We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barocco Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$213
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$474
$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$311
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$193
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$320
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$409
$381
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$181
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$148
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Navona(Rome)
$197
$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,117)
Filter reviews
3,117 results
Traveler rating
2,431
582
82
20
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,431
582
82
20
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza barberinitrevi fountainspanish stepshandwritten notebowl of fruitwithin walking distanceside streetthe hotel staffturn down servicewonderful hotelour honeymoonbreakfast was amazingdinner reservationsbottle of proseccopastriesmetro stoptaxi stand
Filter
Updating list...
1,895 - 1,900 of 3,117 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Location is good, you can walk to the major highlight. Beautiful bathroom. Small but everything you need for a night a two. Great restaurant recommendation by the concierge. The receptionist was even able to speak french to us!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My sister and I spent five days at Hotel Barocco at the end of a cruise of the eastern Med in October 2012. My memories of the Barocco will always be memories of the people who work there, from the front desk to the breakfast room and bar to the maid service. Each of them contributed to our enjoyment of Rome. Can't thank them enough. The hotel has been recently renovated and is gorgeous. There are occasional encounters with the Italian preference for style over function (storage and flat surfaces) in the rooms. You come to appreciate the encounters. Everything at Barocco is squeaky clean and lovingly maintained. Beds and all linens were superb. The windows open for fresh air and the sounds of the beautiful piazza out front, but when closed, all noise is shut out. The sleeping is good! The elevator, A/C and room size are much better than I expected for an older building in the center of a European city. Their breakfast was beautifully presented and a perfect blend of choices both hot and cold. The location of Barocco in Rome is perfect for strolling the iconic sights nearby, and public transit, including a great hop on hop off tour bus, is across the piazza. It was a great value and a very good choice. I hope to stay at Barocco again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofrichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel! Located on a side street, it's near a metro station and taxi stand. The breakfast is delicious; the rooms clean, quiet and comfortable. What makes it outstanding is the staff - from the front desk to the bartender, everyone makes it clear that guests' comfort and convenience are their goal. I arrived without luggage and the front desk worked for two days to track it down for me. They offered tips of where to shop to replace essential items and called the airlines several times a day for me. I highly recommend this small, personal and convenient hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicomliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at the Barocco with my husband and 8 year old son for 5 nights in October in a suite overlooking the Piazza. We booked via Expedia based on the excellent Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed! The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was luxurious with a good selection of toiletries. Mineral water and fruit were in the room for our arrival. The breakfast choice was varied and the cakes and fruit salad were particularly good. The breakfast room is slightly smaller than ideal but this did not spoil our enjoyment. The staff were helpful and gave very good recommendations for restaurants for dinner, often places which on first appearances we wouldn't have tried but which had excellent food and atmosphere and some local diners. It was obvious during our stay that the hotel is making a real effort to give guests an excellent experience.

Room Tip: The family suite was ideal for the three of us. The sofa bed in the lounge area can be divided from the bedroom with sliding doors.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertina32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Barocco two weeks ago for three nights. Our room was so small that we became claustrophobic.We wanted to change rooms but the hotel was sold out. First ,we do not understand what everyone is raving about concerning this hotel.???The staff was indeed very nice and pleasant but, when given restaurant recommendations It seemed that they were pushing restaurants that they were associated with rather than for good food.or ambiance. The small bar was fine for an evening drink and the breakfast room was pleasant enough but nothing special. I will say that they did make eggs to order and that was good. The hotel needs to concentrate in possibly investing in some lightbulbs in the bathroom rather than the "emotional" shower they have which is odd to say the least. We asked many of the guests how that came to pick this hotel and they all came from travel agents. So, you have to wonder about that.
Please don't get me wrong this is a nice small hotel. But, a 4.6 rating??? Seriously??

Room Tip: ASK about room size before you book. Don't go by the "Superior Double' etc. It's meaningless. And, if possible spring for a larger room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francocaruso, Direttore generale at Barocco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
In reading your comment I really cannot find any critical points other than denoting your frustration over the fact that you would have liked a larger room but, unfortunately we were sold out. We have 4 different rooms types, all being well described on our website (including size) to facilitate guests in choosing the room type which is most suitable to their needs.
On all other points you pass judgements and make assumptions as to the restaurants that our staff suggest, travel agents booking the hotel, guests giving the hotel a good rating which have little to do with your personal experience of the hotel. We highly respect the comments and points of view of all the guests who choose to leave a review, as we do yours. But really believe you should do the same.
Franco Caruso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews