We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Barocco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Barocco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, four of us stayed at the Hotel Barocco for nine days in Rome.
The rooms, beds, and baths were excellent. The room was quiet despite being just off the busy Piazza Barbarini. The hot breakfast included featured an extensive buffet plus made to order items. The hotel is centrally located with both subway and taxi stops within one block. The restaurant recommendations for places within a short walk were all excellent. On the last day, one of our adults required an urgent visit to an english speaking specialist with access to CT scans and potential hospital admission. I called the American Hospital in Rome and was told that they did not have an emergency room and a physician visit could not be scheduled within 2-3 days. The hotel manager, based on the specialty required, put me, a physician, directly in touch with a private specialty clinic over the phone. I spoke with an english speaking administrator and we had an urgent physician visit with the hour in a private clinic 30 minutes away by taxi. Our patient was expected, and examined by a physician immediately. An emergent CT was deemed needed and was done after a 30 minute wait with the attending visit f/u within another 45 minutes. Hotel Barocco has expert, attentive, extraordinary service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,127
    538
    75
    20
    2
See reviews for
469
1,689
97
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed three nights as part of our honeymoon and booked the terrace room with the love pool, which gave us our own little corner of Rome in which to relax. The room itself was superb and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent - everything seemed just a few minutes walk away and there are a number of lovely restaurants in the area around the hotel. Would recommend Barocco to anyone looking for a short stay in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed a total of 7 nights . Everything was fantastic. Beds are very comfortable, breakfast is good, service is top notch, rooms are good size (by European standards), and you could not ask for a better location.The Hotel is wonderful and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kari v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel while celebrating our honeymoon and were very happy here. We completed a Mediterranean cruise and stayed here on the bookends of a 13 day bus tour of northern Italy. As this is November, we had to pack summer clothes for the cruise and winter clothes for the bus tour which left us with excess baggage that we could not carry on the bus (weight limitations). The hotel allowed us to store our baggage free of charge which was a nice bonus. In general, the hotel was very clean, the rooms comfortable, thick walls for privacy, great location, solid breakfast with made-to-order eggs and coffee, and the staff was exceptionally friendly / helpful. My wife is from the Philippines and neither of us had any problems speaking with the staff - everyone spoke and understood English. Location was great; we were able to walk to everything (and there is a hop on, hop off bus stop for Rome tours about 50 meters away if you prefer to not walk). In general, the views from the hotel windows do not appear to be great but that seems to be par hotels in Rome. The room came with complimentary wi-fi internet that actually had decent speed - I'm a computer geek by trade and live by internet so this was a big deal for me. The hotel is rather expensive and I can understand where a person may expect more for the money when compared to standards in many locations that I've traveled throughout the world. However, in comparison to the other 4-star+ hotels that I stayed in, in Italy and Rome particularly, I still consider this hotel a value for it's location. Others were MUCH further from everything, had tiny showers, rock hard beds, and paper thin walls.

We booked a Classic Double but were given a free upgrade to a suite on the first overnight stay. The room was not a traditional western room but it was spacious enough for us to lay out our 4 suitcases of luggage to rearrange everything. (My wife had a lot of dresses and shoes from the cruise.) The bathroom was roomy and modern. You had to peek over the small privacy wall to see the square but there was a decent view of Piazza Barbarini.

Our second stay lasted 3 days in a Double Room. The bathroom was not as modern but was still comfortable and up-to-date by Western standards - good shower, counter space, etc. The room was spacious and bed comfortable. As noted, not much view from the windows but we were only in our room long enough to sleep and shower so it was no factor for us.

Overall, I give very high marks and would recommend to any friends or family traveling to see Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Decah01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This facility is very well run, clean, and relatively modern. I did find the room small, but it was very nice. I'm from North America, where the rooms tend to be much larger, so my guage could be off a bit! The continental breakfast was very good, with lots of variety. The staff at the front was extremely helpful. They allowed us to check in quite early (our flight in was in the morning) and they did not add an additional charge. They had good suggestions for restaurants, and provided many other suggestions that were very helpful when navigating the city. The housekeeping staff also did an excellent job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked a superior room for a stay this past week at Hotel Barocco.Our room was well appointed and in relatively good shape as the hotel had been renovated in 2010. King bed and shower were noteworthy. Also, two double-paned casement windows (4 panes of glass) on each window opening for a very quiet room, despite all the street traffic. HVAC unit in the room is tied to a centralized system; we felt a bit warm (and noticed that people on the streets were over-dressed for what seemed to be pretty mild temperatures; folks like it on the warm side, we surmised.). Our room overlooked the Piazza Barberini and the Fontana Triton. The piazza serves also as a stop on the Metro system and has continous access to taxis, which further enhances Barocco's location, not to mention its central location to all of the top sights. From the time we arrived to the time we left, the service was impeccable. We were greeted the first day wtih an impressive fruit basket. Breakfasts were very nice, and the service even more so. The front desk was always ever so polite and helpful. Turn down service occurs at some point in the evening and on the last night is accompanied by a small gift to punctuate a fine guest experieince. The neighborhood has numerous and a range of dining options. We used widely advertised airport shuttle serivces, but recommend just taking a taxi or explore using the shuttle arranged by the hotel instead.

Room Tip: If you want a view, book a superior room or a suite, and request a view. Ask about the hotel-arrange...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Normtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have visited this hotel three times and each time we were impressed with the quality of this hotel. The first time we chose this hotel mainly due to its central location but we kept going back due to the excellent stays we always had. In our last stay we had our room upgraded, something we really appreciated as the junior suite is one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. The hotel is very well kept, rooms are well sized and clean, and staff is very helpful and always willing to help. Breakfast is very good. I would recommend this hotel to friends and would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing