We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Bentleys”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the Bentleys”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We so much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Barocco which is well placed for sightseeing and close to the Metro. The hotel is comfortable, elegant and well appointed. The staff just couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Loved the breakfasts.

Room Tip: We asked for and got a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,232
    556
    78
    20
    2
See reviews for
493
1,766
103
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I cannot praise this Hotel enough. We stayed here last week as part of a double celebration, it was our Honeymoon and my wife's 40th Birthday so our choice of Hotel was incredibly important to us for such a special occasion. Prior to choosing this Hotel we had looked on Tripadvisor to find nice, centrally located Hotels that really seem to value your custom. Barocco is exactly this and it's many many excellent reviews and rating on Tripadvisor are more than justified. After finally deciding on Barocca and booking the Hotel back in November we had exchanged emails over the months since with the Hotel regarding making arrangements for us such as Airport Pickups and Excursion Tickets / Bookings etc. Cristiano (the Front Desk Manager) has been amazingly helpful with everything. He is incredibly courteous, knowledgeable and responds promptly to any emails and was always willing to offer advice to help us in our planning. He was there to greet us personally on arrival at the Hotel and gave us the wonderful news that we had been upgraded to a the Junior suite with Terrace and "Love pool". This was just out of this world. We had booked a Superior room anyway and was expecting that to be lovely having seen the pictures on the various websites. But the suite just took things to another level. The quality of the fixtures and fittings, bedding, Toiletries, everything is just top notch. I have only seen standards like this in 5 Star Hotels in Dubai previously. The king size bed was just wonderfully comfortable meaning we slept perfectly each night. The chance to sit outside on the terrace on the evening, enjoying a glass or two of wine, high up above the hustle and bustle of Rome was just lovely. Beakfast at the hotel was wonderful too, with a buffet of everything you could think of, juices, cereals, fruit, ham, cheese, croissants, sweet treats and then the waiter or waitress takes your order for Hot food such as eggs (however you want them cooked) and bacon and toast. This was always deliciously cooked and so fresh. All of the staff we came into contact with were polite and smiling. Daniele and Cristiano on the front desk deserve special mentions as they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and looked after. The Manager left us a special note and some tasty cakes in the room on the final evening, "thanking us" for staying at the Barocco. This is only a little touch but it goes so far into making you as the Customer feel special and not taken for granted. Other hotels could take note and learn a lot from this level of Customer Service and politeness.
I am often quick to criticise when I don't get good Customer Service so it is important that when I do experience such wonderful hospitality as the Barocco then I choose to recognise that too. If you are considering a getaway to Rome and you want to stay in a Hotel in a perfect location where you will be appreciated and looked after, rooms are beautiful with many facilities provided free of charge such as in room safe, wifi and Satellite TV, lovely marble bathrooms and the staff treat you as you should be treated then look no further than Barocco. The Rooms and Hotel generally are spotlessly clean. It is walking distance to all the major locations, the only place we didn't walk to was Vatican Museum and we caught the Metro directly outside the Hotel in Barberini square and 4 stops later we were at the Vatican. I think if you walked it, it is about 2.5KM. If you use the Metro buy a BIT ticket which costs 1.50 euro and allows you to take as many tubes, buses or trams in 75 minutes. This was fine for our one trip to the Vatican, but if you are using Metro a lot then it may pay to buy an all day ticket - even those are only 3 or 4 euros I believe.
Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Pantheon and Colliseum are all between 5 and 15 minute walk away. The area the hotel is located in feels safe and we never felt nervous walking out both day and night.

To summarise - if you haven't booked the Barocco for your next trip to Rome, then why not? Don't consider anywhere else - this is perfect.

Room Tip: Junior Suite on 4th Floor is wonderful, with views of the busy square below, but private enough to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worcs_Couple1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I am so glad I took a chance booking this hotel. I am a hotel "perfectionist" Love nice bedding, beautiful rooms and the little luxuries. This hotel had it all. Although the rooms are very small they are beautifully decorated and cozy.
The best part is the kindness of the staff. I felt like I was leaving friends they are so sweet.
The location is excellent although there are no real views and sometimes the street noise is pretty loud, but it's "Rome"!
Breakfast was very nice and they would make fresh omlets if you liked.
If you're looking for a big, elegant hotel, this is not it. It is a small boutique hotel on a side street.
We would go back and ask for a higher up room and say hello to the staff again!

Room Tip: Higher room and one away from the street lamp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phoenix100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I chose this hotel for a short family trip, based on Trip Advisor critique and I was pleasantly surprised! It was everything they said! Good location, friendly and efficient service! Our room was the one without real window, one other member commented on this, but we did not mind as it was big, clean, luxurious and the bathroom immaculate!
Their suggestions for cheap and good quality meals were very successful!
thank you Barocco, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiriakis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Barocco is a real gem. Answerring to the best of " boutique hotel" definition, the Barocco provides confortable rooms, outsanding service , very nice breakfast and and an amazing location. You may walk to many places of interest in Rome, are well connected to most attractions and especially to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi fountain . They gracefully recomend and make reservations for restaurants or order a taxi for you.
We stayed with them a year ago and while going back to Rome this year will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mira l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at this hotel, completely renovated since we stayed there 5 years ago. With only 41 rooms, this is a comfortable boutique hotel. The staff is friendly and responsive, and pointed us to some excellent smaller restaurants in the area. The rooms are beautifully done, with marble baths and colored lights in the shower! Very clean and neat.

The dining area is tastefully furnished, and breakfast, which is included in the room, was quite good. There are good restaurants in the immediate area for dinner: try Crispi 19.

But the location is a real selling point as well. Just off the Piazza Barbarini, the hotel is quiet, yet centrally located: about 5 minutes to the Trevi Fountain in one direction, and the same to the Spanish Steps in the other. A half a block away is the Via Veneto, and taxis are always available on the Piazza Barbarini.

In short, a wonderful choice for Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PierreLeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife, 2 children and I recently stayed 3 nights at Barocco Hotel. We took 2 adjacent rooms. The hotel scores highly on charm with tasteful marble surfaces, elegant decorative touches, comfortable beds, and clean and well appointed bathrooms. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast room also scores high on charm and the breakfast buffet was the best breakfast experience we had during our trip to three cities in Italy. The hotel is centrally located on Piazza Barberini, which is steps away from the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. We highly recommend staying in this hotel and hope to stay again there on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HS168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,680 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,258 in Rome
3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,258 in Rome
1,298 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,258 in Rome
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing