We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star more than 4”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marcella Royal Hotel
Ranked #102 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Craignure, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“3 Star more than 4”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed for a week. The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. Not very quiet inside or out though. Lots of noise from outside in the street. Shame there were not any comfortable chairs in the room either, especially as you have to walk for at least 20-25 to the main attractions. (wear good walking shoes).The breakfast was great. We didn't eat in the evening. We did use the bar area (breakfast room with the light turned down) and the drinks are very expensive. the staff were friendly and helpful. We got talked into booking a trip to the Vatican which was rather pricey. We got picked up late, put on one bus, driven round the corner then put on another bus. We enjoyed the tour very much and got taken straight to the front of a very long queue. The guide was very entertaining and informative. We were left in a souvenir shop. don't expect to be taken back to the hotel, you have to find your own way back. We ate in the evening at the reataurants across the road. Il Sorriso and The Henry cow and Caffe Piave (round the corner) are great and would recommend them. 4 star not really. More like 3.

Room Tip: We were in room 520. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    596
    146
    46
    17
See reviews for
210
908
45
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a couple for a few nights and found the overall experience very good.

1. Location:
The hotel is within walking distance of Via Veneto (shopping and cafe street) and Termini Station (the main train station in Rome). It isn't close to the main tourist areas but you can easily take a hop-on, hop off bus from termini which is about 10mins walk.

2. Rooms and cleanliness:
The rooms were spotless which is very important for us. The actual rooms were basic and cosy but had plenty of space for our luggage. There was a heating/cooling system which warmed the room very quickly during our stay.
The bathrooms were well stocked upon each turndown service. The showers are smallish but this seemed standard in Italy for some reason.

3. Breakfast and room service:
Breakfast was truly amazing. You had a plethora of freshly baked breads and sweets, toast-making facilities with condiments such ad jams and of course Nutella, cheese and meat platters, boiled and scrambled eggs as well as juices and still/sparkling water. There is also coffee/tea- making facilities. Room service is also offered for breakfast but it is more basic and I advise you go to the breakfast room. You have the most amazing views of Rome!

4. Customer service:
The staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. They provided us with a complimentary map and highlighted must see destinations. They even helped us purchase tickets online to the Vatican museum to avoid those lengthy queues.

5. Why you should choose this hotel:
- start the day refreshed and watch the sun rise as you enjoy an amazing breakfast with panoramic views of beautiful Rome
- good value for money
- great customer service
- clean and cosy

Tips:
1- Buy a 24hr or 48 hr hop on/hop off bus ticket to visit the main attractions. We used city sightseeing (10% discount if you're traveling a few cities) but the official Roma bus (green and grey) had longer service hours and more frequent buses.
2- Buy tickets to the colosseum and Vatican online in advance. You will be stuck waiting over an hour in line and will be pestered by guides during your wait.
3- Download audio guides on your smart devices for the colosseum and Vatican. These guides really add meaning to your tours.
4- Bring walking shoes! The roads are predominately pebble and impossible to walk in heels ladies :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Eat-Travel-Smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice. It's in a quiet location and is close to several excellent restaurants. It's also within walking distance of the main train station, as well as metro and bus stops.

The hotel staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. Each night they made excellent dining recommendations for us and booked us with reservations.

The hotel also has a fantastic roof top bar, which was a great way to end each day.

I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights , staff very friendly and helpful. Our room very comfy , clean and warm considering it was December . Very handy for the termini and the 3day Roma pass excellent value .Restaurants in the area good value for money especially the tourist menu. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Krys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My fiance took me here as a suprise 30th birthdya present. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we loved it. The staff on the fron desk couldnt do enough and recommended how to get around and which local restaurants to eat in which were super, really authentic. The hotel is around a 15-20 minute walk to the trevi fountain which really was fine, a great way to work off all that pasta and wine after a lovely evening

The roof terrace where we had drinks in the evening and breakfast in the morning was super especially when the sun was shinning in november! Our room was lovely and spacious and the bed very comfy for a good nights sleep after all that walking!

Overall a wonderful stay in a stunning city, will definately be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, the hotel staff where very friendly and keen to offer us advice to help with our stay. The room was spacious enough and extremely clean, the bed was comfy too! For the price we paid for this hotel, we couldn't fault it. On our departure our transfer was late and the hotel were only too happy to help us in sorting it out. The garden/ breakfast terrace was an added bonus, it was lovely to sit out in the mornings having breakfast and to have a drink on an evening. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights at the end of October for our first city break in Rome. The only fault we found with the hotel was when going to the roof terrace the barman was often in the kitchen behind the bar and it was a little awkward to get his attention to order drinks. Beware the cocktails are very pricey at €12-14 but as with most things in Rome if you keep your eyes open there are plenty of places where the drinks are far cheaper. The hotel is clean, comfortable and provided you are in good health, in an excellent location for walking to all the sites. For a cheap evening meal nearby I recommend Bella Napoli (located Via Alessandria 13 cost around €15 each for 2 courses and drinks) and for a more upmarket experience further away, but definitely worth the walk, Life (via della Vite 29) which was the best meal we had during our stay (menu and prices available online). One more tip we pre booked tours with Dark Rome Tours and could not fault them. If you're considering a trip to Rome then I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,234 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,258 in Rome
2,331 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,258 in Rome
1,297 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#104 of 1,258 in Rome
1,294 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,258 in Rome
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcella Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcella Royal Hotel

Property: Marcella Royal Hotel
Address: Via Flavia 106, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#110 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#160 Family Hotel in Rome
#172 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marcella Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marcella Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcella Royal Rome
Hotel Marcella Royal
Marcella Royal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing