We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!!!”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay here!!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you are in any doubt whilst reading the many reviews on different hotels in Rome I will spare you the time. This is a brilliant hotel. The hotels location is pretty much perfect. We could walk to all of the sights and attraction and never needed to use the metro. The furthest away being Vatican at about a 40 minute walk. The walk however is brilliant with so much other stuff to see and explore so for us it was much better to walk. Trevvi fountain about 7 minutes. Colliseum about 15 -20 minute walk. I could not fault the staff. Very friendly and would book us restaurants of our choice for the evening. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice. We were a young professional couple who like dining and exploring and were not dissaponinted with our choice of hotel. I am fussy and like good standards. I was not dissaponinted. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay and my partners 30th birthday one we will never forget.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robjo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,230
    556
    78
    20
    2
See reviews for
492
1,765
103
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent experience. Service was excellent, friendly, and courteous. Breakfast was also excellent.
Within walking distance of many historic sites and the Borghese gardens.Metro across street.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from Barberini piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehaven
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just spent the Valentines weekend in Rome in this Hotel with my wife and another couple. Couldn't fault it, lovely room, perfect central location, great hospitable staff and a good breakfast. The shower in our room was the best shower we've ever used in a Hotel, plenty of pressure and more heat than you'd need. If I had one minor criticism it is that there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room which would be welcomed after sight seeing around Rome all day. There is however a well stocked mini bar in the room. Thanks Barocco for an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogonajetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursledon, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Really lovely hotel, exceptionally clean inside, with helpful and polite staff. The breakfast included was very tasty - all tastes catered for, with cereals, fresh fruit, cakes, pastries, meats and cheeses!!! Hotel was very central - no main tourist attraction more than 35 mins walk away (Trevi fountain and Spanish steps 5-10mins away), and Termini station 15 mins walk.

Will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: We had a superior deluxe room - could not hear any noise from the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent 6 nights at the Barocco Hotel and cannot fault it at all. The hotel was very modern, the rooms were in immaculate condition and the staff were so helpful and friendly. It is an excellent base if you are planning on seeing the sights in Rome. Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps and the Colosseum are all withiin walking distance. There is a metro station right beside the hotel if you want to go further. There are an abundance of restaurants nearby and good shopping streets just a stones throw away. We had a fantastic top floor room at the corner of the building so had a great view of Piazza Barberini, it's just a shame the Triton Fountain fountain was under construction. There was a great spread for breakfast in the mornings and the waitresses went out of their way to assist if you had any other requirements. Overall, we loved the place and would definitely book here on our return to Rome in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor corner room as you have a great view of Piazza Barberini
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

we have just returned from a wonderful 3 nights in Rome staying at the hotel Barocco . This is just a fabulous hotel in every way. From the moment we arrived to the time we left we experienced nothing but wonder !! Everything about the hotel was exceptional, the position very central making it ideal for exploring, the room was very comfortable and although a little smaller than expected it was perfect. Every effort was made by the staff to make our time there comfortable and welcoming. I would certainly reccommend this hotel to anyone whether on business or holiday it caters for all. One tiny tiny issue was there were not coffee or tea making facilities in the room x however the fresh fruit and home made biscuits were a lovely touch x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jayne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our stay at the Barocco hotel was for a single night at the end of a long trip, and while it was quite sufficient for our purposes this time.

A huge upside to the Barocco is its location. It is about a five minute walk straight up the street to the top of the Spanish steps, and on one sunny afternoon we had a very nice, long stroll back from a visit to the Colliseum. One can virtually stumble into great restaurants anywhere in Rome, and there are several within easy stumbling distance of the Barocco. If you do not have much luggage, the Piazza Barberini is only 2 stops on the Metro from the Roma Termini train station. We had more luggage than we would normally travel with, and took a taxi from the train station for about 12 Euros. The taxi driver did not know the hotel, but he did know the Via della Purificazione (I showed him where the hotel was located on a map partly to assure him that the hotel was there, and partly to let him know that I knew the location was in a straight line from the station).

The entrance to the hotel reception is off the Via della Purificazione, which is a narrow street leading off the Piazza Barberini. Do not be fooled by the brass plaque on the wall facing the Piazza, or you may end up in a small cafe.

The staff were friendly and answered questions we had. We did have to go in search of assistance a couple of times, such as when we went into the bar for a drink prior to departing for the airport. They did not really go above and beyond, but I have no complaints about the service.

The room was small and very cramped. Over half the floor space was taken up by the king size bed. Once our luggage was piled in the corner, there was not enough room to open the closet door. For accessing the internet, we either had to sit on the bed, or go downstairs to a common area in the bar. For a one night stay, this was fine, but I would want something far more spacious for a longer stay. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Considerable thought seems to have gone into making the room look nice, but to some extent the looks came at the cost of function. The two sets of semi-sheer drapes on each window afforded us privacy, but still admitted enough light in the morning that sleeping in was not really an option.

The breakfast buffet served in the bar area was more than decent with eggs, bacon, bread, an assortment of breakfast pastries, cold cuts, cheeses, fruits and yoghurt. As with pretty much every hotel we have stayed at in Europe, the coffee served with breakfast was lovely and would put Starbucks offerings to shame.

The elevator appears to have been recently upgraded, but it was still predictable quirky. You would have trouble getting more than 3 people into it even without their luggage, the speaker squawked out some static whenever you reached your floor, and the elevator's programming seemed unable to accept people inside it might be going to different floors. When I entered and pushed our floor immediately after someone else had pressed a different floor, the elevator just zipped by my floor.

All in all, it was a brief and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Depending on one's budget, ask if a small suite is available as the standard rooms are quite sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WDTVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,675 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4,141 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing