. Delicious Fresh fruit waited, along with bottled water and nice terry robes and slippers. Any encounter with all staff was extremely positive. On our second day we went to the hotel bar and had a snack and drink. A great idea before heading upstairs. Fabrizio made dinner reservations suggestions for lunch. He even wrote out in Italian directions for the cab driver for some stops we wants to make on the way to dinner. My only issue was the fountain in the Barberini square was closed for repair, but certainly no fault of the hotel. Location was great. Highly recommend this hotel and make sure you meet Fabrizio. An asset to this property.

Room Tip: European rooms are not large. Some American may be shocked on arrival. Make sure you get a hotel wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked a room in the annex, right next to the hotel. The room was fabulous, well appointed with a comfortable king size bed and a huge marble bathroom. It was just the kind of accomodation my wife had hoped for and the hotel really delivered. Further, the hot breakfast, cooked to order, was special bonus, especially so since we had spent a month imbedded in an Umbrian hilltown, eating Italian breakfasts, an expresso and a pastry. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Our room in the annex, number 20 was beautiful and tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a very pleasant place to stay the rooms are nice and the staff is very helpful. The location is excellent and you can walk to most tourist attractions.
Our our only 2 complaints are no restaurant or room service. Yes you can walk out and find plenty of places to eat but they are mostly terrible pizza places. The other negative is the free WiFi. It is dial up speed and you have to re log in each time a complicated process.
The breakfasts however are spectacular. Would love to be able to give it 4 stars but with ubove deficiencies am not able to.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nzcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel on our first time in Rome. The staff was extremely helpful, the location could not have been better. We were able to walk to all the main sights, and there are excellent restaurants in close proximity. Our room was a biot quirky but perfect except for the lack of drawer space. But, who cares about that in Roma!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjljrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our honeymoon and it is in a great location, not far from the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. The room was very nicely decorated and what struck is was the attention to detail - the night before we left, a plate of cakes was left in our room with a note thanking us for our stay. The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of choice. A great place to stay which we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,963 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,271 in Rome
3,676 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,271 in Rome
4,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,400 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,271 in Rome
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $160 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Tastefully refurbished in 2017 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing