We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marcella Royal Hotel
Ranked #94 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was a good quality hotel. It did have one strange feature! The shower was in the sleeping portion of the room rather than the bath room. The staff was generally helpful and attentive. They were able to give us good recommendations for dinner locations nearby. The hotel is not located very close to the more touristy locations but are relatively close to the rail station and metro lines.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,722)
There are newer reviews for Marcella Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is a good base for exploring Rome. It is very good value and very much what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.
Breakfast is good and always included in your room price. It does finish a little early at 10am, but sitting on the roof terrance on a nice morning is really lovely.
location is reasonable for sightseeing, and there are lots of good local restaura.nts and bars nearby

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at this very comfortable hotel which in my opinion has a great location from where you easily access all the sights of this wonderful city. In three and a half days you will not be able to truly do justice to all the sights on offer as although the city is compact and quite easy to access on foot there is just so much to see.The Marcella Royal is in a very good neighbourhood and we felt very safe even at night time. Despite the many other reviews stating that the rooms were small in fact the rooms we had - 416 and 418 ( main entrance one door into a small lobby, then separate doors to each room with one bathroom off the lobby- other en-suite in the other bedroom) we found very spacious and in no way small. However bathrooms were rather on the small side.
The roof terrace was lovely and managed to have breakfast outside even being the beginning of October. ( and extremely wet - raining every day!) Breakfasts were just OK. Not really befitting a 4 star hotel. After 4 days we were rather tired of the food on offer which really was uninspired!
I think the hotel is struggling to find the 4th Star! Having said that the hotel staff were absolutely charming and could not have been more helpful. They suggested certain trips to the main sights which involved skipping many of the long entrance queues which I thoroughly recommend. They will cost more than the normal entrance fees but if time is of importance well worth the expenditure, particularly the Vatican tour where the standard entrance wait was almost 2 hours and we had no wait at all! One point to remember is that if you are a citizen of the EU and over 65 you will receive free standard entrance to all the sights, museums etc. However not the Vatican as it is a separate State, - not Italy. Be sure to have some form of proof of your age with you- otherwise you will pay!

On last note the staff at the Marcella recommended some restaurants near the hotel many of which are no more than 100 meters from the hotel and all those we dined at were tremendous!
So a big thank you to the staff of the Marcella for helping to make this short break a very special one.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the surrounding streets which also have tall buildings so I would suggest all v...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Marcella Royal Hotel. After less than 2 hours in Rome, my purse was stolen with my eyeglasses in it. Allessandro, the assistant manager was extremely helpful. He took me to a nearby optical place and translated my predicament. It was comforting to have him help me and to be able to get my glasses replaced that day. I would highly recommend this hotel. Our rooms were comfortable and all of the staff were gracious and helpful.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel the first weekend in September, 2013. My stay was excellent on all counts. The location was within walking distance to Piazza della Repubblica and the Repubblica Metro station. A little north of the Piazza is the main Rome train station, the Termini. Service was exceptional. Alessandro, the concierge, was able to get us football tickets to a major match that we had been told were impossible to procure. As mentioned in other reviews the rooftop deck is comfortable and sunny. The breakfast, which is served in the small restaurant atop the roof, was much better than others have noted. Marcella Royal is a legitimate four star hotel and I would, and have, recommended it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mizzou99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed 3 nights with my daughter and loved this Hotel.I believe the staff are what makes this such a good experience. Mario Jr. could not have been more helpful and patient as he answered our many questions and gave excellent advise to us first timers to Rome. Mario you are a great asset to this hotel!!
Every other staff member we came in contact with were also lovely.
Roof terrace was great for that drink before going out to dinner and their wine was excellent.
Only thing is- it is a bit out from the main attractions. That was not a problem for us but its a good 20-25 min walk and may be a problem for some.
We had a room on 6th floor which was lovely and beautifully cleaned every day. Was a bit noisy at night as we were facing front.
All said we loved our stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAPPYGIRL96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with great weather.The room and bed were comfortable with minimum space. It is an old building so do not expect lot of space.The great plus was the sunny terrace, although the view is just roofs. The service level is acceptable but does not justify a 4 stars rating. Breakfast is simply self-service, reminded me being at my local cafeteria.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank fab_ab21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,258 reviews
Esquilino
Leon's Place Hotel
Leon's Place Hotel
#101 of 1,267 in Rome
621 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,267 in Rome
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#83 of 1,267 in Rome
508 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#95 of 1,267 in Rome
1,351 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcella Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcella Royal Hotel

Address: Via Flavia 106, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#110 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#160 Family Hotel in Rome
#172 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $123 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marcella Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marcella Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcella Royal Rome
Hotel Marcella Royal
Marcella Royal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing