We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marcella Royal Hotel
Ranked #102 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bedroom”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked 3 rooms. 2 had been refurbished but 1 still required upgrading. Tiles on bathroom floor cracked. We stayed in this same room 4 years ago and tiles were cracked then.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    596
    146
    46
    17
See reviews for
210
908
45
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for three nights. Bit far away from main attractions but very easy to find after a long day pounding the roads of Rome. Lorello was lovely so was Salvedore, good reccomentations for restaurants close by. Clean, single room a bit small but good size bath which is rare. Tip, walk, don't get the bus or negro but wear comfy shoes!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissCAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Staff was friendly and efficient throughout our stay. We stayed in room 640 for 3 nights. It was clean, but very small. The decor was padded-pink and I suppose something my grandma would have liked. The pics look better on their website, of course, although we slept well, and felt comfortable. Bathroom was very clean and had all the amenities we needed. The breakfast was basic, but good and the roof top was nice, but not an outstanding view. Great pizza across the street (Alice) and close a close walk to Villa Borghese, but not to the main attractions. I would rate this hotel a 3.5 not a 4 star, but maybe we had an older room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, we felt the location was fine. It's far enough away from the hustle and bustle but only 15 mon walk to Spanish steps or a 7 euro taxi.
The roof garden was a nice addition ... There seems to be a mixture of room sizes and we were lucky to get a nice sized room with a good shower.

The staff were very friendly and the front desk were especially helpful. So the shy not a 5...

Breakfast could do with a little more variation and I thought the drinks were a big pricey.
Also some of the decor was a bit dated.
However I would be happy to return and I recommend this hotel to others ...

Ps the pianist for the roof top bar went to the Les Dawson school of music . So of the older reviewers will understand what I'm on about.. After a few drinks it made our night!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_7Telford
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portstewart, northern ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, staff were very helpful as I wanted to change from a double to a twin room and the bar staff very pleasant and chatty. The room, however was a throw back to the 80,s with terrible decor and carpet! The bathroom was clean and spacious but the tiled floor was full of cracks! The roof top terrace was lovely and the breakfast was ok. I don't think I would stay here again and is not located next to the Spanish steps as stated!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We had a third floor room, which although not huge was very well decorated and had an excellent spacious bathroom. The rooftop garden is lovely and great for breakfast, although the weather was slightly cooler in the evenings and a little windy at this time of year. I imagine in the intense heat it would be a welcome relief. The breakfasts are good and there are some excellent restaurants just across the street. I would agree that it is a little further from some of the main tourist attractions that some descriptions state but I walking around Rome was part of our holiday. The staff were excellent,offering good advice about tours and ways to get around Rome. We would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights. We had a large 5th floor room which was excellent. It has a very large bed, plenty of space and a large, well appointed, bathroom. The bed was harder than we are used to, but a good quality one and very welcoming at the end of a long hot day sightseeing! The staff all spoke excellent English and were friendly and helpful. I wouldn’t say they treated us like family as some comments have said, but we wouldn’t have wanted that anyway. The roof terrace is an excellent place to relax at the end of the day and we have some great pictures of the sun setting behind St Peter’s. The drinks are expensive compared to the bars in the street below (8 Euros for a 400ml beer), but worth it for the view. The self service breakfast on the terrace is very good with lots of choice and is continuously being restocked.
The hotel is quite a walk from the Station (which is both bus and rail), but towards the end of the week we realised that a service bus stopped just around the corner from the hotel. All the bus stop signs in Rome are very helpful with a list of all stops. The stop to look for is Piave and the bus numbers are 38, 92, 217 and 360. Tickets are 1.5 Euros and can be bought from machines at the Station or any tobacconists.
I would highly recommend a Roma card. It costs 30 Euros and lasts for 3 days. This covers all transport in the Rome area and even goes are far as Ostia Antica (an interesting ruined town, a smaller version of Pompeii). The pass also gives you free entrance into two attractions and a reduced admission into anything else after that, (except for the Vatican). The best bit though is, if you use it at the Coliseum for a free entry you can walk past what looked like a 3 hour queue on our visit, and go straight in!
We used the two restaurants opposite to eat on an evening. They are called The Henry Cow and Il Sorriso. We only had one course each (which was very filling), bread, and a bottle of wine which came to approximately 50 Euros for the two of us each time, including a tip. I would recommend them both, the staff were very friendly, spoke excellent English, and the food was good.
The only slightly negative point I can think of is I didn’t like the hairdryer in the bathroom. It was one of the old type boxes attached to the wall with a tube which gets very hot as you’re drying your hair. I would have also loved the opportunity to make a cup of tea in the room as there was no room service except for breakfast. This in no way marred what was an excellent hotel stay and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Corner room 5th floor, large room, well furnished, no noise from other rooms or outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,234 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,258 in Rome
2,331 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,258 in Rome
1,297 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#104 of 1,258 in Rome
1,293 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,258 in Rome
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcella Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcella Royal Hotel

Property: Marcella Royal Hotel
Address: Via Flavia 106, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#110 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#160 Family Hotel in Rome
#172 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marcella Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marcella Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcella Royal Rome
Hotel Marcella Royal
Marcella Royal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing